$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Great stay.

Excellent stay. Located in a nice area, just outside the city centre Quality hotel, great room... See full review

  • Tony Chatfield
  • Feb 13, 2014
Wonderful experience!

We spent four nights at the Stephen Green Hotel and loved it! Great location, nice room, and... See full review

  • JuliaCO
  • Jan 6, 2014
Stephen’s Green escape with glass atrium overlooking the park
Conveniently situated in Dublin's city center, O'Callaghan Stephen's Green is one of the city's most perfectly located hotels. Relax in the hotel's Georgian library or stroll across the street to historic St. Stephen's Greens Park. A block away, Grafton Street offers excellent shopping opportunities and the hotel is an easy walk to major attractions such as Trinity College and Temple Bar. Located in restored Georgian buildings, O'Callaghan's features a glass atrium overlooking the park and many rooms offer stunning views across Dublin.

 

Highlights
  • Located near the gardens of St. Stephen's Greens and a short walk from the city center
  • Housed in two restored Georgian buildings with Georgian library
  • Restaurant and cocktail bar located in stunning glass atrium with park views
  • Gym and conference facilities
Rooms
The hotel offers 99 guest rooms that combine richly-hued fabrics and wood furnishings for a traditional feel with modern comforts. Standard accommodations include air conditioning, plasma TV, Wi-Fi, coffee and tea station and personal safes. Guests also enjoy extras such as trouser presses, irons and European and American wall plug sockets in every room. Many suites and studio terraces offer views over Dublin city.
Features
Irish playwright George Fitzmaurice once owned one of the Georgian buildings restored as part of O'Callaghan's Stephen's Green Hotel and in recognition, Pie Dish restaurant in the hotel's glass atrium and Magic Glasses cocktail bar are named after his plays. Guests can make use of the hotel's free gym and the traditional Georgian library, complete with staccato ceilings and fireplace. Guests also enjoy Wi-Fi, 24-hour access to the business center, laundry and dry cleaning service as well as room service. Babysitting services are available on request. Meeting rooms hold up to 40 guests and audiovisual equipment is available with advance notice.
Transportation
  • Aircoach bus service nearby
  • Luas tram stop at St. Stephen's Green
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Stephen's Green Park
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Oscar Wilde House
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 40 guests
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Video conferencing lines available by request
  • 24-hour business center
  • Broadband Internet and Wi-Fi access

Hotel Map

53.3374 -6.2631
Area served
Dublin 2.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
As the address suggests the O'Callaghan Stephen's Green is located just at the corner of the famous St Stephen's Green Park that is in the heart of Dublin city. A couple of minutes walk and you are at the top of Grafton Street the busiest shopping street in Dublin. Many restaurants, cafes and bars along with top sightseeing attractions surround you.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
Room providing one queen bed. Approx 30 meters square. Room includes air conditioning/ironing board/trouser press/tea and coffee making facilities/personal safe/mini fridge/wired and fixed broadband/cable TV/ North American and European built in plug sockets.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.4 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 0.4 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.5 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.5 mi
  • Warrenmount: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.5 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant/Dining Information
The Magic Glasses Bar at the O'Callaghan Stephen's Green, with its soft leather furnishings, wood paneling and copper lighting has a distinctly opulent style. A hive of activity, Magic Glasses is much frequented by local business people and visitors to the city. Pie Dish Bistro comines the bright architecture of the Atrium with the inner rooms of two Georgian houses. Finest contemporary bistro cuisine is served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rn activst
Business
Buffalo NY
Sep 1, 2010

Great location!

