$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
View map of At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frando
Business
Livermore, CA
Mar 28, 2011

Fantastic Experience

Our stay at O'callaghan was fantastic and perfect for us. The staff was VERY nice, the room was comfortable, the location was the best and the price for the stay was very reasonable. We could do everything within walking distance. We had plenty of option to choose from when it comes to dinning, pubs and entertainment. If we decided not to go out for dinning the hotel restaurant and pub offers a good selection of food items and it was very tasty. I told the staff as I left I would definately come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Mar 19, 2011

great location

The hotel room was quite nice with a comfortable king bed and large modern bathroom. However, there wasn't any plug in the bathroom except for shavers. Staff was very nice, but the desk people were not terribly knowledgeable about trips to neighboring areas. The rate was reasonable, but didn't include breakfast, for which they wanted ~13 euros. There is a very nice grocery just around the corner with a cafe where you can get breakfast for 3 euros though. The location is very central to the main part of the city, and Stephen's Green, right across the street, is lovely. If you're very sensitive to noise, you might ant to request a room away from the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The old goal is very interesting and well worth the visit. You can reach it via bus without too much trouble.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 16, 2011

Wonderful!

Unbelivably wonderful experience! We arrived at 8:30AM after flying overnight from New York. They allowed us to check in early. The room was HUGE! The bed was a KING (we had reserved a queen). The room was clean and quiet. We used the tea making facilities in the room. The staff was helpful in dealing with all of our questions, such as giving directions. Very professional and courteous. Locations was an easy 3 minute walk from major shopping areas and 5-8 minutes from the entertainment (pubs, theatres) and historical districts. Across the street from a gorgeous park. Taxis were always at the door, even in the rain. We were interested in the history of Ireland, the writers, and the traditional music. We spent 6 days in Dublin, with a one day trip to Glendalough. We would return to Ireland to do the rest of the country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Read the menus posted outside the restaurants or pubs during the day. Lots of places had "Early Bird" or "Pre Theatre" menu for a reduced price. The choices for dinner are shown with the price. This saved a lot of running around later on. We were definitely more relaxed and we also had a wide variety of fare at various restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 10, 2011

Great hotel!

O'Callaghans Stephens Green was a wonderful hotel. If you are visiting Dublin, the location couldn't get any better. Also a great hotel for the value. Very spacious rooms with spacious bathrooms. We loved our experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 10, 2011

Great hotel!

O'Callaghans Stephens Green was a wonderful hotel. If you are visiting Dublin, the location couldn't get any better. Also a great hotel for the value. Very spacious rooms with spacious bathrooms. We loved our experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumberjack19
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient

The hotel is about 4 blocks (around the corner of the Square) from the Aircoach airport shuttle service drop on Kildare Street. It is also 2 blocks from the base of Grafton Street which puts it in a reasonable walk for most of the Dublin history sights and Temple Bar. I would recommend a cab or bus/LUAS for Kilmainham Gaol, Guinness Storehouse, Museum of Decorative Arts and History and the Jameson's Distillery. The room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating...including organizing a cup of coffee to go for me on the (early) morning of my departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cornucopia was a good cafe just off Grafton (probably a 5-10 minute walk from hotel) with great vegetarian offerings if you need a change of pace for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, ga
Dec 18, 2010

O'Callahans-fantastic!

Our stay was excellent. Hotel was clean, very comfortable and staff was very helpful and friendly. Our flight arrived at 8am and while check in isn't until 2, the hotel staff cleaned a room upon our arrival and we were in our room by 9:30am!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk almost anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Dec 13, 2010

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Hotel is right off of St Stephens Green which puts you right in the heart of Dublin. People complained about street noise but I heard only one crowd of people on a Saturday night (I stayed a week). Perhaps it's some other side of the hotel that gets noisy. There are two popular night clubs on the same block, so it's possible. The rooms are spacious by Dublin standards and very clean. I was given a handicap-accessible room which had a bathroom large enough to put a cot in. The hotel staff were extremely nice and greeted me each time I came in or went out. On my last day the manager came by to thank me for staying with them and wished me well. The rooms have a light to indicate if you want your room cleaned or be left alone. An electic Do Not Disturb system really. Problem for me was that the swtich was located in a dark spot in the room and not labeled. For the first two days the housecleaning staff called me to ask if I wanted my room cleaned. One of the maids showed me the switch and all was good. The ironing center and pant press combo was very nice but required all my years experience as an engineer to figure out. It was in the same dark corner of the room which might have been a factor here. Like most hotels the room has numerous low wattage bulbs. It was tough to read in bed. Internet access was great and included which was great. It's often ten euro a night elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was very tasty the dinning room has floor to ceiling windows looking out across to St Stephen's Green. There's a nice exercise room with a couple of elipticals, two treadmills, recumbant, free weights and a universal. Monitors on the wall to watch the six channels available while you work out. Only problem was finding it. It's in the basement but down a different stairwell from the main. My complaints are very small and picky. I like my room colder than most and the thermostat would only go down to 18C (64F). Even then I thought the room was warmer than 18. I mentioned the low-wattage bulbs. There was no clock in the room. So really, I don't have any complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Celtic Whiskey Shop on Dawson street is just a couple of blocks away. The proprietors are extremely helpful in guiding you through the intricacies of Irish Whiskey (and other spirits, I suppose). They have very fair prices as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laddy
Business
Indiana
Nov 3, 2010

Tremendous Location in Dublin

I stayed in an older part of the hotel that I understand is scheduled to be renovated. My room did not have good heating, a working phone initially and a broken toilet seat. All these were fixed, but required me to address. Kind of dirty, but great location. Everything within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Can use your credit card which eliminates the need to exchange currency. Hundreds of stores and restaurants available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exirishman
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Excellent Dublin City Centre Hotel

The Irish economy isbad shape and it sort of shows in the condition of O'Callaghan's. It's just a bit shabby around the edges. But otherwise a great place to stay. You can walk everywhere. This was my third stay at O'Callaghan's and it wont be my last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top