$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Great stay.

Excellent stay. Located in a nice area, just outside the city centre Quality hotel, great room... See full review

  • Tony Chatfield
  • Feb 13, 2014
Wonderful experience!

We spent four nights at the Stephen Green Hotel and loved it! Great location, nice room, and... See full review

  • JuliaCO
  • Jan 6, 2014
Stephen’s Green escape with glass atrium overlooking the park
Conveniently situated in Dublin's city center, O'Callaghan Stephen's Green is one of the city's most perfectly located hotels. Relax in the hotel's Georgian library or stroll across the street to historic St. Stephen's Greens Park. A block away, Grafton Street offers excellent shopping opportunities and the hotel is an easy walk to major attractions such as Trinity College and Temple Bar. Located in restored Georgian buildings, O'Callaghan's features a glass atrium overlooking the park and many rooms offer stunning views across Dublin.

 

Highlights
  • Located near the gardens of St. Stephen's Greens and a short walk from the city center
  • Housed in two restored Georgian buildings with Georgian library
  • Restaurant and cocktail bar located in stunning glass atrium with park views
  • Gym and conference facilities
Rooms
The hotel offers 99 guest rooms that combine richly-hued fabrics and wood furnishings for a traditional feel with modern comforts. Standard accommodations include air conditioning, plasma TV, Wi-Fi, coffee and tea station and personal safes. Guests also enjoy extras such as trouser presses, irons and European and American wall plug sockets in every room. Many suites and studio terraces offer views over Dublin city.
Features
Irish playwright George Fitzmaurice once owned one of the Georgian buildings restored as part of O'Callaghan's Stephen's Green Hotel and in recognition, Pie Dish restaurant in the hotel's glass atrium and Magic Glasses cocktail bar are named after his plays. Guests can make use of the hotel's free gym and the traditional Georgian library, complete with staccato ceilings and fireplace. Guests also enjoy Wi-Fi, 24-hour access to the business center, laundry and dry cleaning service as well as room service. Babysitting services are available on request. Meeting rooms hold up to 40 guests and audiovisual equipment is available with advance notice.
Transportation
  • Aircoach bus service nearby
  • Luas tram stop at St. Stephen's Green
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Stephen's Green Park
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Oscar Wilde House
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 40 guests
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Video conferencing lines available by request
  • 24-hour business center
  • Broadband Internet and Wi-Fi access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
Room providing one queen bed. Approx 30 meters square. Room includes air conditioning/ironing board/trouser press/tea and coffee making facilities/personal safe/mini fridge/wired and fixed broadband/cable TV/ North American and European built in plug sockets.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.4 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 0.4 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.5 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.5 mi
  • Warrenmount: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.5 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant/Dining Information
The Magic Glasses Bar at the O'Callaghan Stephen's Green, with its soft leather furnishings, wood paneling and copper lighting has a distinctly opulent style. A hive of activity, Magic Glasses is much frequented by local business people and visitors to the city. Pie Dish Bistro comines the bright architecture of the Atrium with the inner rooms of two Georgian houses. Finest contemporary bistro cuisine is served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shiv
City of London, UK
Aug 30, 2011

Great hotel, perfect location

This hotel was fantastic, given what a good deal I got I didn't expect the hotel to be so great - I would recommend it and I hope to stay there again soon! The hotel looks impressive from the outside (there is some scaffolding on part of the building, but that doesn't matter) and our room (with one queen sized bed, I think it was two double beds pushed together, was so comfy and spacious) was fantastic, so much space in the room and bathroom. Staff were friendly and efficient, checking in and out was fast and simple. The bar/restaurant looked lovely, but unfortunately we didn't have time to visit this. Great location, so close to Grafton Street and plenty of pubs and nightspots so close to the hotel. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 17, 2011

Great Value and Location

The staff was very helpful and even arranged for a tour for us. This is a very good value and the rooms are very big. Also, it is a great location within walking distance of many of the famous sites and conveniently close to Grafton Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jojo the plane
Business
bottle a wa
May 12, 2011

Service was delivered

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mollicita
Business
North Bethesda, MD
May 2, 2011

