$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
View map of At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Michigan, USA
Jul 3, 2010

Lovely hotel

The hotel was in a great location just off St. Stephen's Green. It's a short walk to shopping at Grafton street and about a 10 minute walk to Temple Bar. It's just far enough from the action that it's a quiet area. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the beds were comfy. The bathroom was modern and clean. The only problem was with the wifi service. It didn't work and they were never able to fix it. However, I was able to connect "wired" from the room (and wasn't charged for that service). Also, I was able to check in early on the day I arrived. I'd rate it four and a half stars (if I was able to give it a half star)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're too tired for a sit-down dinner and want to grab something to bring back to the hotel, try Credo. It's a carry-out pizza place that serves up gourmet pizza, salads, etc. They also serve (and deliver) wine with orders. Avoid the hotel restaurant bar. The service is slow and the food is sub-par.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annic
Couples
trinidad & tobago
Oct 10, 2009

Great location

Enjoyed our stay in Dublin. Great hotel with everything within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
SLC, UT
Jul 19, 2010

Nice hotel, great location.

The O'Callaghan Stephens Green is a good hotel, not great. The real draw is the location. It is ideally situated to explore much of Dublin by walking, including Grafton Street, Trinity College, and Stephens Green itself. The Guinness Storehouse is even within range for the more spry traveler. Parking can get expensive, though; not that you need a car in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car for a stay in Dublin if you don't mind walking or taking public transit or taxis.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Seattle, WA
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, nice room

Excellent location within walking distance to the center of Dublin, theatres, shopping street. Very helpful and courteous staff. There is a decent breakfast but, as with most hotels, it's overpriced. If you cant stand the heat in the greenhouse-style dining room, there is an option in the back. Note that they require pre-approval of 50 euros *per night* on your credit card -- even when the room is pre-paid. That seems excessive, considering there's no minibar in the room. Well-furnished, clean, all amenities including teakettle and cups. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Bewley's on Grafton street is an excellent (and less expensive) alternative to the hotel breakfast.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sacramento, Ca.
Aug 4, 2011

Memorable Dublin

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel was a fantastic place to stay. The hotel is centrally located from all major sites. The biggest shopping area Graffton Street is 5 mintues walk from the hotel. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable, they even mailed my post cards for me. Very clean, no major problems, great price and value. Would absolutely stay there again, the location is there grabber for this hotel, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING CLOSES AT SIX OR SEVEN, GET SHOPPING DONE EARLY!!!!!!!!

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
May 17, 2011

Great Value and Location

The staff was very helpful and even arranged for a tour for us. This is a very good value and the rooms are very big. Also, it is a great location within walking distance of many of the famous sites and conveniently close to Grafton Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dolson
Couples
Fargo, ND, USA
Oct 26, 2009

Very nice

Great Hotel overall. The employees were helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for walking to all kinds of shops and places to eat. The room was a bit of a pain in that the bed had massive lumps protruding horizontally in the center that caused knee pain from hyperextension. The other problem is the aluminum flashing on the lower window ledge. It rains all the time in Dublin so it baffles me why a hotel would essentially put a drum at the edge of the window. When rain hit this aluminum it was shockingly loud. I remember reading another review about this issue before booking thinking that he/she was just some nut that needed to complain about something but I stand corrected. Would I choose this hotel again? Yes. I would just need to bring a fan to provide white noise. The AC/Heater in the room did not have a separate fan control and was far too quiet to help drown out the noise anyway. The hardware and decoration in the room was top-notch. The bed was a King which was nice. The clock is integrated into the TV which was a bit of a pain at first but once we figured out the alarm control it worked better than anything I have used before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frando
Couples
Livermore, CA
Mar 28, 2011

Fantastic Experience

Our stay at O'callaghan was fantastic and perfect for us. The staff was VERY nice, the room was comfortable, the location was the best and the price for the stay was very reasonable. We could do everything within walking distance. We had plenty of option to choose from when it comes to dinning, pubs and entertainment. If we decided not to go out for dinning the hotel restaurant and pub offers a good selection of food items and it was very tasty. I told the staff as I left I would definately come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dekay51
Couples
miami beach
Sep 7, 2009

Nice stay

Great central location. Clean rooms. Very comfortable. I would stay again. The internet was not free in the room but was available free in the business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monty's Katmandu nepal cuisine was quite good. Located in Temple Bar area.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Louisville KY
Jan 5, 2010

Perfect Location

Amazing location for touring Dublin. The hotel was very clean and modern. They had free internet which is always nice in the business lounge. We would definitely use them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go on the Guiness tour

Back to menu Return to top