$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
View map of At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 28, 2009

Good deal for the price

Hotel was clean, walking distance to everywhere in downtown Dublin. We really were not in it much except to sleep. Perfect for those who plan to be out and about during the day and just need a good place to rest for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exirishman
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Excellent Dublin City Centre Hotel

The Irish economy isbad shape and it sort of shows in the condition of O'Callaghan's. It's just a bit shabby around the edges. But otherwise a great place to stay. You can walk everywhere. This was my third stay at O'Callaghan's and it wont be my last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phx, AZ
Apr 30, 2009

LOVED IT

Loved this hotel! The standard room wasn't anything particularly remarkable, although it was fairly large for a European room and it was kept very clean. The great things about this hotel were its staff and its location. The staff was very friendly and helpful, always offering suggestions on restaurants, tours, quickest routes etc. They were very knowledgeable. Also the location of this hotel was ideal for walking around Dublin. We walked almost everywhere and never had a journey of longer than 20 minutes on foot. Alot of the the sites were much closer. Grafton street was a one minute walk, and temple bar about 5 mins. The on sight bar was also very nice. I would recommend this hotel for vacation if you cannot afford the 5 star lifestyle. This is definitely the next best thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Bewleys cafe down Grafton street for a great inexpensive full irish breakfast in the morning. A two minute walk. And Fitzers in the temple bar area was a great suggestion from the staff for a slightly upscale dining experience. Would go back if i could........

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ManWorkingHere
Business
Greenfield/Milwaukee, WI, USA
Apr 1, 2010

Nice room, visit cut short by D S T

The room was large and the bed firm. We came in later in the day and checked out early so we did not spend much time in the room proper. Had to have light bulb replaced over desk, took a moment for someone to come with a bulb. Not bad. The shower was a great size for two people. :-) There was a time change the one night that we happened to be there. The hotel put paper notices on the bed as a reminder to set clocks ahead. The window had condensation on it in the morning so we could not enjoy any view out over St. Stephens' Green from our 4th floor window. Minor, minor disappointment. We had the morning buffet before flying out. Tasty stuff and plentiful, warm food. The front desk held our bags while we visited the local grocery store just around the block. We bought extra pastries and juices to give my incoming children who were arriving at the Dublin airport while we were departing. Nice time there too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

[...] was a local taxi driver who charged just 30 euros to get us from the Dublin airport to the St. Stephens hotel. We asked him to come back the next morning to bring us back to the airport. The trip back, because it was a Sunday, cost 32 euros. [...]was a nice 30-some guy to talk to about living in Ireland, riding motorcycles, and raising young daughters. Cheers!

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dubb
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 1, 2010

Great Location and friendly staff

The hotel staff was great. They allowed us to check in early and provided great resturant recommendations as well as fun activities to do while in Dublin. They suggested we see a Hurling match and it was wonderful! Must see for everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Hurling match is a must for anyone visiting Ireland.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valley Stream, NY
Aug 19, 2009

Great value

We had a pleasant stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Gannon
Business
Denver Colorado
Jul 3, 2014

Excellent place and location

We had a great visit and loved the property and staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dougf65
Business
Newport, RI
Aug 14, 2014

Double Charged!

While the hotel was in a great location and accommodations restful, it's a shame that at the end of the stay I get charged for a second time! When I booked on Dec 16, 2013, I paid for the room at that time ($573.04) via the travel booking website and even have my credit card statement and travel booking website account to confirm. However, the hotel still charged me since I didn't have these documents at my fingertips when checking out. Unfortunately, now I have to do a charge resolution through my bank unless the travel website can step in and rectify situation with hotel (whom I called upon returning from vacation to explain that I was double charged). Until now, the travel site that I frequently use has been a good website for booking travel, hopefully this can be resolved quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geraldine M.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Great hotel

A great hotel, in a great location. Staff were very friendly, bar very quiet. Spacious rooms. Great for shopping, Central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling people
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

great location

Good hotel, easy walking distance to most sights. Hotel well laid out, staff helpful, rooms good size, comfortable bed. Breakfast quite pricey, cheaper if you pay in advance, small but good selection from buffet, and nice choices from menu. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top