$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
View map of At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Dec 13, 2010

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Hotel is right off of St Stephens Green which puts you right in the heart of Dublin. People complained about street noise but I heard only one crowd of people on a Saturday night (I stayed a week). Perhaps it's some other side of the hotel that gets noisy. There are two popular night clubs on the same block, so it's possible. The rooms are spacious by Dublin standards and very clean. I was given a handicap-accessible room which had a bathroom large enough to put a cot in. The hotel staff were extremely nice and greeted me each time I came in or went out. On my last day the manager came by to thank me for staying with them and wished me well. The rooms have a light to indicate if you want your room cleaned or be left alone. An electic Do Not Disturb system really. Problem for me was that the swtich was located in a dark spot in the room and not labeled. For the first two days the housecleaning staff called me to ask if I wanted my room cleaned. One of the maids showed me the switch and all was good. The ironing center and pant press combo was very nice but required all my years experience as an engineer to figure out. It was in the same dark corner of the room which might have been a factor here. Like most hotels the room has numerous low wattage bulbs. It was tough to read in bed. Internet access was great and included which was great. It's often ten euro a night elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was very tasty the dinning room has floor to ceiling windows looking out across to St Stephen's Green. There's a nice exercise room with a couple of elipticals, two treadmills, recumbant, free weights and a universal. Monitors on the wall to watch the six channels available while you work out. Only problem was finding it. It's in the basement but down a different stairwell from the main. My complaints are very small and picky. I like my room colder than most and the thermostat would only go down to 18C (64F). Even then I thought the room was warmer than 18. I mentioned the low-wattage bulbs. There was no clock in the room. So really, I don't have any complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Celtic Whiskey Shop on Dawson street is just a couple of blocks away. The proprietors are extremely helpful in guiding you through the intricacies of Irish Whiskey (and other spirits, I suppose). They have very fair prices as well.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central NJ
Jul 12, 2011

Good hotel

They mixed up our reservation and we got sent to a sister hotel down the street (still O'Callaghan, but Davenport instead of Stephen's Green). They were very nice about the mix up and upgraded our room. The hotel staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend the hop on hop off buses to tour Dublin - quickest way to see it all without having to walk an incredible amount.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exirishman
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 5, 2009

Great stay in Dublin!

The staff at O'Callaghan's Stephen's Green could not have been more helpful. The location is superb. I was able to walk almost everywhere in Dublin and yet it's on a quiet street at the top od Stephen's Green.Top notch bar and restaurant. I truly had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Mar 19, 2011

great location

The hotel room was quite nice with a comfortable king bed and large modern bathroom. However, there wasn't any plug in the bathroom except for shavers. Staff was very nice, but the desk people were not terribly knowledgeable about trips to neighboring areas. The rate was reasonable, but didn't include breakfast, for which they wanted ~13 euros. There is a very nice grocery just around the corner with a cafe where you can get breakfast for 3 euros though. The location is very central to the main part of the city, and Stephen's Green, right across the street, is lovely. If you're very sensitive to noise, you might ant to request a room away from the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The old goal is very interesting and well worth the visit. You can reach it via bus without too much trouble.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jupiter Travelers
Business
Jupiter, FL
Sep 5, 2009

