$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

3 stars
View map of At Merrion Sqaure, Dublin 2, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
44 reviews
Perfect base in Dublin

The staff was extremely helpful and hospitable. The rooms were up-to-date and comfortable. Great... See full review

  • CRP3
  • Jun 22, 2015
Great Experience

The hotel was beautiful and situated in a great location for what we wanted to do. The staff were... See full review

  • Paul P.
  • Jan 19, 2015
O'Callaghan Mont Clare is situated on Merrion Square, one of Dublin's most impressive Georgian areas. The hotel sits next to the National Gallery and a quick walk to Trinity College and the shopping and nightlife of Grafton Street. Hit the weekend art market at Merrion Square, watched over by a statue of Oscar Wilde.  Warm rooms feature dark wood, leather upholstery and wired broadband Internet. Enjoy breakfast in the tearoom with large windows overlooking the square. Later, visit popular traditional Irish pub, No. 1 Merrion Street Bar.
Rooms
The hotel's 74 rooms are equipped with plasma TVs, individual temperature controls and broadband Internet access (fees apply). Several rooms overlook the National Gallery. Each room has three telephones, tea and coffee station and a safe. Room service, concierge, laundry and dry cleaning are also offered.
Property features
The O'Callaghan Mont Clare houses a restaurant and bar for guests. The No. 1 Merrion Street Bar is a classic Irish pub serving traditional Irish cuisine to locals and tourists. Goldsmith's Restaurant serves a breakfast buffet daily in a tearoom atmosphere with large windows overlooking Merrion Square.  The hotel offers babysitting service and guests can use the health and fitness facilities of the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel on the other side of the square. Parking is available for a fee.
Highlights
  • Grand views of attractive Dublin's area brimming with traditional Irish character
  • Cozy rooms decorated in warm burgundies and wood accents
  • Home to No. 1 Merrion Street Bar, a traditional Irish pub and restaurant
Nearby attractions
  • National Gallery of Ireland (nearby)
  • National Museum of Ireland--Natural History (nearby)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Centre (nearby)
  • Trinity College (nearby)        
  • Temple Bar (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Dublin Castle (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Christchurch Cathedral (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • 7 meeting spaces can accommodate up to 150 guests
  • State-of-the-art facilities
  •   Catering and banqueting available
Transportation
  •  Aircoach stops close to the hotel
  • Steps from Pearse St. train and bus station
  • Taxi service in front of hotel

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$147
3.9 / 5 40 reviews
★★★★
$147
4.0 / 5 90 reviews
★★★★
$133
4.0 / 5 43 reviews
★★★
$112
4.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★
$82
4.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★★
$180
4.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★★★★
$432
4.4 / 5 56 reviews
★★★★★
$268
4.7 / 5 43 reviews

O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin Room
Room with one queen bed or 2 single beds. Approximately 20 square meters. Decor is traditional Irish with well-appointed soft furnishings and dark wood. Room includes air conditioning/personal safe/trouser press/cable TV/hairdryer/tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.5 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Bord Gáis Energy Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.5 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Number One Bar is relaxing and comfortable in a traditional pub style. It has a very busy carvery lunch served daily and a lounge menu during the evening. The typical Irish pub feel is popular with residents and locals alike.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 44
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
luckymum3
Couples
wicklow,ireland
May 30, 2012

romantic couple city break

I had read previous reviews on the internet, so i was prepared for the fact that the rooms were small, it was not very comfortable as one side of the bed was about a foot from the wall, and my husband found it difficult to move around. But we were still happy enough. I asked at reception if there was a residents bar as, we have not been out together in ages and this was an important break from the kid. I was told it was 24 hours. yet when we came back at 1 am we could not get a drink, and the man in the bar would not look at us. He did not answer or look up from what he was doing. The man at reception finally got us a drink which we had to have up in our room cause the bar was closed. The police were in reception, but we were not told anything just shoved up to bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
...Lauren
Couples
Denver, Colorado
Sep 27, 2011

Small and noisy

We stayed in room 252, and we could hear every sound from the street below, including frequent busses and the pedestrian crossing light beeping all night long. The main room and closet were extremely small, and we were tripping over our suitcases. The bathroom was also small, with only enough space to hang 1 towel, even though the room was intended for 2 people. A simple towel hook on the back of the door would have been an easy fix. Wireless internet access was slow as molassses, unreliable, and expensive. The location was excellent, within walking distance to most of Dublin's main points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a large "Kilkenny" store about 4-5 blocks from the hotel, which had beautiful high-quality linens, crystal gifts, and pottery. We loved this store!

