$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

4 stars
At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
60 reviews
Vert good

Room was very nice, but located at the back on the hotel it was very noisy from outside. We were... See full review

  • Suej
  • Aug 27, 2013
Great location

I thought it was a really cool part of town, but quiet enough that I could enjoy a good night's sleep. See full review

  • Jetsetter5555
  • May 17, 2013
Eye-catching hotel with deluxe touches near Grafton Street

Large bay windows and a spacious lobby greet guests at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, tucked away in the heart of Dublin, a short walk from the bustling Grafton Street and Temple Bar districts. The popular Winner's Bar and Caravaggio Restaurant provide in-house refreshments and libations throughout the day. Rooms decorated in warm cream and chocolate tones create a relaxing atmosphere with perks like cashmere throws and cozy duvets in every room.

Highlights
  • Recently refurbished guest rooms include orthopedic mattresses and cashmere throws
  • Stroll to Dublin's main attractions such as Trinity College, Temple Bar and Grafton Street
  • 24-hour business center and gym access
Rooms

Recently refurbished, guest rooms decorated in cream and warm chocolate hues provide comforts such as orthopedic mattresses, cozy duvets and cashmere throws. Amenities include plasma TV, broadband Internet access and U.S. and European plug sockets. The hotel's round stone tower means striking circular living rooms in hotel suites.

Features
The round stone tower that adorns the facade of O'Callaghan Alexander provides large bay windows that look out onto the street. The hotel is a short walk to many of Dublin's highlights, including the historic Trinity College and Temple Bar's amazing nightlife. Winner's Bar is popular among local office workers and serves traditional bar food and drinks in a laid-back atmosphere. The comfortable Caravaggio's Restaurant overlooks the hotel's hopping lobby area and serves breakfast and dinner. A 24-hour business center and gym are also available. Guests travelling with children can arrange babysitting services in advance.
Transportation
  • Aircoach stop close to hotel
  • Taxi service outside
  • Pearse Street DART station (5 minute walk)
  • Car park available (book in advance, fees apply)
Attractions
  • Merrion Square
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Temple Bar
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Dublin Castle
Business
  • Dedicated conference and banquet team on staff
  • Conference facilities for up to 400 guests
  • Internet access
  • 24-hour business center
  • Audiovisual equipment including projector and screen, microphone, TV and video
  • presentation facilities, overhead camera and slide projector, PA system

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
The bedding option for the room is one double or one twin. Room offers air conditioning, ironing board, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, personal safe hairdryer, wired and fixed broadband and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3415 -6.2492
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Dublin is ultimately a vibrant city of contrasts and leaves an indelible memory in the minds of many visitors. The O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is located in Dublin City's Georgian Merrion Square, ideal for Dublin shopping as it is within strolling distance of the renowned Grafton Street area. Many sightseeing spots are all within walking distance

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.4 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.4 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.5 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel has a very large lobby which is enjoyed by guests regularly relaxing and having a coffee or dining from our extensive lounge menu. Winner's Bar at the O'Callaghan Alexander is a vibrant and fashionable spot dedicated to world achievers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
knoxville, tn
Jun 7, 2010

Accurate

Pubs, More Pubs. very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 6, 2010

Spacious room, helpful staff

This hotel is one block away from an Air Coach stop so you don't need a car to get from the airport. Great location, especially if you're going to Trinity College and want lots of nearby shopping and bar hopping. It was a bit warm (and sunny!) when I was there. I opened the window at night -- the air conditioning was not working well. This hotel does not offer free internet/wireless. Very comfortable, contemporary, clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 6, 2010

Spacious room, helpful staff

This hotel is one block away from an Air Coach stop so you don't need a car to get from the airport. Great location, especially if you're going to Trinity College and want lots of nearby shopping and bar hopping. It was a bit warm (and sunny!) when I was there. I opened the window at night -- the air conditioning was not working well. This hotel does not offer free internet/wireless. Very comfortable, contemporary, clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor, Colorado
Mar 23, 2010

Excellent Hotel!

The Hotel was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. The loction allowed us to walk to all locations in Central Dublin. The rooms were quiet and very clean and good sized. Overall we would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife likes to shop. What can I say??? We were centrally located and withing easy walking distance of more shops than I care to imagine.

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor, Colorado
Mar 23, 2010

Excellent Hotel!

The Hotel was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. The loction allowed us to walk to all locations in Central Dublin. The rooms were quiet and very clean and good sized. Overall we would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife likes to shop. What can I say??? We were centrally located and withing easy walking distance of more shops than I care to imagine.

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 13, 2010

most comfortable beds ever!

Very close walk to Graffton Street, Stephens Green, Merrion Square, and Temple Bar areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good and affordable pizza place a half block from the entrance. To find it, continue walking down the right side of the hotel, and cross the street when you reach the end!

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 13, 2010

most comfortable beds ever!

Very close walk to Graffton Street, Stephens Green, Merrion Square, and Temple Bar areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good and affordable pizza place a half block from the entrance. To find it, continue walking down the right side of the hotel, and cross the street when you reach the end!

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ireland Travelers
Clearwater, FL
Jan 31, 2010

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, Dublin

Very nice hotel, close to Trinity College. We felt it exceeded our expectations based on the price we paid for two rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ireland Travelers
Clearwater, FL
Jan 31, 2010

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, Dublin

Very nice hotel, close to Trinity College. We felt it exceeded our expectations based on the price we paid for two rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Jan 23, 2010

BEST STAFF- GREAT HOTEL

We were looking for a great place to stay for our honeymoon- not on the main roads because we wanted to sleep and not be on the noisest road- we loved the looks of the hotel and the staff seemed to be great from the on-set. I emailed one of the managers [...], to ask him some questions about the hotel and its location etc. We told him we wre coming for our honeymoon and he instantly said he would upgrade us to a big suite and was looking forward to us coming!! HE was so nice and I was so happy we chose it. Once we got there, we were greeted by some of the nicest people we met while there- our room was amazing- super nice :) We were traveling during thier big winter blizzard and so we sorta had to wing some of our plans and just go day by day- we left Dublin to travel to the countryside but the storm got too bad so we came back to dublin- with one ph call to [...] at the front desk, he gave us another suite!! :) We were taken care of the entire time and even given suggestions on diff. places to go eat and places to shop etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top