$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

4 stars
View map of At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rbgator
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Aug 24, 2009

NICE STAY

Hotel was in a great neighborhood, close to museums, Trinity college and bus stops. Coffee shops across the street so you don't need the hotel breakfast. If you don't bring a computer, the lobby has one available for use. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommend the comedy club at the International bar and a great Italian dinner at Pacino's on Suffolk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling_Chica123
Business
Macomb, Michigan
Aug 24, 2009

Novel but not worth the price. . .

It has a pretty good location right in the center of Dublin, only a couple blocks away from Trinity college and St Stephen's Green. The fee for using the internet is a little pricey, about $18 per day, but the room I had came with an American outlet, so if you forgot your power converter, you are covered. If you are expecting something similar to stays in American hotels, look elsewhere, it is definitely not an Americanized hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Street signs in Ireland are hard to find or simply not there. When in Dublin, look on the sides of buildings at the street corner and farther out in the country at major cross streets there is usually a big post with half a dozen road and direction signs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mandapanda0713
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 24, 2009

It was ok

The room was nice and very clean. Room service was great, but some of the staff was rude and unhelpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnnie q
Business
scranto,pa
Aug 21, 2009

supercalafragicexpealidocious

THIS was our first trip. . I put this together for us..THE HOTEL WAS FANTASTIC...CENTRALLY LOCATED TO ALL TOURIST ATTRACTIONS VIA HOP ON HOP OFF OR WALKING TOURS....THE SHOPPES ON NASSAU ST WERE PERFECT AND THE DISCOUNT AFFORDED BY THE DUBLIN PASS AND VAT TAX ON LARGE PURCHASES AFORRDED ME MANY DISCOUNTS SHOPPING THE HOTEL WAS THE BEST. MY ONLY COMPARISON IS TO THE CLARENCE HOTEL WHERE MY WIFE AND I ATTENDED A HIGH TEA..WHILE THE CLARENCE IS ALSO CONSIDERED A LUXURY HOTEL IT DOES NOT COMPARE TO THE DAVENPORT IN BEAUTY OR CLOSENESS TO WALKING TO GRAFTON ST..ST STEPENS SQ..GAIETY THEATER..TRINITY COLLEGE...NATIONAL MUSEUM AND OTHER ATTRACTIONS. THE SERVICE PROVIDED BY MY HOTEL IN BOOKING AN EXTRA SIDE TRIP TO THE RING OF KERRY WAS EFFICIENT. I WOULD ONLY ADD ONE THING THE HOTEL SHOULD ADVISE THEIR GUESTS THAT A DART STATION IS CLOSE BY AT PEARSE ST AND THAT THE FARMERS MARKET AT HOATH IS AVAILABLE ON SUNDAYS AND FOR 8 40 EURO FOR TWO PEOPLE IS WELL WORTH THE 30 MIN. TRIP OUT AND BACK..MY THANKS TO MARTIN,JOHN,JENNIFER AND ESPECIALLY TO GARETH FOR MAKING MY STAY EXTREMELY WONDERFUL..TO MY FRIENDLY CAB DRIVERS TOM MAGUIRE,BRIAN KELLY,JOHN HARRISON,DAVE O CONNELL,SHANE MURRAY,THOMAS CAFFERTY THANK YOU FOR YOUR KINDNESS...ONE LAST THING WHILE IN DUBLIN IF AnYONE HAS THE OPPURTUNITY AND YOU LIKE JAZZ PLEASE TAKE TIME TO VISIT JJ SYMTHES CLUB AND SAY HIGH TO EAMON FOR ME....JOHN HEALEY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

remember to ask about vat tax

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Good Location-but smoky hotel!

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. However the hotel hallways and rooms smell of smoke even in the non-smoking areas. The hotel offered free internet (lifesaver) and it is close to pubs, restaruants, shopping, bus lines, and a cute little park to walk or exercise at. Overall it is a pretty good hotel- especially if you are only there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you check out Temple bar area but stick to the pubs in other areas- they are just as fun and much cheaper. Also take a day trip to Belfast, Londonderry, and the rope bridge (paddywagon trip)--- skip the trip to Wicklow- its not that thrilling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Aug 3, 2009

Dublin

First time to Dublin, loved the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 3, 2009

Good Times in Dublin for all...

The Davenport made for a great central location that allowed us to leave our things as went about our day trips around the countryside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local Coffee (West Cost Coffee) house is a much better option then the hotel's Irish Continental Breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Jul 25, 2009

Terrific hotel choice for Dublin

The Davenport was a perfect place for me to stay, it was far enough away from the Temple Bar madness but close enough to transportation and sights that I could walk most places or get there easily with transport connections. The room was comfortable and spacious, quiet at night. I was able to check in early and the staff was helpful with my questions about getting around. There was even free internet access, not something you see a lot in hotels these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take the Air Coach from the airport and are pressed for time on the way back, walk to the Suffolk Street or Dawson Street stops and save yourself 20+ minutes as the bus is still dropping off passengers at the Merrion Square stop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helena Montana
Jul 24, 2009

Great location, good beds

The location was excellent. Within walking distance to everywhere. Good Pubs near by. Great resturants nearby. Free use of the computer was terrific. My husband like the workout room. An excellent all around hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A wonderful hotel to stay in after a long flight. No stess with check in, wour room was ready and a welcome sight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
student attending conference at Trinity
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 22, 2009

absolutely great!

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They were even able to check me into my room when I arrived at 11am, even though the normal check-in isn't until 2. Very clean, quiet, and had every amenity I needed. Rooms were very spacious. They wanted to charge 12euro/day for internet access, but it's free from their lobby or business center computers so I just used that. Only other downside was how expensive the hotel restaurant was; even the breakfast buffet was 17euro so I ate elsewhere. Other than that, not a single complaint. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top