$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
View map of At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shiv
City of London, UK
Aug 30, 2011

Great hotel, perfect location

This hotel was fantastic, given what a good deal I got I didn't expect the hotel to be so great - I would recommend it and I hope to stay there again soon! The hotel looks impressive from the outside (there is some scaffolding on part of the building, but that doesn't matter) and our room (with one queen sized bed, I think it was two double beds pushed together, was so comfy and spacious) was fantastic, so much space in the room and bathroom. Staff were friendly and efficient, checking in and out was fast and simple. The bar/restaurant looked lovely, but unfortunately we didn't have time to visit this. Great location, so close to Grafton Street and plenty of pubs and nightspots so close to the hotel. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cancun
Apr 27, 2010

Great location

The O´Callaghan St. Stephen's Green is in a great location, close to Grafton St and only 10 minutes or so walk from Temple Bar, so close enough to the bars, shops, restaurants, etc, but far enough away that you escape the noise at night. It's a comfortable hotel, with friendly staff, but I was disappointed to have to pay for the wireless internet connection. Our air-con unit went crazy in the middle of the first night, and although we reported it, the same thing happened the next night. Not a big deal as we were only there 2 nights. Overall, value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa fe, NM
Apr 15, 2010

Great location and good value

I did not eat or drink there but wanted to try various cafes, bars and restaurants around the city so I can't comment on those aspects. The room was clean, a little noisy because it faced the street with traffic, but is ideal for access to St Stephen's Green, National Library Museum and shopping streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chapter & Verse downstairs cafe one block away opposite NE corner of Green provides a great breakfast. Dandelion Bar near top of Grafton St is also great. Small cafe opposite museum in Kildare St is a must for great coffee and breakfast.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, OH
Apr 5, 2010

Great location

Loved the location. We arrived very early, but they held our baggage for us until our room was ready and then upgraded us to a king size bed. Everyone was very nice and helpful. They had one American power outlet in our room, so we didn't have to mess around with adapters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Bewley's on Grafton street. The full Irish breakfast was around 9 euros and excellent. They also had a special after 6pm of 3 courses for 15 euro that was big enough for two to share.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ManWorkingHere
Business
Greenfield/Milwaukee, WI, USA
Apr 1, 2010

Nice room, visit cut short by D S T

The room was large and the bed firm. We came in later in the day and checked out early so we did not spend much time in the room proper. Had to have light bulb replaced over desk, took a moment for someone to come with a bulb. Not bad. The shower was a great size for two people. :-) There was a time change the one night that we happened to be there. The hotel put paper notices on the bed as a reminder to set clocks ahead. The window had condensation on it in the morning so we could not enjoy any view out over St. Stephens' Green from our 4th floor window. Minor, minor disappointment. We had the morning buffet before flying out. Tasty stuff and plentiful, warm food. The front desk held our bags while we visited the local grocery store just around the block. We bought extra pastries and juices to give my incoming children who were arriving at the Dublin airport while we were departing. Nice time there too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

[...] was a local taxi driver who charged just 30 euros to get us from the Dublin airport to the St. Stephens hotel. We asked him to come back the next morning to bring us back to the airport. The trip back, because it was a Sunday, cost 32 euros. [...]was a nice 30-some guy to talk to about living in Ireland, riding motorcycles, and raising young daughters. Cheers!

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dubb
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 1, 2010

Great Location and friendly staff

The hotel staff was great. They allowed us to check in early and provided great resturant recommendations as well as fun activities to do while in Dublin. They suggested we see a Hurling match and it was wonderful! Must see for everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Hurling match is a must for anyone visiting Ireland.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US Military - Bamberg, Germany
Feb 15, 2010

Great location - okay hotel.

The location is great! Right of Stephens Green & Grafton Street, close to DART, 10 min walk to Temple Bar. We felt save - closest coffee shop is on Grafton Street and everything opens after 8a. We used the the bus service which drops you on the top of Dawson Street. The negatives is that the heat was blowing air but not warm air, the bathroom needs updating and the walls are thin. We didn't eat at the hotel. The front desk was helpful when approached.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Howth!! :)

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 14, 2010

Great price. Excellent location.

Excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Would have given it 5 stars but my phone in the room was broken and despite efforts, was not able to be fixed. Kudos to young man who realized I needed a wake up call and prompted the TV to wake me and also came up to knock on my door to remind me. Great service. Upon checkout on Monday morning, reception clerk was not efficient and delayed departure. Tried to check out the night before but the same clerk did not want that. Taxi that the hotel ordered was not metered and charged me 39 euros vs. metered taxi from the airport to hotel charged 24 euros. Customers beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 11, 2010

Great location, great value

We enjoyed our stay at O'Callaghans Hotel on St. Stephens Green. I would recommend it to other visitors. It was a pleasure to be able to walk to many attractions as well as shopping and restaurants including all of the activity on Grafton Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville KY
Jan 5, 2010

Perfect Location

Amazing location for touring Dublin. The hotel was very clean and modern. They had free internet which is always nice in the business lounge. We would definitely use them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go on the Guiness tour

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dolson
Business
Fargo, ND, USA
Oct 26, 2009

Very nice

Great Hotel overall. The employees were helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for walking to all kinds of shops and places to eat. The room was a bit of a pain in that the bed had massive lumps protruding horizontally in the center that caused knee pain from hyperextension. The other problem is the aluminum flashing on the lower window ledge. It rains all the time in Dublin so it baffles me why a hotel would essentially put a drum at the edge of the window. When rain hit this aluminum it was shockingly loud. I remember reading another review about this issue before booking thinking that he/she was just some nut that needed to complain about something but I stand corrected. Would I choose this hotel again? Yes. I would just need to bring a fan to provide white noise. The AC/Heater in the room did not have a separate fan control and was far too quiet to help drown out the noise anyway. The hardware and decoration in the room was top-notch. The bed was a King which was nice. The clock is integrated into the TV which was a bit of a pain at first but once we figured out the alarm control it worked better than anything I have used before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top