$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

4 stars
At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
A Wonderful Weekend

What can I say? Perhaps that I would like to go back to the O'Callaghan Davenport as soon as we... See full review

  • Attilla the Librarian
  • Oct 20, 2014
Historic property with charm and ghosts (maybe)

This hotel was the first "railway" hotel and is supposed to be haunted--no ghosts for me but it was... See full review

  • Nianqua
  • Jul 6, 2014
Deluxe accommodations in one of Dublin’s best addresses
The O'Callaghan Davenport, housed in a former church, is situated in one of Dublin's most impressive Georgian areas surrounded by the National Gallery, Natural History Museum and steps from the architecturally stunning Merrion Square. The hotel's beautiful facade is complemented by interior accents of polished wood, marble and leather which make the Davenport a refined choice for travelers. Spacious guest rooms have recently been decorated in warm tones of cream and mahogany and include luxurious touches like cashmere throws and plush bedding.
Highlights
  • Historic facade in one of Dublin's stateliest areas, minutes from attractions and shopping
  • Newly decorated rooms feature little luxuries such as cashmere throws and cozy duvets
  • President's Bar and Lanyon Restaurant offer fine dining and refreshments until late
Rooms
The hotel's 114 rooms include 10 junior suites and two one-bedroom suites. All rooms have recently been decorated in cream and mahogany tones and feature Sealy mattresses and luxury bedding with cashmere throws by Foxford of County Mayo. European and North American electrical outlets, TV, personal safe, three telephones per room, work desk, tea and coffee station, garment-care unit featuring trouser press, iron, and ironing board are all included. Broadband, wired and wireless Internet access is available.
Features
The President's Bar and Lanyon restaurant offer a dark-wood-paneled refuge from the hurly-burly of modern Dublin. The President's Bar has a snack menu and the Lanyon offers full breakfast daily, as well as a sophisticated menu and wine list appreciated by guests and locals alike. A 24-hour fitness room, business center and private dining rooms are available. Car parking is available (fees apply) and babysitting services can be arranged for those travelling with children.
Transportation
  • Aircoach stops close to hotel
  • Short walk to both tram lines and to the city's bus and train service
  • Taxi service in front of hotel
Attractions
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • National Museum of Ireland--Natural History
  • Temple Bar
  • Christchurch Cathedral
  • St. Stephen's Green Park
  • Trinity College
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Centre
Business
  • Four meeting spaces
  • 24-hour business center
  • Boardroom features library-like setting with high-tech amenities
  • Broadband Internet access
  • Satellite link available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel Rooms

Twin room or double room
The room offers 2 single beds or 1 double bed which includes air conditioning, ironing board, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, personal safe, hairdryer, wired and fixed broadband, North American and European built in plug sockets and cable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.3 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.4 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
This charming Dublin restaurant is named after a famous architect, Sir Charles Lanyon. Like the historic faade of this Dublin hotel, Lanyons exudes an old world, traditional charm. This is a very stylish restaurant, serving top class international cuisine. A real favourite among local Dubliners.
Bar
Presidents Bar is a very popular choice to relax and enjoy a drink from the bar or a snack from bar menu available all day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 93
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nianqua
Business
Maryland
Jul 6, 2014

Historic property with charm and ghosts (maybe)

This hotel was the first "railway" hotel and is supposed to be haunted--no ghosts for me but it was really great to stay in the historic property in such a comfortable bed. If you are coming from the London area and taking the train to catch the ferry to Dublin, I highly recommend staying here and exploring Chester as a side trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the tour of Chester in the old bus--very fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L to the B
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 23, 2013

O'Callaghan Davenport

For those looking for a hotel in a quite neighborhood setting within a 5 minute walking distant to the bustle of downtown Dublin. There were 2 local pubs (O'Donoghue's and the pub across the street) that make you feel like a local and have the best fish n chips, also a local start up with great sandwiches and a fine line of local start up brewery beers in bottle's. The room was comfortable, clean and had all that this traveler needed. I will stay the next time I am in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Chap from the States
Business
Los Angeles
May 11, 2012

Great location, needs some work

A short walk to Trinity College and many other sights. That's the best thing. The rooms themselves need updating. Cleanliness can be stepped up (had to call to have sheets changed) Water pressure in shower great -- but where are the washcloths? Bed is extremely firm. I like to wind down at night by watching a little tv. Half the stations listed were not available. And although it was a flat screen -- no high def.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola Marie
Business
california
Mar 31, 2012

great price during the off season

a better deal during the off season for sure, it can be pricey during the high season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 2, 2012

Great location. Warm staff.

