$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
View map of At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chunkster
City of London, UK
Aug 30, 2011

Central Location / Modern Clean Room

Staff very pleasant - fast check in and out. Nice clean rooms, lovely bed. Few mins stroll from shops/bars etc. The Green (in fact a very nice park and gardens) across the road. Super buffet breakfast includes everything you would expect. 5mins stroll from the AirCoach bus stop - Modern, comfortable coach which takes 30mins to airport (EUR14 open return). Great hotel, great location, great value. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 30, 2011

Pretty annoying throughout.

Our lackluster experience started from the moment we drove up. There is no loop to park your car while you check in, so you hope that one of the 1-hour spots is available at the precise moment you hope to arrive. Next, parking is about a 5 minute drive away, mosty because you are facing the wrong direction and the streets are one way. Only one employee, a young man who worked the front desk and delivers room service, was even the slightest bit polite. We stayed in the new section of the hotel, which does have nice modern rooms. However, the new section is actually an attached building accessed through a walkway, so you are in for a short walk and two elevators to get to your room if you are in that section. By far the most annoying thing for me was the charge for internet. They charge on the clock, which keeps running even after you log off so you might have to buy more time if you happen to leave. There was supposed to be free internet in the business center, but the front desk told me that the services book had not been updated and that all internet use was charged now so I might as well go back to my room. This is (to an American) outrageous given the fees they want and the fact that "free" internet should come with a $200 per night room. So, nice room but the service is just not there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking to get on a bus tour and act indecisive enough, the bus drivers will lower the rates to get you on. Taking a bus tour also might be the best way to just get around even if you have no plans to stop at every stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 17, 2011

Great Value and Location

The staff was very helpful and even arranged for a tour for us. This is a very good value and the rooms are very big. Also, it is a great location within walking distance of many of the famous sites and conveniently close to Grafton Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jojo the plane
Business
bottle a wa
May 12, 2011

Service was delivered

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mollicita
Business
North Bethesda, MD
May 2, 2011

Fantastic Location

Could NOT believe the deal I got [...]!LOVED the location facing Stephens Green & just around the corner from Grafton Street. Room was huge (especially for being in the city) with a separate sitting room, a shower and a tub in the bathroom, and plenty of space in the closet & bedroom. Staff was great & helpful. No parking onsite, but they have a discounted rate at the Stephens Green Garage 3 blocks away. Very decent for parking inside the city!We arrived during an unseasonably warm week in April & unfortunately the air conditioning was not yet ready (maintenance problem on the roof), so we took that excuse to drink extra pints in the nice hotel bar downstairs. Wifi isn't free. Business center only has 2 computers (one was out of service). Breakfast buffet is a delicious hold/cold smorgasbord & only £11 per person, with a great view of the city corner as Dubliners make their way to work each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Whelan's Pub, just one block away, has live music & great prices for beers/ciders/cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carwhite
Business
Ramsey, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

A great place to stay

After driving around Ireland and staying in a different location every night, we were thrilled to finish our trip with 3 nights at O'Callaghans Sthephen Green. Beautiful weather, spring blooms and other people enjoying the park made an afternoon relaxing in the Green so rejuvenating. The bed was perfect and the bathroom large. We loved being able to walk to Grafton Street, Temple Bar, the river, Trinity University and the National Museum. Our rate did not include the breakfast buffet, which was nothing special for 12.95 euros and there were really no alternatives to that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frando
Business
Livermore, CA
Mar 28, 2011

Fantastic Experience

Our stay at O'callaghan was fantastic and perfect for us. The staff was VERY nice, the room was comfortable, the location was the best and the price for the stay was very reasonable. We could do everything within walking distance. We had plenty of option to choose from when it comes to dinning, pubs and entertainment. If we decided not to go out for dinning the hotel restaurant and pub offers a good selection of food items and it was very tasty. I told the staff as I left I would definately come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Mar 19, 2011

great location

The hotel room was quite nice with a comfortable king bed and large modern bathroom. However, there wasn't any plug in the bathroom except for shavers. Staff was very nice, but the desk people were not terribly knowledgeable about trips to neighboring areas. The rate was reasonable, but didn't include breakfast, for which they wanted ~13 euros. There is a very nice grocery just around the corner with a cafe where you can get breakfast for 3 euros though. The location is very central to the main part of the city, and Stephen's Green, right across the street, is lovely. If you're very sensitive to noise, you might ant to request a room away from the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The old goal is very interesting and well worth the visit. You can reach it via bus without too much trouble.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 16, 2011

Wonderful!

Unbelivably wonderful experience! We arrived at 8:30AM after flying overnight from New York. They allowed us to check in early. The room was HUGE! The bed was a KING (we had reserved a queen). The room was clean and quiet. We used the tea making facilities in the room. The staff was helpful in dealing with all of our questions, such as giving directions. Very professional and courteous. Locations was an easy 3 minute walk from major shopping areas and 5-8 minutes from the entertainment (pubs, theatres) and historical districts. Across the street from a gorgeous park. Taxis were always at the door, even in the rain. We were interested in the history of Ireland, the writers, and the traditional music. We spent 6 days in Dublin, with a one day trip to Glendalough. We would return to Ireland to do the rest of the country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Read the menus posted outside the restaurants or pubs during the day. Lots of places had "Early Bird" or "Pre Theatre" menu for a reduced price. The choices for dinner are shown with the price. This saved a lot of running around later on. We were definitely more relaxed and we also had a wide variety of fare at various restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 10, 2011

Great hotel!

O'Callaghans Stephens Green was a wonderful hotel. If you are visiting Dublin, the location couldn't get any better. Also a great hotel for the value. Very spacious rooms with spacious bathrooms. We loved our experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumberjack19
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient

The hotel is about 4 blocks (around the corner of the Square) from the Aircoach airport shuttle service drop on Kildare Street. It is also 2 blocks from the base of Grafton Street which puts it in a reasonable walk for most of the Dublin history sights and Temple Bar. I would recommend a cab or bus/LUAS for Kilmainham Gaol, Guinness Storehouse, Museum of Decorative Arts and History and the Jameson's Distillery. The room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating...including organizing a cup of coffee to go for me on the (early) morning of my departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cornucopia was a good cafe just off Grafton (probably a 5-10 minute walk from hotel) with great vegetarian offerings if you need a change of pace for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top