$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Great stay.

Excellent stay. Located in a nice area, just outside the city centre Quality hotel, great room... See full review

  • Tony Chatfield
  • Feb 13, 2014
Wonderful experience!

We spent four nights at the Stephen Green Hotel and loved it! Great location, nice room, and... See full review

  • JuliaCO
  • Jan 6, 2014
Stephen’s Green escape with glass atrium overlooking the park
Conveniently situated in Dublin's city center, O'Callaghan Stephen's Green is one of the city's most perfectly located hotels. Relax in the hotel's Georgian library or stroll across the street to historic St. Stephen's Greens Park. A block away, Grafton Street offers excellent shopping opportunities and the hotel is an easy walk to major attractions such as Trinity College and Temple Bar. Located in restored Georgian buildings, O'Callaghan's features a glass atrium overlooking the park and many rooms offer stunning views across Dublin.

 

Highlights
  • Located near the gardens of St. Stephen's Greens and a short walk from the city center
  • Housed in two restored Georgian buildings with Georgian library
  • Restaurant and cocktail bar located in stunning glass atrium with park views
  • Gym and conference facilities
Rooms
The hotel offers 99 guest rooms that combine richly-hued fabrics and wood furnishings for a traditional feel with modern comforts. Standard accommodations include air conditioning, plasma TV, Wi-Fi, coffee and tea station and personal safes. Guests also enjoy extras such as trouser presses, irons and European and American wall plug sockets in every room. Many suites and studio terraces offer views over Dublin city.
Features
Irish playwright George Fitzmaurice once owned one of the Georgian buildings restored as part of O'Callaghan's Stephen's Green Hotel and in recognition, Pie Dish restaurant in the hotel's glass atrium and Magic Glasses cocktail bar are named after his plays. Guests can make use of the hotel's free gym and the traditional Georgian library, complete with staccato ceilings and fireplace. Guests also enjoy Wi-Fi, 24-hour access to the business center, laundry and dry cleaning service as well as room service. Babysitting services are available on request. Meeting rooms hold up to 40 guests and audiovisual equipment is available with advance notice.
Transportation
  • Aircoach bus service nearby
  • Luas tram stop at St. Stephen's Green
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Stephen's Green Park
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Oscar Wilde House
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 40 guests
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Video conferencing lines available by request
  • 24-hour business center
  • Broadband Internet and Wi-Fi access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
Room providing one queen bed. Approx 30 meters square. Room includes air conditioning/ironing board/trouser press/tea and coffee making facilities/personal safe/mini fridge/wired and fixed broadband/cable TV/ North American and European built in plug sockets.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.4 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 0.4 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.5 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.5 mi
  • Warrenmount: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.5 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant/Dining Information
The Magic Glasses Bar at the O'Callaghan Stephen's Green, with its soft leather furnishings, wood paneling and copper lighting has a distinctly opulent style. A hive of activity, Magic Glasses is much frequented by local business people and visitors to the city. Pie Dish Bistro comines the bright architecture of the Atrium with the inner rooms of two Georgian houses. Finest contemporary bistro cuisine is served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dolson
Business
Fargo, ND, USA
Oct 26, 2009

Very nice

Great Hotel overall. The employees were helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for walking to all kinds of shops and places to eat. The room was a bit of a pain in that the bed had massive lumps protruding horizontally in the center that caused knee pain from hyperextension. The other problem is the aluminum flashing on the lower window ledge. It rains all the time in Dublin so it baffles me why a hotel would essentially put a drum at the edge of the window. When rain hit this aluminum it was shockingly loud. I remember reading another review about this issue before booking thinking that he/she was just some nut that needed to complain about something but I stand corrected. Would I choose this hotel again? Yes. I would just need to bring a fan to provide white noise. The AC/Heater in the room did not have a separate fan control and was far too quiet to help drown out the noise anyway. The hardware and decoration in the room was top-notch. The bed was a King which was nice. The clock is integrated into the TV which was a bit of a pain at first but once we figured out the alarm control it worked better than anything I have used before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US Midwest
Oct 19, 2009

O'Callaghan on the Green

Very efficient, polite, hospitable staff. Excellent location across from the very restful and green Stephens' Green with easy walk to the most interesting places in the City Centre. Easily could be a 4 star hotel except for the need to upgrade their plumbing. Poor control over hot water and signs in rooms alert guests to test the water before using. Clear indication that this is a known issue that needs to be fixed. If you are willing to put up with possibly ending up in a room with such plumbing, this is otherwise a great hotel. Staff were immediately responsive and immediately provided me with a key to another room to shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annic
Business
trinidad & tobago
Oct 10, 2009

Great location

Enjoyed our stay in Dublin. Great hotel with everything within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exirishman
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 5, 2009

Great stay in Dublin!

