$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

4 stars
View map of At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roanoke
Business
Roanoke, VA
Aug 29, 2010

Nice Place

This was a nice hotel at a great place, convenient to St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College and so on. The outside looked kind of rough, but it's just because it is a historic building. The inside was beautiful, and the rooms were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I visited the Book of Kells... totally worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 22, 2010

Great Stay

The hotel was a great location, in Dublin without being in the super crowded areaas. It was clean, the rooms were comfortable and the shower was lovely. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The National Gallery is only a couple blocks away and free. Definitely go and check out the Irish art.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Charles
Business
Mount Dora, FL
Jul 25, 2010

Davenport Hotel, Dublin

Great location. Helpful staff. Will recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jul 23, 2010

good hotel

nice hotel, good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 6, 2010

A Classic Oasis in a bustling City

We took the aircoach in from the airport and were dropped off at the corner of the hotel...couldn't have been more convenient! The staff was friendly, all my pre-requests were met and our room was lovely. It was exceptionally clean and in a perfect location for our needs. After a long day of shopping and sightseeing it was a perfect sanctuary. We would recommend this hotel for it's safety, location and professionalism of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk to Grafton Street and Trinity College. It's a lovely looking structure and a quiet oasis in a busy city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wmm
Business
okc
Mar 21, 2010

close to many highligts of dublin

hotel is on airport bus route ,very close to trinity college ,very close to hop on tour busses,2 blocks from national gallery, 6 blocks from grafton street,across from merrion square,very convient. clean rooms,best hot water shower i have had in europe,4 euro pints of guiness in the bar.a true 4 star hotel. no complaints,friendly helpfull staff,breakfast buffet 12 euro, but 2 breakfast places across the street as well as a subway,6 pubs within 3 blocks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckmulligan
Business
New London CT
Dec 22, 2009

Excellent value

Of my four visits to Dublin, this was clearly the best hotel I've stayed at by far. As indicated, this is an excellent location, very near the toney part of town. The only downside was noise from the bar across the street, though it was winter and we were on the fourth floor so it was not a major problem, in summer and a lower floor could be probelmatic for those turning in before midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Both the buffet breakfast and the hotel restaurant were good values with excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 2, 2009

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

We chose this hotel for it's location and reasonable price, but ended up being very happy with it overall. While clearly an older hotel, it's very well maintained and still has an air of class and elegance. Our room was small (typical for Europe) but well appointed and quite clean. The staff was polite and helpful. The location is great, close to bus & train transport, and there always seemed to be at least one taxi waiting out front. It's also within easy walking distance of many Dublin attractions, including Trinity College and Temple Bar. One minor letdown was the business center...a small room at the end of the hall with a single antiquated computer and printer. We attempted to use the computer to check email, but got all kinds of virus popups and warnings. No way we were trusting our passwords (let alone CC numbers!) to that thing. We quite enjoyed our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend The O'Callaghan to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pollitt
Business
Louisville, KY
Nov 30, 2009

Davenport was very nice

Great place--very clean and nice. Good breakfast. Staff was tolerably friendly, and rooms were clean and well appointed. Bed was not the most comfortable[...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 15, 2009

Great Location - Good Value

The Davenport is in a great location, near Grafton Street, Temple Bar and St. Stephen's Green but far enough to be quiet. Hotel room was large by European standards, basically the size of a US hotel room. Staff was helpful enough. Only negative was that the restaurant service was horribly slow, but we only ate there once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top