$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

3 stars
At Merrion Sqaure, Dublin 2, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Nice hotel, good location.

Hotel was very nice, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Only small complaint was that water... See full review

  • Jim Jimmers
  • Jun 2, 2014
Vacation treat

This hotel is a great value, in good location, has friendly & helpful staff, very clean. Only... See full review

  • Weet
  • Jan 23, 2014
Traditional Irish comforts with modern conveniences
O'Callaghan Mont Clare is situated on Merrion Square, one of Dublin's most impressive Georgian areas. The hotel sits next to the National Gallery and a quick walk to Trinity College and the shopping and nightlife of Grafton Street. Hit the weekend art market at Merrion Square, watched over by a statue of Oscar Wilde.  Warm rooms feature dark wood, leather upholstery and wired broadband Internet. Enjoy breakfast in the tearoom with large windows overlooking the square. Later, visit popular traditional Irish pub, No. 1 Merrion Street Bar.
Highlights
  • Grand views of attractive Dublin's area brimming with traditional Irish character
  • Cozy rooms decorated in warm burgundies and wood accents
  • Home to No. 1 Merrion Street Bar, a traditional Irish pub and restaurant
Rooms
The hotel's 74 rooms are equipped with plasma TVs, individual temperature controls and broadband Internet access (fees apply). Several rooms overlook the National Gallery. Each room has three telephones, tea and coffee station and a safe. Room service, concierge, laundry and dry cleaning are also offered.
Features
The O'Callaghan Mont Clare houses a restaurant and bar for guests. The No. 1 Merrion Street Bar is a classic Irish pub serving traditional Irish cuisine to locals and tourists. Goldsmith's Restaurant serves a breakfast buffet daily in a tearoom atmosphere with large windows overlooking Merrion Square.  The hotel offers babysitting service and guests can use the health and fitness facilities of the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel on the other side of the square. Parking is available for a fee.
Transportation
  •  Aircoach stops close to the hotel
  • Steps from Pearse St. train and bus station
  • Taxi service in front of hotel
Attractions
  • National Gallery of Ireland (nearby)
  • National Museum of Ireland--Natural History (nearby)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Centre (nearby)
  • Trinity College (nearby)        
  • Temple Bar (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Dublin Castle (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Christchurch Cathedral (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • 7 meeting spaces can accommodate up to 150 guests
  • State-of-the-art facilities
  •   Catering and banqueting available

O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin Room
Room with one queen bed or 2 single beds. Approximately 20 square meters. Decor is traditional Irish with well-appointed soft furnishings and dark wood. Room includes air conditioning/personal safe/trouser press/cable TV/hairdryer/tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3413 -6.251
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Centrally located within easy walking distance to Grafton Street, which is Dublin's busiest shopping street, approximately 10 minutes walk away. The National History museum and Art gallery are literally a stroll away along with Merrion Square and St Stephen's Green. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.4 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.5 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Number One Bar is relaxing and comfortable in a traditional pub style. It has a very busy carvery lunch served daily and a lounge menu during the evening. The typical Irish pub feel is popular with residents and locals alike.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wishing she could have done more!
Buffalo, NY
May 11, 2009

Nice place to stay but...

The hotel holds 50 Euro a night per room. I was staying for 4 nights, so 200 Euro total. The receptionist told me this AFTER he swiped my credit card. I am American so with the exchange of 38% that should have been about $280. The hotel ended up upcharging that to $617, which except for $100, was all the money I had for the days I was there. So unfortunately I ended up not able to do much of anything that I wanted to do. On my last day I was finally able to talk the receptionist into taking the hold off the money, but it was late, about 3 o'clock in the afternoon, and by that time it was too late to do much sightseeing. I was very upset with the fact that they held so much of my money, especially without discussing it with me first!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Blarney Inn up the street had great music, great Bulmers, and a lot of fun people!

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clemson, SC
Jul 16, 2009

Needs some loving care

While the Mont Clare is in a great location (Merrion Square across the street), it is beginning to show its age. It badly needs attention to address shabbiness. Also, its lobby is very small and not conducive to gathering or escaping the Dublin summer rains. The biggest problem is the staff. While attempting to be accommodating, they lack a lot of necessary knowledge--simple things like how do I get somewhere? What bus stops nearby? How do I get my WiFi connection to work? (Call IT) What are the hours/days the museums are open? What are the hours of the Department of Taoiseach (right down the street)? Is there airport express transport? -All of these were met with a shoulder shrug and in one case, eyerolling--not the greatest reception. Granted, they were mostly kids, but they should know better. And hear this, Dublin: get some bus maps out there! They are not to be found. Also, and I will continue to harp on this, is the fee-based Internet connection. Times have changed, and business travelers as well as holiday makers are using it more and more. It needs to be complimentary, and this trend is starting; however, not so with the Mont Clare. And there were problems getting WiFi to work. I complained so much about it that finally they did comp me for WiFI my 5-day stay. A real delight, though, was the custodial folks. Mostly Eastern European young women, they were totally charming and welcomed any opportunity to practice their English. Apparently, this demographic has become more and more prevalent in the service industry, and they are delightful. The shower curtain was really gross, but when I complained (because I have severe mold allergies), the staff replaced it quickly. I may seem overly critical, but a hotel in this location could and should be a true 4-star. It has the potential, but it will take a lot of work and commitment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the Sunday night show at the Brazen Head. Outstanding! Also, try the breakfast at the National Gallery. They start serving at 9 and the price is great. €5 for a hot breakfast that includes coffee/tea and toast. Much better than the hotel's €17. And the Gallery is 2 minutes down the street.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
...Lauren
Denver, Colorado
Sep 27, 2011

Small and noisy

We stayed in room 252, and we could hear every sound from the street below, including frequent busses and the pedestrian crossing light beeping all night long. The main room and closet were extremely small, and we were tripping over our suitcases. The bathroom was also small, with only enough space to hang 1 towel, even though the room was intended for 2 people. A simple towel hook on the back of the door would have been an easy fix. Wireless internet access was slow as molassses, unreliable, and expensive. The location was excellent, within walking distance to most of Dublin's main points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a large "Kilkenny" store about 4-5 blocks from the hotel, which had beautiful high-quality linens, crystal gifts, and pottery. We loved this store!

