$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

4 stars
At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
A Wonderful Weekend

What can I say? Perhaps that I would like to go back to the O'Callaghan Davenport as soon as we... See full review

  • Attilla the Librarian
  • Oct 20, 2014
Historic property with charm and ghosts (maybe)

This hotel was the first "railway" hotel and is supposed to be haunted--no ghosts for me but it was... See full review

  • Nianqua
  • Jul 6, 2014
Deluxe accommodations in one of Dublin’s best addresses
The O'Callaghan Davenport, housed in a former church, is situated in one of Dublin's most impressive Georgian areas surrounded by the National Gallery, Natural History Museum and steps from the architecturally stunning Merrion Square. The hotel's beautiful facade is complemented by interior accents of polished wood, marble and leather which make the Davenport a refined choice for travelers. Spacious guest rooms have recently been decorated in warm tones of cream and mahogany and include luxurious touches like cashmere throws and plush bedding.
Highlights
  • Historic facade in one of Dublin's stateliest areas, minutes from attractions and shopping
  • Newly decorated rooms feature little luxuries such as cashmere throws and cozy duvets
  • President's Bar and Lanyon Restaurant offer fine dining and refreshments until late
Rooms
The hotel's 114 rooms include 10 junior suites and two one-bedroom suites. All rooms have recently been decorated in cream and mahogany tones and feature Sealy mattresses and luxury bedding with cashmere throws by Foxford of County Mayo. European and North American electrical outlets, TV, personal safe, three telephones per room, work desk, tea and coffee station, garment-care unit featuring trouser press, iron, and ironing board are all included. Broadband, wired and wireless Internet access is available.
Features
The President's Bar and Lanyon restaurant offer a dark-wood-paneled refuge from the hurly-burly of modern Dublin. The President's Bar has a snack menu and the Lanyon offers full breakfast daily, as well as a sophisticated menu and wine list appreciated by guests and locals alike. A 24-hour fitness room, business center and private dining rooms are available. Car parking is available (fees apply) and babysitting services can be arranged for those travelling with children.
Transportation
  • Aircoach stops close to hotel
  • Short walk to both tram lines and to the city's bus and train service
  • Taxi service in front of hotel
Attractions
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • National Museum of Ireland--Natural History
  • Temple Bar
  • Christchurch Cathedral
  • St. Stephen's Green Park
  • Trinity College
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Centre
Business
  • Four meeting spaces
  • 24-hour business center
  • Boardroom features library-like setting with high-tech amenities
  • Broadband Internet access
  • Satellite link available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel Rooms

Twin room or double room
The room offers 2 single beds or 1 double bed which includes air conditioning, ironing board, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, personal safe, hairdryer, wired and fixed broadband, North American and European built in plug sockets and cable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.3 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.4 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
This charming Dublin restaurant is named after a famous architect, Sir Charles Lanyon. Like the historic faade of this Dublin hotel, Lanyons exudes an old world, traditional charm. This is a very stylish restaurant, serving top class international cuisine. A real favourite among local Dubliners.
Bar
Presidents Bar is a very popular choice to relax and enjoy a drink from the bar or a snack from bar menu available all day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mandapanda0713
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 24, 2009

It was ok

The room was nice and very clean. Room service was great, but some of the staff was rude and unhelpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling_Chica123
Business
Macomb, Michigan
Aug 24, 2009

Novel but not worth the price. . .

It has a pretty good location right in the center of Dublin, only a couple blocks away from Trinity college and St Stephen's Green. The fee for using the internet is a little pricey, about $18 per day, but the room I had came with an American outlet, so if you forgot your power converter, you are covered. If you are expecting something similar to stays in American hotels, look elsewhere, it is definitely not an Americanized hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Street signs in Ireland are hard to find or simply not there. When in Dublin, look on the sides of buildings at the street corner and farther out in the country at major cross streets there is usually a big post with half a dozen road and direction signs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnnie q
Business
scranto,pa
Aug 21, 2009

