$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Great stay.

Excellent stay. Located in a nice area, just outside the city centre Quality hotel, great room... See full review

  • Tony Chatfield
  • Feb 13, 2014
Wonderful experience!

We spent four nights at the Stephen Green Hotel and loved it! Great location, nice room, and... See full review

  • JuliaCO
  • Jan 6, 2014
Stephen’s Green escape with glass atrium overlooking the park
Conveniently situated in Dublin's city center, O'Callaghan Stephen's Green is one of the city's most perfectly located hotels. Relax in the hotel's Georgian library or stroll across the street to historic St. Stephen's Greens Park. A block away, Grafton Street offers excellent shopping opportunities and the hotel is an easy walk to major attractions such as Trinity College and Temple Bar. Located in restored Georgian buildings, O'Callaghan's features a glass atrium overlooking the park and many rooms offer stunning views across Dublin.

 

Highlights
  • Located near the gardens of St. Stephen's Greens and a short walk from the city center
  • Housed in two restored Georgian buildings with Georgian library
  • Restaurant and cocktail bar located in stunning glass atrium with park views
  • Gym and conference facilities
Rooms
The hotel offers 99 guest rooms that combine richly-hued fabrics and wood furnishings for a traditional feel with modern comforts. Standard accommodations include air conditioning, plasma TV, Wi-Fi, coffee and tea station and personal safes. Guests also enjoy extras such as trouser presses, irons and European and American wall plug sockets in every room. Many suites and studio terraces offer views over Dublin city.
Features
Irish playwright George Fitzmaurice once owned one of the Georgian buildings restored as part of O'Callaghan's Stephen's Green Hotel and in recognition, Pie Dish restaurant in the hotel's glass atrium and Magic Glasses cocktail bar are named after his plays. Guests can make use of the hotel's free gym and the traditional Georgian library, complete with staccato ceilings and fireplace. Guests also enjoy Wi-Fi, 24-hour access to the business center, laundry and dry cleaning service as well as room service. Babysitting services are available on request. Meeting rooms hold up to 40 guests and audiovisual equipment is available with advance notice.
Transportation
  • Aircoach bus service nearby
  • Luas tram stop at St. Stephen's Green
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Stephen's Green Park
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Oscar Wilde House
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 40 guests
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Video conferencing lines available by request
  • 24-hour business center
  • Broadband Internet and Wi-Fi access

Hotel Map

53.3374 -6.2631
Area served
Dublin 2.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
As the address suggests the O'Callaghan Stephen's Green is located just at the corner of the famous St Stephen's Green Park that is in the heart of Dublin city. A couple of minutes walk and you are at the top of Grafton Street the busiest shopping street in Dublin. Many restaurants, cafes and bars along with top sightseeing attractions surround you.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
Room providing one queen bed. Approx 30 meters square. Room includes air conditioning/ironing board/trouser press/tea and coffee making facilities/personal safe/mini fridge/wired and fixed broadband/cable TV/ North American and European built in plug sockets.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.4 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 0.4 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.5 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.5 mi
  • Warrenmount: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.5 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant/Dining Information
The Magic Glasses Bar at the O'Callaghan Stephen's Green, with its soft leather furnishings, wood paneling and copper lighting has a distinctly opulent style. A hive of activity, Magic Glasses is much frequented by local business people and visitors to the city. Pie Dish Bistro comines the bright architecture of the Atrium with the inner rooms of two Georgian houses. Finest contemporary bistro cuisine is served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shiv
City of London, UK
Aug 30, 2011

Great hotel, perfect location

This hotel was fantastic, given what a good deal I got I didn't expect the hotel to be so great - I would recommend it and I hope to stay there again soon! The hotel looks impressive from the outside (there is some scaffolding on part of the building, but that doesn't matter) and our room (with one queen sized bed, I think it was two double beds pushed together, was so comfy and spacious) was fantastic, so much space in the room and bathroom. Staff were friendly and efficient, checking in and out was fast and simple. The bar/restaurant looked lovely, but unfortunately we didn't have time to visit this. Great location, so close to Grafton Street and plenty of pubs and nightspots so close to the hotel. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
penmgmt
Business
United States
Aug 18, 2011

Horrible

Room key did not work during entitire stay. Staff lazy and indifferent. Management no different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bcoz
Business
Arizona
Dec 3, 2012

Dublin trip

They seemed understaffed and confused. Rooms smelled. Booked rooms together, but we were on different floors. It would have been nice to hsve a view of Dublin, our view was a wall. Half way through our stays the keys stopped working. The bartender did not know how to make drinks. We would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 30, 2011

Pretty annoying throughout.