Great Stay at Stephens Green

Our five night stay in late August 2009 was all we could have asked for considering the price, facilities, professional staff, and location of the hotel. We lined up the stay through an Orbitz package, primarily because of the ideal location in Dublin, positive reviews from other travelers and sites, and central location. When we arrived around 11:00 AM on a Thursday to drop off our luggage after an overnight airline trip, we were pleased when the front desk staff advised us our room was ready. We were also happy to learn the bed size had been upgraded to a king size. The room was approximately the size of an American hotel and was not smaller like European hotel rooms. The room had a safe, cofee/tea service, flat screen color TV, writing desk, luggage table, and two chairs and table, as well as the bed and two nightstands. Internet was available through the TV as well as either wired or wireless (which had to be paid for at front desk). (The business center on the ground floor, however, had free internet and linked printers.) The room also had windows that opened, although they faced another close building, but we used the windows for ventilation as opposed to the view. The room was cleaned timely each morning; although somewhat dated and not in pristine condition the room was in good shape, fairly well cleaned, and everything was in working order. The staff were unfailingly professional, polite, and eager to please. One manager at the front desk did not hesitate to help in the first floor pub when she was needed one morning and shortly thereafter was sweeping up a spill in the lobby. The restaurant was nothing fantastic, although our only expereince was a fairly standard breakfast. Room service was extensive, however, and we did eat twice and drink frequently when returning from touring Dublin in the first floor pub. The hotel's location for a visitor to Dublin is absolutely excellent. Virtually all historic attractions are either within easy walking distance or easily accessible by taxi or hop on/hop off bus. The beautiful Stephens' Green park is across the street from the hotel, and streets adjacent to the square around Stephens Green lead to a number of restaraunts, cafes, pubs, and stores. Grafton Street, a pedetrain friendly shopping street, is two blocks from the hotel and Trinity College is perhaps a 10 minute walk. The area felt safe in the evening, although on weekend nights there is a great deal of traffic of younger adults traveling to pubs and clubs in the area. The visit at the hotel, start to finish, did not provide any negative experience and my wife and I were really pleased with what a great experience we had. We would not hesitate to stay there again and recommend O'Callaghan Stephen's Green to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shanahan's on the Green, a small restaurant between the hotel and Grafton Street, provided our best meal while in Dublin. Although somewhat pricey, the appetizers and steak were absolutely delicious and the service was first-rate. It was hard to believe we would stumble on such a great restaurant so close to the hotel but it worked out that way. A very nice place for a quiet and very good meal while in Dublin.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carwhite
Business
Ramsey, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

A great place to stay

After driving around Ireland and staying in a different location every night, we were thrilled to finish our trip with 3 nights at O'Callaghans Sthephen Green. Beautiful weather, spring blooms and other people enjoying the park made an afternoon relaxing in the Green so rejuvenating. The bed was perfect and the bathroom large. We loved being able to walk to Grafton Street, Temple Bar, the river, Trinity University and the National Museum. Our rate did not include the breakfast buffet, which was nothing special for 12.95 euros and there were really no alternatives to that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mollicita
Business
North Bethesda, MD
May 2, 2011

Fantastic Location

Could NOT believe the deal I got [...]!LOVED the location facing Stephens Green & just around the corner from Grafton Street. Room was huge (especially for being in the city) with a separate sitting room, a shower and a tub in the bathroom, and plenty of space in the closet & bedroom. Staff was great & helpful. No parking onsite, but they have a discounted rate at the Stephens Green Garage 3 blocks away. Very decent for parking inside the city!We arrived during an unseasonably warm week in April & unfortunately the air conditioning was not yet ready (maintenance problem on the roof), so we took that excuse to drink extra pints in the nice hotel bar downstairs. Wifi isn't free. Business center only has 2 computers (one was out of service). Breakfast buffet is a delicious hold/cold smorgasbord & only £11 per person, with a great view of the city corner as Dubliners make their way to work each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Whelan's Pub, just one block away, has live music & great prices for beers/ciders/cocktails.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 11, 2010

Great location, great value

We enjoyed our stay at O'Callaghans Hotel on St. Stephens Green. I would recommend it to other visitors. It was a pleasure to be able to walk to many attractions as well as shopping and restaurants including all of the activity on Grafton Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumberjack19
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient

The hotel is about 4 blocks (around the corner of the Square) from the Aircoach airport shuttle service drop on Kildare Street. It is also 2 blocks from the base of Grafton Street which puts it in a reasonable walk for most of the Dublin history sights and Temple Bar. I would recommend a cab or bus/LUAS for Kilmainham Gaol, Guinness Storehouse, Museum of Decorative Arts and History and the Jameson's Distillery. The room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating...including organizing a cup of coffee to go for me on the (early) morning of my departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cornucopia was a good cafe just off Grafton (probably a 5-10 minute walk from hotel) with great vegetarian offerings if you need a change of pace for lunch or dinner.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Jul 3, 2010

Lovely hotel

The hotel was in a great location just off St. Stephen's Green. It's a short walk to shopping at Grafton street and about a 10 minute walk to Temple Bar. It's just far enough from the action that it's a quiet area. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the beds were comfy. The bathroom was modern and clean. The only problem was with the wifi service. It didn't work and they were never able to fix it. However, I was able to connect "wired" from the room (and wasn't charged for that service). Also, I was able to check in early on the day I arrived. I'd rate it four and a half stars (if I was able to give it a half star)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're too tired for a sit-down dinner and want to grab something to bring back to the hotel, try Credo. It's a carry-out pizza place that serves up gourmet pizza, salads, etc. They also serve (and deliver) wine with orders. Avoid the hotel restaurant bar. The service is slow and the food is sub-par.

Back to menu Return to top