$155 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

4 stars
At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
110 reviews
Historic property with charm and ghosts (maybe)

This hotel was the first "railway" hotel and is supposed to be haunted--no ghosts for me but it was... See full review

  • Nianqua
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great visit.

When my husband and I stayed at O'Callaghan Davenport, the hotel was under construction but we were... See full review

  • Liani
  • Apr 10, 2014
Deluxe accommodations in one of Dublin’s best addresses
The O'Callaghan Davenport, housed in a former church, is situated in one of Dublin's most impressive Georgian areas surrounded by the National Gallery, Natural History Museum and steps from the architecturally stunning Merrion Square. The hotel's beautiful facade is complemented by interior accents of polished wood, marble and leather which make the Davenport a refined choice for travelers. Spacious guest rooms have recently been decorated in warm tones of cream and mahogany and include luxurious touches like cashmere throws and plush bedding.
Highlights
  • Historic facade in one of Dublin's stateliest areas, minutes from attractions and shopping
  • Newly decorated rooms feature little luxuries such as cashmere throws and cozy duvets
  • President's Bar and Lanyon Restaurant offer fine dining and refreshments until late
Rooms
The hotel's 114 rooms include 10 junior suites and two one-bedroom suites. All rooms have recently been decorated in cream and mahogany tones and feature Sealy mattresses and luxury bedding with cashmere throws by Foxford of County Mayo. European and North American electrical outlets, TV, personal safe, three telephones per room, work desk, tea and coffee station, garment-care unit featuring trouser press, iron, and ironing board are all included. Broadband, wired and wireless Internet access is available.
Features
The President's Bar and Lanyon restaurant offer a dark-wood-paneled refuge from the hurly-burly of modern Dublin. The President's Bar has a snack menu and the Lanyon offers full breakfast daily, as well as a sophisticated menu and wine list appreciated by guests and locals alike. A 24-hour fitness room, business center and private dining rooms are available. Car parking is available (fees apply) and babysitting services can be arranged for those travelling with children.
Transportation
  • Aircoach stops close to hotel
  • Short walk to both tram lines and to the city's bus and train service
  • Taxi service in front of hotel
Attractions
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • National Museum of Ireland--Natural History
  • Temple Bar
  • Christchurch Cathedral
  • St. Stephen's Green Park
  • Trinity College
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Centre
Business
  • Four meeting spaces
  • 24-hour business center
  • Boardroom features library-like setting with high-tech amenities
  • Broadband Internet access
  • Satellite link available

Hotel Map

53.3415 -6.2501
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Dublin is ultimately a vibrant city of contrasts and leaves an indelible memory in the minds of many visitors. The O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel is located in Dublin City's Georgian Merrion Square, ideal for Dublin shopping as it is within strolling distance of the renowned Grafton Street area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel Rooms

Twin room or double room
The room offers 2 single beds or 1 double bed which includes air conditioning, ironing board, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, personal safe, hairdryer, wired and fixed broadband, North American and European built in plug sockets and cable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.3 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.4 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.5 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
This charming Dublin restaurant is named after a famous architect, Sir Charles Lanyon. Like the historic faade of this Dublin hotel, Lanyons exudes an old world, traditional charm. This is a very stylish restaurant, serving top class international cuisine. A real favourite among local Dubliners.
Bar
Presidents Bar is a very popular choice to relax and enjoy a drink from the bar or a snack from bar menu available all day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 110
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gaz1
Business
scotland
Mar 23, 2014

nice tidy hotel

This is a nice hotel well within walking distance of the Town Centre. Very. Friendly staff who were glad to help. I never ate in the hotel therefore cannot comment on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Look at hiring a bike to tour this fabulous city

Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cappa1500
Business
Waterford Ireland
Feb 16, 2014

A very comfortable stay

The room was large and clean with a fantastic bed . The room and location can not be faulted. The free wifi was adequate as I only needed 10 minutes . The reception staff were just ok . I didn't get one word from the front desk as I dropped my key in the morning . Perhaps it's me but why can't any irish hotel have an irish receptionist ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexa the queen
Business
new york, NY
Jun 7, 2012

old classy hotel

The hotel has an old classy charm in its appearance, and the staffs were very polite, classy, and pleasant. One thing I found very annoying was the faucets in the bathroom, which consist of two separate outlets for cold water and hot water, and they were far apart, so it was not possible to adjust the water temperature. (unless you mix hot water and cold water in the basin) Because the hot water was too. hot, and I didn't want to use water trapped in the basin, I ended up using only the cold water which was darn too cold. Other than the separate faucet piping problem, the rest was good. I liked the bed & bedding, and the breakfast buffet was pretty good. The options for room service is very limited, but the food tasted very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Roanoke, va
Jan 31, 2011

dublin hotel

good location. polite staff. knowledgable front desk - great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hopon-hopoff bus for site seeing

Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay area, ca
Dec 28, 2010

Vintage and clean

Was a good hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Free LAN was very appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent biz traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 5, 2010

Pleasant surprise

Nice size room, comfortable bed. They were able to check me in early - very nice after a very long flight. I was expecting a lower quality hotel at this price - so I was pleasantly surprised. Staff was very helpful. The location is good nice - close enough to Trinity, Grafton, Temple Bar to walk within 15 minutes or less. Also close to Pearson St train station in case you want to take a day trip along the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hugo's - nicer restaurant - about 20Euros for 2 courses. Also Foley's for a pub experience.

Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
student attending conference at Trinity
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 22, 2009

absolutely great!

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They were even able to check me into my room when I arrived at 11am, even though the normal check-in isn't until 2. Very clean, quiet, and had every amenity I needed. Rooms were very spacious. They wanted to charge 12euro/day for internet access, but it's free from their lobby or business center computers so I just used that. Only other downside was how expensive the hotel restaurant was; even the breakfast buffet was 17euro so I ate elsewhere. Other than that, not a single complaint. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 21, 2009

Good experience

Big, bright rooms with most amenities, in great location. Expensive WiFi., 2 faucet bathroom sinks (I guess you mix the water in the sink) Overall nice. 10 minutes from Trinity College and shopping/pubs area. Would visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jamaica man
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 2, 2009

Don't expect too much

There were several problems during my stay- the heat was not working after the first night, they gave me a small space heater, but it was not the same. The wireless does not work well during the day (only after 11pm or before 7am when fewer people are on the system), toilets don't flush properly. This was my first stay in Dublin, I expected it would be similar to the UK but was extremely disappointed. Perhaps the hotel is fine compared to others in the city, I'm not sure, but it isn't what I expected for 4 stars. I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford
Dec 23, 2008

Recommend for a Dublin Break

Great location, excelent rooms good breakfast, staff very helpful. Take a walk in Merrion Square just across the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search