supercalafragicexpealidocious

THIS was our first trip. . I put this together for us..THE HOTEL WAS FANTASTIC...CENTRALLY LOCATED TO ALL TOURIST ATTRACTIONS VIA HOP ON HOP OFF OR WALKING TOURS....THE SHOPPES ON NASSAU ST WERE PERFECT AND THE DISCOUNT AFFORDED BY THE DUBLIN PASS AND VAT TAX ON LARGE PURCHASES AFORRDED ME MANY DISCOUNTS SHOPPING THE HOTEL WAS THE BEST. MY ONLY COMPARISON IS TO THE CLARENCE HOTEL WHERE MY WIFE AND I ATTENDED A HIGH TEA..WHILE THE CLARENCE IS ALSO CONSIDERED A LUXURY HOTEL IT DOES NOT COMPARE TO THE DAVENPORT IN BEAUTY OR CLOSENESS TO WALKING TO GRAFTON ST..ST STEPENS SQ..GAIETY THEATER..TRINITY COLLEGE...NATIONAL MUSEUM AND OTHER ATTRACTIONS. THE SERVICE PROVIDED BY MY HOTEL IN BOOKING AN EXTRA SIDE TRIP TO THE RING OF KERRY WAS EFFICIENT. I WOULD ONLY ADD ONE THING THE HOTEL SHOULD ADVISE THEIR GUESTS THAT A DART STATION IS CLOSE BY AT PEARSE ST AND THAT THE FARMERS MARKET AT HOATH IS AVAILABLE ON SUNDAYS AND FOR 8 40 EURO FOR TWO PEOPLE IS WELL WORTH THE 30 MIN. TRIP OUT AND BACK..MY THANKS TO MARTIN,JOHN,JENNIFER AND ESPECIALLY TO GARETH FOR MAKING MY STAY EXTREMELY WONDERFUL..TO MY FRIENDLY CAB DRIVERS TOM MAGUIRE,BRIAN KELLY,JOHN HARRISON,DAVE O CONNELL,SHANE MURRAY,THOMAS CAFFERTY THANK YOU FOR YOUR KINDNESS...ONE LAST THING WHILE IN DUBLIN IF AnYONE HAS THE OPPURTUNITY AND YOU LIKE JAZZ PLEASE TAKE TIME TO VISIT JJ SYMTHES CLUB AND SAY HIGH TO EAMON FOR ME....JOHN HEALEY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

remember to ask about vat tax

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Good Location-but smoky hotel!

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. However the hotel hallways and rooms smell of smoke even in the non-smoking areas. The hotel offered free internet (lifesaver) and it is close to pubs, restaruants, shopping, bus lines, and a cute little park to walk or exercise at. Overall it is a pretty good hotel- especially if you are only there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you check out Temple bar area but stick to the pubs in other areas- they are just as fun and much cheaper. Also take a day trip to Belfast, Londonderry, and the rope bridge (paddywagon trip)--- skip the trip to Wicklow- its not that thrilling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 3, 2009

Good Times in Dublin for all...

The Davenport made for a great central location that allowed us to leave our things as went about our day trips around the countryside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local Coffee (West Cost Coffee) house is a much better option then the hotel's Irish Continental Breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Aug 3, 2009

Dublin

First time to Dublin, loved the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Jul 25, 2009

Terrific hotel choice for Dublin

The Davenport was a perfect place for me to stay, it was far enough away from the Temple Bar madness but close enough to transportation and sights that I could walk most places or get there easily with transport connections. The room was comfortable and spacious, quiet at night. I was able to check in early and the staff was helpful with my questions about getting around. There was even free internet access, not something you see a lot in hotels these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take the Air Coach from the airport and are pressed for time on the way back, walk to the Suffolk Street or Dawson Street stops and save yourself 20+ minutes as the bus is still dropping off passengers at the Merrion Square stop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helena Montana
Jul 24, 2009

Great location, good beds

The location was excellent. Within walking distance to everywhere. Good Pubs near by. Great resturants nearby. Free use of the computer was terrific. My husband like the workout room. An excellent all around hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A wonderful hotel to stay in after a long flight. No stess with check in, wour room was ready and a welcome sight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
student attending conference at Trinity
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 22, 2009

absolutely great!

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They were even able to check me into my room when I arrived at 11am, even though the normal check-in isn't until 2. Very clean, quiet, and had every amenity I needed. Rooms were very spacious. They wanted to charge 12euro/day for internet access, but it's free from their lobby or business center computers so I just used that. Only other downside was how expensive the hotel restaurant was; even the breakfast buffet was 17euro so I ate elsewhere. Other than that, not a single complaint. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Jul 18, 2009

worked well for us

the service was great - we arrived much earlier than the regular check-in time but we were able to get into our room immediately, which was a huge convenience. would have liked a place to keep food as it was expensive to eat there. but it was very comfortable and a great location - close to the train and w/in walking distance of everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top