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
wisconsin
Feb 6, 2010

outdated and smelly

We expected way more from a four star hotel. This was by far our worst hotel in our entire Ireland trip. Not good value and out of the way from the city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Massachusetts
May 30, 2011

Perfectly acceptable

The hotel was fairly well located, about 6 blocks from St. Stephen's Green. It was very clean and well cared for. The beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly and the internet connection worked well. However, the rooms are fairly small, and the shower is only a dribble of very, very hot water that is difficult to adjust. The breakfast buffet is not particularly appetizing (watery eggs), so I'm glad that we did not get the package with breakfast included. The attached bar is nice, but was always empty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bang Restaurant in Dawson Street is excellent--great food and very good service. Hugo's is also good, though the service was not as good as Bang.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JenandPat
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 17, 2011

Great staff!

The staff is very friendly and helpful! Unfortunately we had a flat tire on our rental car about 5 minutes into our drive to our hotel. After we walked to our hotel the front desk manager, Kris, helped us find a tire iron and get on our way. Our stay was wonderful too, very nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GH3
Couples
Hoboken, NJ
Mar 14, 2011

Perfect For A Central Dublin Bed

We knew we were not getting a five start hotel and were fine with that. What we wanted was a great location within walking distance to many of the Dublin sites and that is exactly what we got. The best part about this hotel is that it is in a quiet part of the city center. The hotel is close to Trinity, St Stephens Green, Temple Bar and the Dart as well, which made getting out of the city on day trips ideal. While the Hotel will not impress you, it was clean and the staff was friendly and always around. This hotel is a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try to catch the DART to Skerries, which is about 30 mins North of Dublin. Trains leave about every 2 hours from Dublin. Skerries is a seaside town with beautiful beaches and great harbor restaurants.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oakland, CA
Jul 11, 2009

Great location, stayed more nights

The location is perfect, across from the Oscar Wilde house & statue, hop-on & off tour bus stop and AirCoach from the airport. Staff was very friendly. We arrived early and groggy after the flights from SF, and they had a room ready at 10am. They also helped book us for the musical pub crawl. We stayed on the 4th floor and didn't hear any street noise. We liked this hotel and Dublin so much we decided to extend our stay 2 more nights. They honored the same low orbitz rate for the extra nights. The full Irish breakfast buffet was good, but it cost 16 euro extra, so we did that only once. Only bummer was the Internet access code for our laptop cost an extra 12 euro a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The green hop-on-hop off bus tour was a good way to get to some of the attractions like Jameson Distillery and Guinness Storehouse. The live commentary from the tour drivers was great and a few drivers were witty and humorous. Much better than the red bus tours that use the cheap earbuds and pre-recorded commentary. Dont miss the literary and music pub crawls.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA-CT
Aug 10, 2010

Great location friendly staff

This hotel offered easy access to all attractions in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the musical pub crawl and the historical walking tour while in Dublin

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Michigan
Aug 22, 2010

Nice folks, good location

Staff was exceptionally helpful, including storing luggage while we were on a 4-day walking trip, and phoning our next B&B to get directions. Great location, but the room was small and our room was on the street side and somewhat noisy. Good buffet breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar has great dining spots and is only a short walk from this hotel.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Clemente, CA
May 8, 2009

Great Irish Hospitality

Had great suggestions on where to go for food, tourist sites, transportation, history, etc. Met people from all over Europe as well at breakfast in the hotel. Great pastries! Right across from the City tour bus for "Hop-on-hop-off" to all the city sites including the tasting at the Guinnes Brewery and Jamison Irish Whisky sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Tourist Bus for the Tourist sites in Dublin - The Hop-on-hop-off is less than $10.00 for 24 hours. You just buy the ticket and get off at the site you want to see and get back on to the next one. Hint - start early as there is lots to see.

Back to menu Return to top