Our lackluster experience started from the moment we drove up. There is no loop to park your car while you check in, so you hope that one of the 1-hour spots is available at the precise moment you hope to arrive. Next, parking is about a 5 minute drive away, mosty because you are facing the wrong direction and the streets are one way. Only one employee, a young man who worked the front desk and delivers room service, was even the slightest bit polite. We stayed in the new section of the hotel, which does have nice modern rooms. However, the new section is actually an attached building accessed through a walkway, so you are in for a short walk and two elevators to get to your room if you are in that section. By far the most annoying thing for me was the charge for internet. They charge on the clock, which keeps running even after you log off so you might have to buy more time if you happen to leave. There was supposed to be free internet in the business center, but the front desk told me that the services book had not been updated and that all internet use was charged now so I might as well go back to my room. This is (to an American) outrageous given the fees they want and the fact that "free" internet should come with a $200 per night room. So, nice room but the service is just not there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking to get on a bus tour and act indecisive enough, the bus drivers will lower the rates to get you on. Taking a bus tour also might be the best way to just get around even if you have no plans to stop at every stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moz999999
Business
nyc
Jan 27, 2013

Great Location...NO FREE WIFI!!!

the hotel is in a great location, the only negatives are the lack of free wifi and wake up calls are not reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cancun
Apr 27, 2010

Great location

The O´Callaghan St. Stephen's Green is in a great location, close to Grafton St and only 10 minutes or so walk from Temple Bar, so close enough to the bars, shops, restaurants, etc, but far enough away that you escape the noise at night. It's a comfortable hotel, with friendly staff, but I was disappointed to have to pay for the wireless internet connection. Our air-con unit went crazy in the middle of the first night, and although we reported it, the same thing happened the next night. Not a big deal as we were only there 2 nights. Overall, value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US Military - Bamberg, Germany
Feb 15, 2010

Great location - okay hotel.

The location is great! Right of Stephens Green & Grafton Street, close to DART, 10 min walk to Temple Bar. We felt save - closest coffee shop is on Grafton Street and everything opens after 8a. We used the the bus service which drops you on the top of Dawson Street. The negatives is that the heat was blowing air but not warm air, the bathroom needs updating and the walls are thin. We didn't eat at the hotel. The front desk was helpful when approached.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Howth!! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US Midwest
Oct 19, 2009

O'Callaghan on the Green

Very efficient, polite, hospitable staff. Excellent location across from the very restful and green Stephens' Green with easy walk to the most interesting places in the City Centre. Easily could be a 4 star hotel except for the need to upgrade their plumbing. Poor control over hot water and signs in rooms alert guests to test the water before using. Clear indication that this is a known issue that needs to be fixed. If you are willing to put up with possibly ending up in a room with such plumbing, this is otherwise a great hotel. Staff were immediately responsive and immediately provided me with a key to another room to shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dublin cutie
Business
MA
May 12, 2010

Great Location

This hotel is in the perfect location. We loved being so close to Grafton Street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laddy
Business
Indiana
Nov 3, 2010

Tremendous Location in Dublin

I stayed in an older part of the hotel that I understand is scheduled to be renovated. My room did not have good heating, a working phone initially and a broken toilet seat. All these were fixed, but required me to address. Kind of dirty, but great location. Everything within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Can use your credit card which eliminates the need to exchange currency. Hundreds of stores and restaurants available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa fe, NM
Apr 15, 2010

Great location and good value

I did not eat or drink there but wanted to try various cafes, bars and restaurants around the city so I can't comment on those aspects. The room was clean, a little noisy because it faced the street with traffic, but is ideal for access to St Stephen's Green, National Library Museum and shopping streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chapter & Verse downstairs cafe one block away opposite NE corner of Green provides a great breakfast. Dandelion Bar near top of Grafton St is also great. Small cafe opposite museum in Kildare St is a must for great coffee and breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top