This hotel is a great location and a walk to just about anything..trains, shopping, etc. However, be prepared to do a lot of walking, even if you use busses, trains etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

you can get your Vat tax back, so when you shop, ask for the tax back. You will get a very long receipt. You then have to fill out the form for each item you buy and hand it in at the airport or mail. Supposedly there is a card you can request before you go and it is supposed to be easier as you show it to the merchants and get instant Vat rebate, but I did not hear about it till the last day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Dec 13, 2010

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Hotel is right off of St Stephens Green which puts you right in the heart of Dublin. People complained about street noise but I heard only one crowd of people on a Saturday night (I stayed a week). Perhaps it's some other side of the hotel that gets noisy. There are two popular night clubs on the same block, so it's possible. The rooms are spacious by Dublin standards and very clean. I was given a handicap-accessible room which had a bathroom large enough to put a cot in. The hotel staff were extremely nice and greeted me each time I came in or went out. On my last day the manager came by to thank me for staying with them and wished me well. The rooms have a light to indicate if you want your room cleaned or be left alone. An electic Do Not Disturb system really. Problem for me was that the swtich was located in a dark spot in the room and not labeled. For the first two days the housecleaning staff called me to ask if I wanted my room cleaned. One of the maids showed me the switch and all was good. The ironing center and pant press combo was very nice but required all my years experience as an engineer to figure out. It was in the same dark corner of the room which might have been a factor here. Like most hotels the room has numerous low wattage bulbs. It was tough to read in bed. Internet access was great and included which was great. It's often ten euro a night elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was very tasty the dinning room has floor to ceiling windows looking out across to St Stephen's Green. There's a nice exercise room with a couple of elipticals, two treadmills, recumbant, free weights and a universal. Monitors on the wall to watch the six channels available while you work out. Only problem was finding it. It's in the basement but down a different stairwell from the main. My complaints are very small and picky. I like my room colder than most and the thermostat would only go down to 18C (64F). Even then I thought the room was warmer than 18. I mentioned the low-wattage bulbs. There was no clock in the room. So really, I don't have any complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Celtic Whiskey Shop on Dawson street is just a couple of blocks away. The proprietors are extremely helpful in guiding you through the intricacies of Irish Whiskey (and other spirits, I suppose). They have very fair prices as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central NJ
Jul 12, 2011

Good hotel

They mixed up our reservation and we got sent to a sister hotel down the street (still O'Callaghan, but Davenport instead of Stephen's Green). They were very nice about the mix up and upgraded our room. The hotel staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend the hop on hop off buses to tour Dublin - quickest way to see it all without having to walk an incredible amount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exirishman
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 5, 2009

Great stay in Dublin!

The staff at O'Callaghan's Stephen's Green could not have been more helpful. The location is superb. I was able to walk almost everywhere in Dublin and yet it's on a quiet street at the top od Stephen's Green.Top notch bar and restaurant. I truly had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Mar 19, 2011

great location

The hotel room was quite nice with a comfortable king bed and large modern bathroom. However, there wasn't any plug in the bathroom except for shavers. Staff was very nice, but the desk people were not terribly knowledgeable about trips to neighboring areas. The rate was reasonable, but didn't include breakfast, for which they wanted ~13 euros. There is a very nice grocery just around the corner with a cafe where you can get breakfast for 3 euros though. The location is very central to the main part of the city, and Stephen's Green, right across the street, is lovely. If you're very sensitive to noise, you might ant to request a room away from the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The old goal is very interesting and well worth the visit. You can reach it via bus without too much trouble.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jupiter Travelers
Business
Jupiter, FL
Sep 5, 2009

