$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
View map of At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Aug 4, 2011

Memorable Dublin

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel was a fantastic place to stay. The hotel is centrally located from all major sites. The biggest shopping area Graffton Street is 5 mintues walk from the hotel. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable, they even mailed my post cards for me. Very clean, no major problems, great price and value. Would absolutely stay there again, the location is there grabber for this hotel, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING CLOSES AT SIX OR SEVEN, GET SHOPPING DONE EARLY!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central NJ
Jul 12, 2011

Good hotel

They mixed up our reservation and we got sent to a sister hotel down the street (still O'Callaghan, but Davenport instead of Stephen's Green). They were very nice about the mix up and upgraded our room. The hotel staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend the hop on hop off buses to tour Dublin - quickest way to see it all without having to walk an incredible amount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CathyK
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 11, 2011

Great hotel, centrally located.

This is a wonderful hotel. Great location for the price. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grafton street is just down the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CathyK
Business
Boston, Ma
Jul 11, 2011

Wonderful hotel

This is a wonderful hotel. I would stay there again! Right near Grafton & O'Connell Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grafton Street was just 3 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David Yossef
Business
New York, NY
Jun 20, 2011

not more than ok

The hotel was ok - good location and relatively clean (although a little dusty). They make a big deal of their hotel, but in fact it is no more than a basic hotel, with basic services and certainly not what you would expect from a - "boutique hotel in Dublin".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 30, 2011

Pretty annoying throughout.

Our lackluster experience started from the moment we drove up. There is no loop to park your car while you check in, so you hope that one of the 1-hour spots is available at the precise moment you hope to arrive. Next, parking is about a 5 minute drive away, mosty because you are facing the wrong direction and the streets are one way. Only one employee, a young man who worked the front desk and delivers room service, was even the slightest bit polite. We stayed in the new section of the hotel, which does have nice modern rooms. However, the new section is actually an attached building accessed through a walkway, so you are in for a short walk and two elevators to get to your room if you are in that section. By far the most annoying thing for me was the charge for internet. They charge on the clock, which keeps running even after you log off so you might have to buy more time if you happen to leave. There was supposed to be free internet in the business center, but the front desk told me that the services book had not been updated and that all internet use was charged now so I might as well go back to my room. This is (to an American) outrageous given the fees they want and the fact that "free" internet should come with a $200 per night room. So, nice room but the service is just not there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking to get on a bus tour and act indecisive enough, the bus drivers will lower the rates to get you on. Taking a bus tour also might be the best way to just get around even if you have no plans to stop at every stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 17, 2011

Great Value and Location

The staff was very helpful and even arranged for a tour for us. This is a very good value and the rooms are very big. Also, it is a great location within walking distance of many of the famous sites and conveniently close to Grafton Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jojo the plane
Business
bottle a wa
May 12, 2011

Service was delivered

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mollicita
Business
North Bethesda, MD
May 2, 2011

Fantastic Location

Could NOT believe the deal I got [...]!LOVED the location facing Stephens Green & just around the corner from Grafton Street. Room was huge (especially for being in the city) with a separate sitting room, a shower and a tub in the bathroom, and plenty of space in the closet & bedroom. Staff was great & helpful. No parking onsite, but they have a discounted rate at the Stephens Green Garage 3 blocks away. Very decent for parking inside the city!We arrived during an unseasonably warm week in April & unfortunately the air conditioning was not yet ready (maintenance problem on the roof), so we took that excuse to drink extra pints in the nice hotel bar downstairs. Wifi isn't free. Business center only has 2 computers (one was out of service). Breakfast buffet is a delicious hold/cold smorgasbord & only £11 per person, with a great view of the city corner as Dubliners make their way to work each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Whelan's Pub, just one block away, has live music & great prices for beers/ciders/cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carwhite
Business
Ramsey, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

A great place to stay

After driving around Ireland and staying in a different location every night, we were thrilled to finish our trip with 3 nights at O'Callaghans Sthephen Green. Beautiful weather, spring blooms and other people enjoying the park made an afternoon relaxing in the Green so rejuvenating. The bed was perfect and the bathroom large. We loved being able to walk to Grafton Street, Temple Bar, the river, Trinity University and the National Museum. Our rate did not include the breakfast buffet, which was nothing special for 12.95 euros and there were really no alternatives to that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top