I stayed over the holidays and the staff could not be more accomodating. Check in was very efficient and they offered my room early a my flight came in mid morning. I knew in advance that there were no washcloths nor alarm clock. So I brought my own. There is a tv alarm that's very dependable. The wall has a built in converter - I could plug in my US curling iron and digital camera charger easily. Water pressure was amazing in the shower. Doesn't have a convenience store for snacks or toiletries. Hotel is a bit off the path. But everything I needed was within a short walk. Bed was very comfy; small but adequate fitness room; breakfast not included- that would have been nice. Had blowdryer and iron in room; coffee was instant but tea was amazing! Close to everything! I would stay with this brand again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop-on-Hop-off buses pick up just near the hotel. I recommend it to get your bearings. Aircoach for 8 euros picks up and drops off less than a block from the hotel. Irish countryside tours (Cliffs of Moher) could be picked up at tourist info center close by. Was disapponted that the Book of Kells was closed for 10 days over the holidays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 8, 2011

O'Callaghan Davenport

Did lots of sightseeing around Dublin and other locations in Ireland. A few things missing that would suggest the hotel consider: I inquired to obtain a washcloth for my room. The staff at the hotel informed me that they do not have washcloths available, but did mention that most of their guests from the U.S. ask for the same thing. If the request is repeated and repeated, but goes unanswered, is the hotel management listening to their customers. I stay in a lot of Hilton properties and my experience has been that even if they cannot accommodate the request, they certainly would have provided a better customer service response or made an attempt to satisfy versus a yeah, we get that all the time reply. A clock in the room and pen and paper would have been items of convenience. Not sure if the front desk staff were doubling as concierge staff and was not clear if there even was a concierge. Did not have bell service either. Having traveled to Europe previously, I was pleasantly surprised that the room size was larger than I would expect. The bedding and pillows were very comfortable. One thing that was highly convenient was that the electrical outlets accomodated US appliances. However, there was no outlet in the bathroom for a hairdryer. I debated whether to bring my hairdryer and was glad that I did, because the one in the room was some odd wall mount that looked like it was from the 1970s. I did not attempt to even figure it out. One thing that might be suggested to the staff to mention to guests before they head up to their room for the first time is that guests need to place their key card into a wall slot in order to activate the lights. The choices here say yes or no if you would recommend. I cannot say that I would entirely not recommend, but with advisory as to what to expect. For someone who was basically out of their room for the majority of the time, it was ok. Be prepared for a hefty daily internet access fee of 12 euros per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located close enough for one to walk to Trinity College, Stephens Green. There are also several attractions within one block of the hotel such as national history museum. Taxis are always available outside the hotel. The Dublin Sightseeing city hop on, hop off bus stop is also just a few steps from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 29, 2010

very convenient location

3 and a half stars; good room, competent staff. When you add the cost of breakfast (not included) it does not make this as good a deal as I thought. Also lost a star because the restaurant dinner should be avoided--stayed in my first night because of wind and rain and was served a plate of gray food--it is fine for a drink or a sandwich.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Farm--very filling, wholesome food. Also a couple blocks south of The Farm is a very nice place for coffee and scones, cakes, etc. I think it's called The Library (anyway, there is a library inside).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilton, CT
Oct 15, 2010

comfortable but no dining

Great location for central city sight-seeing, but marred by lack of a restaurant. Breakfast was served in a dining room but was only buffet style, and that food was poor in quality. No lunch or dinner. Too expensive for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Trinity University and Book of Kells exhibit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 22, 2010

Great Stay

The hotel was a great location, in Dublin without being in the super crowded areaas. It was clean, the rooms were comfortable and the shower was lovely. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The National Gallery is only a couple blocks away and free. Definitely go and check out the Irish art.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Jul 25, 2009

Terrific hotel choice for Dublin

The Davenport was a perfect place for me to stay, it was far enough away from the Temple Bar madness but close enough to transportation and sights that I could walk most places or get there easily with transport connections. The room was comfortable and spacious, quiet at night. I was able to check in early and the staff was helpful with my questions about getting around. There was even free internet access, not something you see a lot in hotels these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take the Air Coach from the airport and are pressed for time on the way back, walk to the Suffolk Street or Dawson Street stops and save yourself 20+ minutes as the bus is still dropping off passengers at the Merrion Square stop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top