Great Stay at Stephens Green

Our five night stay in late August 2009 was all we could have asked for considering the price, facilities, professional staff, and location of the hotel. We lined up the stay through an Orbitz package, primarily because of the ideal location in Dublin, positive reviews from other travelers and sites, and central location. When we arrived around 11:00 AM on a Thursday to drop off our luggage after an overnight airline trip, we were pleased when the front desk staff advised us our room was ready. We were also happy to learn the bed size had been upgraded to a king size. The room was approximately the size of an American hotel and was not smaller like European hotel rooms. The room had a safe, cofee/tea service, flat screen color TV, writing desk, luggage table, and two chairs and table, as well as the bed and two nightstands. Internet was available through the TV as well as either wired or wireless (which had to be paid for at front desk). (The business center on the ground floor, however, had free internet and linked printers.) The room also had windows that opened, although they faced another close building, but we used the windows for ventilation as opposed to the view. The room was cleaned timely each morning; although somewhat dated and not in pristine condition the room was in good shape, fairly well cleaned, and everything was in working order. The staff were unfailingly professional, polite, and eager to please. One manager at the front desk did not hesitate to help in the first floor pub when she was needed one morning and shortly thereafter was sweeping up a spill in the lobby. The restaurant was nothing fantastic, although our only expereince was a fairly standard breakfast. Room service was extensive, however, and we did eat twice and drink frequently when returning from touring Dublin in the first floor pub. The hotel's location for a visitor to Dublin is absolutely excellent. Virtually all historic attractions are either within easy walking distance or easily accessible by taxi or hop on/hop off bus. The beautiful Stephens' Green park is across the street from the hotel, and streets adjacent to the square around Stephens Green lead to a number of restaraunts, cafes, pubs, and stores. Grafton Street, a pedetrain friendly shopping street, is two blocks from the hotel and Trinity College is perhaps a 10 minute walk. The area felt safe in the evening, although on weekend nights there is a great deal of traffic of younger adults traveling to pubs and clubs in the area. The visit at the hotel, start to finish, did not provide any negative experience and my wife and I were really pleased with what a great experience we had. We would not hesitate to stay there again and recommend O'Callaghan Stephen's Green to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shanahan's on the Green, a small restaurant between the hotel and Grafton Street, provided our best meal while in Dublin. Although somewhat pricey, the appetizers and steak were absolutely delicious and the service was first-rate. It was hard to believe we would stumble on such a great restaurant so close to the hotel but it worked out that way. A very nice place for a quiet and very good meal while in Dublin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carwhite
Business
Ramsey, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

A great place to stay

After driving around Ireland and staying in a different location every night, we were thrilled to finish our trip with 3 nights at O'Callaghans Sthephen Green. Beautiful weather, spring blooms and other people enjoying the park made an afternoon relaxing in the Green so rejuvenating. The bed was perfect and the bathroom large. We loved being able to walk to Grafton Street, Temple Bar, the river, Trinity University and the National Museum. Our rate did not include the breakfast buffet, which was nothing special for 12.95 euros and there were really no alternatives to that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mollicita
Business
North Bethesda, MD
May 2, 2011

Fantastic Location

Could NOT believe the deal I got [...]!LOVED the location facing Stephens Green & just around the corner from Grafton Street. Room was huge (especially for being in the city) with a separate sitting room, a shower and a tub in the bathroom, and plenty of space in the closet & bedroom. Staff was great & helpful. No parking onsite, but they have a discounted rate at the Stephens Green Garage 3 blocks away. Very decent for parking inside the city!We arrived during an unseasonably warm week in April & unfortunately the air conditioning was not yet ready (maintenance problem on the roof), so we took that excuse to drink extra pints in the nice hotel bar downstairs. Wifi isn't free. Business center only has 2 computers (one was out of service). Breakfast buffet is a delicious hold/cold smorgasbord & only £11 per person, with a great view of the city corner as Dubliners make their way to work each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Whelan's Pub, just one block away, has live music & great prices for beers/ciders/cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 11, 2010

Great location, great value

We enjoyed our stay at O'Callaghans Hotel on St. Stephens Green. I would recommend it to other visitors. It was a pleasure to be able to walk to many attractions as well as shopping and restaurants including all of the activity on Grafton Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumberjack19
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient

The hotel is about 4 blocks (around the corner of the Square) from the Aircoach airport shuttle service drop on Kildare Street. It is also 2 blocks from the base of Grafton Street which puts it in a reasonable walk for most of the Dublin history sights and Temple Bar. I would recommend a cab or bus/LUAS for Kilmainham Gaol, Guinness Storehouse, Museum of Decorative Arts and History and the Jameson's Distillery. The room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating...including organizing a cup of coffee to go for me on the (early) morning of my departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cornucopia was a good cafe just off Grafton (probably a 5-10 minute walk from hotel) with great vegetarian offerings if you need a change of pace for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top