$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

4 stars
View map of At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AbZz
Business
Staffordshire
Nov 27, 2013

Special Birthday Celebration

Fabulous weekend from start to finish the hotel and its location added to the overall experience. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly nothing seemed to much trouble for them and our room was ready when we arrived at 10am. The room was booked for 3 and was a great sized room with good facilities. We'd certainly use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys Restaurent in Grafton Street is well worth a visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L to the B
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 23, 2013

O'Callaghan Davenport

For those looking for a hotel in a quite neighborhood setting within a 5 minute walking distant to the bustle of downtown Dublin. There were 2 local pubs (O'Donoghue's and the pub across the street) that make you feel like a local and have the best fish n chips, also a local start up with great sandwiches and a fine line of local start up brewery beers in bottle's. The room was comfortable, clean and had all that this traveler needed. I will stay the next time I am in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandmanan
Business
Englewood FL US
Jul 25, 2013

Wonderful

Staying at the ocallaghan davenport hotel was great. It iepitomized all we'd thought of Ireland--friendly, comfortable, clean, wholesome, and solid like the sherry Netherlands of New York in the 50s. Location couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to st Stephens park and delightful national gallery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
McLeer
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jun 20, 2013

Family Vacation

Very happy with the size of the room, much larger than expected. Had a queen and twin size bed, sitting area and still had room to move around. Was able to walk to many of the things we wanted to see and short cab rides to the ones we did not. We will go back to this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pubs and cafe across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traci S.
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 17, 2013

Great place!

We got a great deal & stayed for 3 nights. Walkable to everywhere. Staff was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas family of 4
Business
Vernon, TX
Mar 17, 2013

Great Vacation

The hotel is very nice and the staff was very helful and friendly. The only criticism I have is that the hot and cold water faucets are separate and that makes it difficult to wash hands and face, but it seemed to be that way in a lot of places in Ireland. Also, the parking is not very close and costs. On the whole though, I reccomend this hotel - good location and very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car in Dublin! If you need one to travel outside of Dublin, ok, but save your money! We got taken with the cost of the car insurance and it is VERY difficult to drive in Dublin - windy one way streets! And don't forget, they drive on the other side - walk instead - it's a definite time saver as well as not nearly as stressful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rodrigo76
Business
San Jose, CA
Mar 2, 2013

Fun weekend in Dublin, but...

Staff was great, very friendly and helpful; especially in helping sign up for the PAID wifi which was problematic, expensive, and very slow :( Not their fault. That's on management! Management: Offer free, competitively-performing wifi if you want more goodwill -- your staff is working hard to cultivate it; what are you doing to help them? That's the question a leader asks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shana2581
Business
NJ
Feb 19, 2013

Adequate hotel with some good staff

The hotel is centrally located and most of the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I did encounter one rude friend desk clerk but this was made up by another front desk staff who went out of his way to help us book theater tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnieB
Business
Yorkshire UK
Feb 12, 2013

Great location

We had an excellent experience at O Callaghan Davenport and would definitely recommend it and stay again. Staff so helpful and would recommend junior suites and breakfast. Made a good Dublin weekend even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SUZI Q
Business
Blyth Northumberland
Feb 1, 2013

Dublin virgins

A lovely well furnished hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were large, huge beds, table,chairs coffee making, tv, and large sliding wardrobes . Bathroom clean and spacious, with hairdryer, mirrors and toiletries. Ordered room service on one evening and was surprised with the size of portions and time it took. The breakfast was a variety of choice, cooked, pastries, fruits, meats, cereals and juices. Only negative was that for the price I feel breakfast should have been included in the cost and not to be paid for extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top