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clemson, SC
Jul 16, 2009

Needs some loving care

While the Mont Clare is in a great location (Merrion Square across the street), it is beginning to show its age. It badly needs attention to address shabbiness. Also, its lobby is very small and not conducive to gathering or escaping the Dublin summer rains. The biggest problem is the staff. While attempting to be accommodating, they lack a lot of necessary knowledge--simple things like how do I get somewhere? What bus stops nearby? How do I get my WiFi connection to work? (Call IT) What are the hours/days the museums are open? What are the hours of the Department of Taoiseach (right down the street)? Is there airport express transport? -All of these were met with a shoulder shrug and in one case, eyerolling--not the greatest reception. Granted, they were mostly kids, but they should know better. And hear this, Dublin: get some bus maps out there! They are not to be found. Also, and I will continue to harp on this, is the fee-based Internet connection. Times have changed, and business travelers as well as holiday makers are using it more and more. It needs to be complimentary, and this trend is starting; however, not so with the Mont Clare. And there were problems getting WiFi to work. I complained so much about it that finally they did comp me for WiFI my 5-day stay. A real delight, though, was the custodial folks. Mostly Eastern European young women, they were totally charming and welcomed any opportunity to practice their English. Apparently, this demographic has become more and more prevalent in the service industry, and they are delightful. The shower curtain was really gross, but when I complained (because I have severe mold allergies), the staff replaced it quickly. I may seem overly critical, but a hotel in this location could and should be a true 4-star. It has the potential, but it will take a lot of work and commitment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the Sunday night show at the Brazen Head. Outstanding! Also, try the breakfast at the National Gallery. They start serving at 9 and the price is great. €5 for a hot breakfast that includes coffee/tea and toast. Much better than the hotel's €17. And the Gallery is 2 minutes down the street.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Irelandgirl
California
Aug 29, 2012

Irelandgirl22

Shower was either extremely hot or cold, room was hit and stuffy milk with coffee was bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Irelandgirl
California
Aug 22, 2012

Ok

Grrat location but everything else wasnt great. Shower was awful, either freezing cold or extremely hot, milk provided was old, room was stuffy and hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wishing she could have done more!
Buffalo, NY
May 11, 2009

Nice place to stay but...

The hotel holds 50 Euro a night per room. I was staying for 4 nights, so 200 Euro total. The receptionist told me this AFTER he swiped my credit card. I am American so with the exchange of 38% that should have been about $280. The hotel ended up upcharging that to $617, which except for $100, was all the money I had for the days I was there. So unfortunately I ended up not able to do much of anything that I wanted to do. On my last day I was finally able to talk the receptionist into taking the hold off the money, but it was late, about 3 o'clock in the afternoon, and by that time it was too late to do much sightseeing. I was very upset with the fact that they held so much of my money, especially without discussing it with me first!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Blarney Inn up the street had great music, great Bulmers, and a lot of fun people!

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
...Lauren
Denver, Colorado
Sep 27, 2011

Small and noisy

We stayed in room 252, and we could hear every sound from the street below, including frequent busses and the pedestrian crossing light beeping all night long. The main room and closet were extremely small, and we were tripping over our suitcases. The bathroom was also small, with only enough space to hang 1 towel, even though the room was intended for 2 people. A simple towel hook on the back of the door would have been an easy fix. Wireless internet access was slow as molassses, unreliable, and expensive. The location was excellent, within walking distance to most of Dublin's main points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a large "Kilkenny" store about 4-5 blocks from the hotel, which had beautiful high-quality linens, crystal gifts, and pottery. We loved this store!

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
luckymum3
wicklow,ireland
May 30, 2012

romantic couple city break

I had read previous reviews on the internet, so i was prepared for the fact that the rooms were small, it was not very comfortable as one side of the bed was about a foot from the wall, and my husband found it difficult to move around. But we were still happy enough. I asked at reception if there was a residents bar as, we have not been out together in ages and this was an important break from the kid. I was told it was 24 hours. yet when we came back at 1 am we could not get a drink, and the man in the bar would not look at us. He did not answer or look up from what he was doing. The man at reception finally got us a drink which we had to have up in our room cause the bar was closed. The police were in reception, but we were not told anything just shoved up to bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dublin was Grand
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 9, 2009

Traditional and sufficient

We were in town for vacation and stayed here for just 2 nights. The staff was friendly and the lobby beautiful. The room was a bit tight but we had a big bed (two twins together). The room was adequate for the 2 of us and was a decent price. The air wasn't on - don't know if they didn't have it or if it wasn't working but it was cool enough with the window open. A tad loud b/c we were over the street on a Fri. night. The flat screen TV was probably the newest thing in the room and very nice - clever way to get a wake up call. We didn't use much else but the safe. It was just a couple minutes walk to Grafton St and we could ride the Aircoach from the airport so easy to navigate. We wanted affordable, but nice, and a decent location and I think this fit the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We never ate at the hotel - looked nice but a bit expensive but there were plenty of little market stores and restaurants just around the corner a block or so away.

Back to menu Return to top