The staff at O'Callaghan's Stephen's Green could not have been more helpful. The location is superb. I was able to walk almost everywhere in Dublin and yet it's on a quiet street at the top od Stephen's Green.Top notch bar and restaurant. I truly had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dekay51
Business
miami beach
Sep 7, 2009

Nice stay

Great central location. Clean rooms. Very comfortable. I would stay again. The internet was not free in the room but was available free in the business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monty's Katmandu nepal cuisine was quite good. Located in Temple Bar area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jupiter Travelers
Business
Jupiter, FL
Sep 5, 2009

Great Stay at Stephens Green

Our five night stay in late August 2009 was all we could have asked for considering the price, facilities, professional staff, and location of the hotel. We lined up the stay through an Orbitz package, primarily because of the ideal location in Dublin, positive reviews from other travelers and sites, and central location. When we arrived around 11:00 AM on a Thursday to drop off our luggage after an overnight airline trip, we were pleased when the front desk staff advised us our room was ready. We were also happy to learn the bed size had been upgraded to a king size. The room was approximately the size of an American hotel and was not smaller like European hotel rooms. The room had a safe, cofee/tea service, flat screen color TV, writing desk, luggage table, and two chairs and table, as well as the bed and two nightstands. Internet was available through the TV as well as either wired or wireless (which had to be paid for at front desk). (The business center on the ground floor, however, had free internet and linked printers.) The room also had windows that opened, although they faced another close building, but we used the windows for ventilation as opposed to the view. The room was cleaned timely each morning; although somewhat dated and not in pristine condition the room was in good shape, fairly well cleaned, and everything was in working order. The staff were unfailingly professional, polite, and eager to please. One manager at the front desk did not hesitate to help in the first floor pub when she was needed one morning and shortly thereafter was sweeping up a spill in the lobby. The restaurant was nothing fantastic, although our only expereince was a fairly standard breakfast. Room service was extensive, however, and we did eat twice and drink frequently when returning from touring Dublin in the first floor pub. The hotel's location for a visitor to Dublin is absolutely excellent. Virtually all historic attractions are either within easy walking distance or easily accessible by taxi or hop on/hop off bus. The beautiful Stephens' Green park is across the street from the hotel, and streets adjacent to the square around Stephens Green lead to a number of restaraunts, cafes, pubs, and stores. Grafton Street, a pedetrain friendly shopping street, is two blocks from the hotel and Trinity College is perhaps a 10 minute walk. The area felt safe in the evening, although on weekend nights there is a great deal of traffic of younger adults traveling to pubs and clubs in the area. The visit at the hotel, start to finish, did not provide any negative experience and my wife and I were really pleased with what a great experience we had. We would not hesitate to stay there again and recommend O'Callaghan Stephen's Green to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shanahan's on the Green, a small restaurant between the hotel and Grafton Street, provided our best meal while in Dublin. Although somewhat pricey, the appetizers and steak were absolutely delicious and the service was first-rate. It was hard to believe we would stumble on such a great restaurant so close to the hotel but it worked out that way. A very nice place for a quiet and very good meal while in Dublin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valley Stream, NY
Aug 19, 2009

Great value

We had a pleasant stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joyce Fan
Business
South Pasadena, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Excellent location, service, rooms

Very close to Grafton Street area shopping and restaurants, but just far enough from the drunken madness of Temple Bar nightlife. Everything important (e.g., Trinity College, National Gallery, Merrion Square, the river) was in walking distance, and the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions They were always ready to give you a map and mark the way, or even print out a map from online. My daughter and I made a walking tour of O'Connell Street and environs; the cab ride back was short and cheap. The hotel is attractive and modern, from the lobby and adjoining restaurant to the comfortable rooms. I think it was the location and the professional, cordial staff that really made our visit a memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Two of us are vegetarians, and we loved Cornucopia (big portions), as well as Juice (our waitress was very accommodating). Also, around the corner from the hotel, on Camden Street, there's a good, reasonably priced breakfast spot with the unfortunate name of Yum Yum Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 28, 2009

Good deal for the price

Hotel was clean, walking distance to everywhere in downtown Dublin. We really were not in it much except to sleep. Perfect for those who plan to be out and about during the day and just need a good place to rest for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Jun 22, 2009

Awesome

If you are a business traveler or traveling for pleasure, this hotel will provide you ALL you want. Even though this hotel is located in Ireland, it provides all the comforts that a s5 Star hotel in the States provide. You can't go wrong at this hotel !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You ladies will love the shopping, plus there are great restaurants all within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top