$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2015 Check-out: Feb 23, 2015

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

4 stars
At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
37 reviews
Vert good

Room was very nice, but located at the back on the hotel it was very noisy from outside. We were... See full review

  • Suej
  • Aug 27, 2013
Highly Recommended Dublin Hotel

Very good location - on a quiet side street; reasonably near all important sites in Dublin. Hotel... See full review

  • to'mas
  • Sep 18, 2011
Eye-catching hotel with deluxe touches near Grafton Street

Large bay windows and a spacious lobby greet guests at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, tucked away in the heart of Dublin, a short walk from the bustling Grafton Street and Temple Bar districts. The popular Winner's Bar and Caravaggio Restaurant provide in-house refreshments and libations throughout the day. Rooms decorated in warm cream and chocolate tones create a relaxing atmosphere with perks like cashmere throws and cozy duvets in every room.

Highlights
  • Recently refurbished guest rooms include orthopedic mattresses and cashmere throws
  • Stroll to Dublin's main attractions such as Trinity College, Temple Bar and Grafton Street
  • 24-hour business center and gym access
Rooms

Recently refurbished, guest rooms decorated in cream and warm chocolate hues provide comforts such as orthopedic mattresses, cozy duvets and cashmere throws. Amenities include plasma TV, broadband Internet access and U.S. and European plug sockets. The hotel's round stone tower means striking circular living rooms in hotel suites.

Features
The round stone tower that adorns the facade of O'Callaghan Alexander provides large bay windows that look out onto the street. The hotel is a short walk to many of Dublin's highlights, including the historic Trinity College and Temple Bar's amazing nightlife. Winner's Bar is popular among local office workers and serves traditional bar food and drinks in a laid-back atmosphere. The comfortable Caravaggio's Restaurant overlooks the hotel's hopping lobby area and serves breakfast and dinner. A 24-hour business center and gym are also available. Guests travelling with children can arrange babysitting services in advance.
Transportation
  • Aircoach stop close to hotel
  • Taxi service outside
  • Pearse Street DART station (5 minute walk)
  • Car park available (book in advance, fees apply)
Attractions
  • Merrion Square
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Temple Bar
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Dublin Castle
Business
  • Dedicated conference and banquet team on staff
  • Conference facilities for up to 400 guests
  • Internet access
  • 24-hour business center
  • Audiovisual equipment including projector and screen, microphone, TV and video
  • presentation facilities, overhead camera and slide projector, PA system

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
The bedding option for the room is one double or one twin. Room offers air conditioning, ironing board, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, personal safe hairdryer, wired and fixed broadband and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.4 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.4 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel has a very large lobby which is enjoyed by guests regularly relaxing and having a coffee or dining from our extensive lounge menu. Winner's Bar at the O'Callaghan Alexander is a vibrant and fashionable spot dedicated to world achievers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ireland Travelers
Business
Clearwater, FL
Jan 31, 2010

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, Dublin

Very nice hotel, close to Trinity College. We felt it exceeded our expectations based on the price we paid for two rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jan 23, 2010

BEST STAFF- GREAT HOTEL

We were looking for a great place to stay for our honeymoon- not on the main roads because we wanted to sleep and not be on the noisest road- we loved the looks of the hotel and the staff seemed to be great from the on-set. I emailed one of the managers [...], to ask him some questions about the hotel and its location etc. We told him we wre coming for our honeymoon and he instantly said he would upgrade us to a big suite and was looking forward to us coming!! HE was so nice and I was so happy we chose it. Once we got there, we were greeted by some of the nicest people we met while there- our room was amazing- super nice :) We were traveling during thier big winter blizzard and so we sorta had to wing some of our plans and just go day by day- we left Dublin to travel to the countryside but the storm got too bad so we came back to dublin- with one ph call to [...] at the front desk, he gave us another suite!! :) We were taken care of the entire time and even given suggestions on diff. places to go eat and places to shop etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Sep 6, 2009

Good location, comfortable hotel.

Very comfortable hotel and a good value at the price. Very good location for touring. Many good restaraunts were within walking distance. The room was quiet, and had a large, very comfortable bed. We could have used more storage space, and the lighting was marginal. Otherwise, I was very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at this hotel, try The Farm restaurant on Dawson Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX USA
Jul 21, 2009

Nice Location, good value

Hotel was easy to find, about a block from the aircoach drop off point. Check in was smooth and friendly. Room was a nice size for Europe. The king size bed was comfortable, although it seemed like two beds combined into one. The tv was small, and very limited in terms of channels (three BBC channels, Sky news, and a couple of movie channels). I did not eat at the hotel restaurant as it was too expensive. There is a convenience store nearby where you can by water and snacks. There are a couple of coffee shops across the street towards Trinity College where you can get coffee and a pastry for only 3.50. There is a take out pizza joint across the street which was pretty good and reasonably priced. If you order a newspaper at the hotel, you WILL get charged at checkout, unlike the US where newspapers are generally complimentary. The card with the listing of newspapers did not indicate the prices of any of the newspapers or that you would be charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save your money and eat breakfast at one of the coffee shops right near the hotel. One has free wifi, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ireland Traveller
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 15, 2009

Great One Night Stay

The location was fantastic - short walking distance to Trinity College, shopping, restaurants, Temple Bar, castles, and cathedrals. The hotel itself was clean, well maintained, and had great service. I'd highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see Trinity Collge (especially the Book of Kells) and Dublin Castle...both absolutely beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 22, 2009

Overall, a pretty good experience

The location is very convenient, it's quiet yet only a short walk to shopping and pub area. Hotel itself is nicely kept, good size room. One minor note, very few channels on tv, but you won't want to stay in the room to watch it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

About 15 min walk to temple bar area; "Winding stair" is a crowded but quite nice restaurant. "M Hughs" and "Thomas Reade" are good choices for beer and different kinds of music entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Metairie
Jun 29, 2008

good location, friendly staff

The OCallaghan Alexander has a central location, within 10-15 min walking distance into the St stephens Green/Grafton street area. I chose it because of its location and based on reviews. The room was comfortable, the amenities good, the only problem was that the air conditioning made some kind of boing like noise about every 15 minutes, which made it rather difficult to sleep and no one seemed to be able to pinpoint the cause.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

grafton street is one of the main shopping districts, but can be pricey. if you cross the liffey to jervis shopping center there are more reasonably priced stores. check out cows lane market in temple bar on saturdays for one of a kind jewelry and crafts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top