$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

3 stars
At Merrion Sqaure, Dublin 2, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
34 reviews
Vacation treat

This hotel is a great value, in good location, has friendly & helpful staff, very clean. Only... See full review

  • Weet
  • Jan 23, 2014
Great location in Dublin

They could not find reservation. Night manager did not seem to know how to find reservation.... See full review

  • Another Irish Lass
  • Jun 14, 2013
Traditional Irish comforts with modern conveniences
O'Callaghan Mont Clare is situated on Merrion Square, one of Dublin's most impressive Georgian areas. The hotel sits next to the National Gallery and a quick walk to Trinity College and the shopping and nightlife of Grafton Street. Hit the weekend art market at Merrion Square, watched over by a statue of Oscar Wilde.  Warm rooms feature dark wood, leather upholstery and wired broadband Internet. Enjoy breakfast in the tearoom with large windows overlooking the square. Later, visit popular traditional Irish pub, No. 1 Merrion Street Bar.
Highlights
  • Grand views of attractive Dublin's area brimming with traditional Irish character
  • Cozy rooms decorated in warm burgundies and wood accents
  • Home to No. 1 Merrion Street Bar, a traditional Irish pub and restaurant
Rooms
The hotel's 74 rooms are equipped with plasma TVs, individual temperature controls and broadband Internet access (fees apply). Several rooms overlook the National Gallery. Each room has three telephones, tea and coffee station and a safe. Room service, concierge, laundry and dry cleaning are also offered.
Features
The O'Callaghan Mont Clare houses a restaurant and bar for guests. The No. 1 Merrion Street Bar is a classic Irish pub serving traditional Irish cuisine to locals and tourists. Goldsmith's Restaurant serves a breakfast buffet daily in a tearoom atmosphere with large windows overlooking Merrion Square.  The hotel offers babysitting service and guests can use the health and fitness facilities of the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel on the other side of the square. Parking is available for a fee.
Transportation
  •  Aircoach stops close to the hotel
  • Steps from Pearse St. train and bus station
  • Taxi service in front of hotel
Attractions
  • National Gallery of Ireland (nearby)
  • National Museum of Ireland--Natural History (nearby)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Centre (nearby)
  • Trinity College (nearby)        
  • Temple Bar (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Dublin Castle (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Christchurch Cathedral (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • 7 meeting spaces can accommodate up to 150 guests
  • State-of-the-art facilities
  •   Catering and banqueting available

O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin Room
Room with one queen bed or 2 single beds. Approximately 20 square meters. Decor is traditional Irish with well-appointed soft furnishings and dark wood. Room includes air conditioning/personal safe/trouser press/cable TV/hairdryer/tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3413 -6.251
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Centrally located within easy walking distance to Grafton Street, which is Dublin's busiest shopping street, approximately 10 minutes walk away. The National History museum and Art gallery are literally a stroll away along with Merrion Square and St Stephen's Green. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.4 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.5 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Number One Bar is relaxing and comfortable in a traditional pub style. It has a very busy carvery lunch served daily and a lounge menu during the evening. The typical Irish pub feel is popular with residents and locals alike.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
wisconsin
Feb 6, 2010

outdated and smelly

We expected way more from a four star hotel. This was by far our worst hotel in our entire Ireland trip. Not good value and out of the way from the city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

3
JP2000
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Great location marred by poor value

A friend and I spent two weeks in Ireland, and the Mont Claire was our base of operations for our last few nights in Dublin before our departure. We arrived after a long night drive from the west coast. While the staff was nice about us coming in late, parking our car overnight would end up costing us €20, and the lot was a few blocks away. While the decor won't win any awards, the room was clean and set up in a quiet part of the hotel. The problem arose when we tried to access the hotel's WIFI: outrageously expensive. They wanted €15 for 250 KB of data. 250 *kilobytes*. That's barely enough data to sync one's email. Perhaps an internet connection isn't so high on the list of other travelers, but... dang. Needless to say, we had to find some other way to stay in touch with our families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

3
FloridaLass
Pensacola, Fl
Jun 1, 2010

Great price, good location

The hotel is conveniently located next to Merrion Square, about a 10 minute walk to some of the more popular sights in Dublin, Trinity College, Temple Bar, Grafton Street, and is across the street from one of the hop-on/hop-off bus stops. As has been my experience in Europe before, the room was quite small but was pleasant, clean, and accompanied by the standard amenities. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA-CT
Aug 10, 2010

Great location friendly staff

This hotel offered easy access to all attractions in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the musical pub crawl and the historical walking tour while in Dublin

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
UK Traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 24, 2011

Great Service!!

Amazing customer service and great location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Nov 26, 2010

Great Value in the heart of Dublin

This hotel is right off of Merrion Square and within walking distance to Trinity College, the Temple Bar District, and shopping on Grafton Street. My wife and I were able to walk to all of these attractions from the hotel, which made our stay enjoyable. The hotel room itself is small, but cosy. The beds were comfortable and I felt like we got great value for what we paid. This hotel is listed as 3 stars, but I found it comparable to most 4 star hotels. The staff answered all of our questions and were friendly. I would definitely stay here again if traveling to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Trinity College library is a five minute walk from the hotel. The Book of Kells and Long Library exhibits are very interesting and 9 euro per person.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
VaDana
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Great stay!

The room was small yet very cozy and beautiful. It was close to quite a few restaurants and a shirt walk from Suffok St. I would happily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ginger Pub is just a short walk away, I could see it from my window and the food was wonderful.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Rhode Island
Jan 19, 2011

Nice Place, Great Location

The O'Callaghan Mont Clare was a great value for the price paid. We arrived in Dublin at 0530 and were able to check in at 0730. Desk staff was very courteous. The room was neat and clean. Very little noise in the hotel and beds were very comfortable. The location is very convenient for most of the Dublin sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Uncle Earlo
St. Paul, MN
Dec 29, 2009

Mont Clare - Dublin

A great Dublin location. My only complaint was the cleanliness. The daily housekeeping was done quite well but items not attended to on a daily basis such as smoke detectors, air vents, etc, were caked with dust and lint. Their housekeeping supervisor needs to be more attentive, and look up occasionally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the Temple Bar for food, nightlife, and music!

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Weet
Jacksonville, FL
Jan 23, 2014

Vacation treat

This hotel is a great value, in good location, has friendly & helpful staff, very clean. Only complaint is lack of free Wi-Fi. Happy to recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kennedy's around the corner - great irish food, authentic atmosphere, pleasant service

Back to menu Return to top