Fantastic Location

Could NOT believe the deal I got [...]!LOVED the location facing Stephens Green & just around the corner from Grafton Street. Room was huge (especially for being in the city) with a separate sitting room, a shower and a tub in the bathroom, and plenty of space in the closet & bedroom. Staff was great & helpful. No parking onsite, but they have a discounted rate at the Stephens Green Garage 3 blocks away. Very decent for parking inside the city!We arrived during an unseasonably warm week in April & unfortunately the air conditioning was not yet ready (maintenance problem on the roof), so we took that excuse to drink extra pints in the nice hotel bar downstairs. Wifi isn't free. Business center only has 2 computers (one was out of service). Breakfast buffet is a delicious hold/cold smorgasbord & only £11 per person, with a great view of the city corner as Dubliners make their way to work each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Whelan's Pub, just one block away, has live music & great prices for beers/ciders/cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carwhite
Business
Ramsey, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

A great place to stay

After driving around Ireland and staying in a different location every night, we were thrilled to finish our trip with 3 nights at O'Callaghans Sthephen Green. Beautiful weather, spring blooms and other people enjoying the park made an afternoon relaxing in the Green so rejuvenating. The bed was perfect and the bathroom large. We loved being able to walk to Grafton Street, Temple Bar, the river, Trinity University and the National Museum. Our rate did not include the breakfast buffet, which was nothing special for 12.95 euros and there were really no alternatives to that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frando
Business
Livermore, CA
Mar 28, 2011

Fantastic Experience

Our stay at O'callaghan was fantastic and perfect for us. The staff was VERY nice, the room was comfortable, the location was the best and the price for the stay was very reasonable. We could do everything within walking distance. We had plenty of option to choose from when it comes to dinning, pubs and entertainment. If we decided not to go out for dinning the hotel restaurant and pub offers a good selection of food items and it was very tasty. I told the staff as I left I would definately come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Mar 19, 2011

great location

The hotel room was quite nice with a comfortable king bed and large modern bathroom. However, there wasn't any plug in the bathroom except for shavers. Staff was very nice, but the desk people were not terribly knowledgeable about trips to neighboring areas. The rate was reasonable, but didn't include breakfast, for which they wanted ~13 euros. There is a very nice grocery just around the corner with a cafe where you can get breakfast for 3 euros though. The location is very central to the main part of the city, and Stephen's Green, right across the street, is lovely. If you're very sensitive to noise, you might ant to request a room away from the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The old goal is very interesting and well worth the visit. You can reach it via bus without too much trouble.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 16, 2011

Wonderful!

Unbelivably wonderful experience! We arrived at 8:30AM after flying overnight from New York. They allowed us to check in early. The room was HUGE! The bed was a KING (we had reserved a queen). The room was clean and quiet. We used the tea making facilities in the room. The staff was helpful in dealing with all of our questions, such as giving directions. Very professional and courteous. Locations was an easy 3 minute walk from major shopping areas and 5-8 minutes from the entertainment (pubs, theatres) and historical districts. Across the street from a gorgeous park. Taxis were always at the door, even in the rain. We were interested in the history of Ireland, the writers, and the traditional music. We spent 6 days in Dublin, with a one day trip to Glendalough. We would return to Ireland to do the rest of the country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Read the menus posted outside the restaurants or pubs during the day. Lots of places had "Early Bird" or "Pre Theatre" menu for a reduced price. The choices for dinner are shown with the price. This saved a lot of running around later on. We were definitely more relaxed and we also had a wide variety of fare at various restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 10, 2011

Great hotel!

O'Callaghans Stephens Green was a wonderful hotel. If you are visiting Dublin, the location couldn't get any better. Also a great hotel for the value. Very spacious rooms with spacious bathrooms. We loved our experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumberjack19
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient

The hotel is about 4 blocks (around the corner of the Square) from the Aircoach airport shuttle service drop on Kildare Street. It is also 2 blocks from the base of Grafton Street which puts it in a reasonable walk for most of the Dublin history sights and Temple Bar. I would recommend a cab or bus/LUAS for Kilmainham Gaol, Guinness Storehouse, Museum of Decorative Arts and History and the Jameson's Distillery. The room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating...including organizing a cup of coffee to go for me on the (early) morning of my departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cornucopia was a good cafe just off Grafton (probably a 5-10 minute walk from hotel) with great vegetarian offerings if you need a change of pace for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, ga
Dec 18, 2010

O'Callahans-fantastic!

Our stay was excellent. Hotel was clean, very comfortable and staff was very helpful and friendly. Our flight arrived at 8am and while check in isn't until 2, the hotel staff cleaned a room upon our arrival and we were in our room by 9:30am!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk almost anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top