$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

4 stars
At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
60 reviews
Vert good

Room was very nice, but located at the back on the hotel it was very noisy from outside. We were... See full review

  • Suej
  • Aug 27, 2013
Great location

I thought it was a really cool part of town, but quiet enough that I could enjoy a good night's sleep. See full review

  • Jetsetter5555
  • May 17, 2013
Eye-catching hotel with deluxe touches near Grafton Street

Large bay windows and a spacious lobby greet guests at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, tucked away in the heart of Dublin, a short walk from the bustling Grafton Street and Temple Bar districts. The popular Winner's Bar and Caravaggio Restaurant provide in-house refreshments and libations throughout the day. Rooms decorated in warm cream and chocolate tones create a relaxing atmosphere with perks like cashmere throws and cozy duvets in every room.

Highlights
  • Recently refurbished guest rooms include orthopedic mattresses and cashmere throws
  • Stroll to Dublin's main attractions such as Trinity College, Temple Bar and Grafton Street
  • 24-hour business center and gym access
Rooms

Recently refurbished, guest rooms decorated in cream and warm chocolate hues provide comforts such as orthopedic mattresses, cozy duvets and cashmere throws. Amenities include plasma TV, broadband Internet access and U.S. and European plug sockets. The hotel's round stone tower means striking circular living rooms in hotel suites.

Features
The round stone tower that adorns the facade of O'Callaghan Alexander provides large bay windows that look out onto the street. The hotel is a short walk to many of Dublin's highlights, including the historic Trinity College and Temple Bar's amazing nightlife. Winner's Bar is popular among local office workers and serves traditional bar food and drinks in a laid-back atmosphere. The comfortable Caravaggio's Restaurant overlooks the hotel's hopping lobby area and serves breakfast and dinner. A 24-hour business center and gym are also available. Guests travelling with children can arrange babysitting services in advance.
Transportation
  • Aircoach stop close to hotel
  • Taxi service outside
  • Pearse Street DART station (5 minute walk)
  • Car park available (book in advance, fees apply)
Attractions
  • Merrion Square
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Temple Bar
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Dublin Castle
Business
  • Dedicated conference and banquet team on staff
  • Conference facilities for up to 400 guests
  • Internet access
  • 24-hour business center
  • Audiovisual equipment including projector and screen, microphone, TV and video
  • presentation facilities, overhead camera and slide projector, PA system

Hotel Map

53.3415 -6.2492
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Dublin is ultimately a vibrant city of contrasts and leaves an indelible memory in the minds of many visitors. The O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is located in Dublin City's Georgian Merrion Square, ideal for Dublin shopping as it is within strolling distance of the renowned Grafton Street area. Many sightseeing spots are all within walking distance

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
The bedding option for the room is one double or one twin. Room offers air conditioning, ironing board, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, personal safe hairdryer, wired and fixed broadband and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.4 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.4 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.5 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel has a very large lobby which is enjoyed by guests regularly relaxing and having a coffee or dining from our extensive lounge menu. Winner's Bar at the O'Callaghan Alexander is a vibrant and fashionable spot dedicated to world achievers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chocolie
new york ny
Dec 1, 2010

NOT THAT BAD

The hotel is pretty good but 1 thing i did not like it the room had no heat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is close by walking distance

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chocolie
new york ny
Dec 1, 2010

NOT THAT BAD

The hotel is pretty good but 1 thing i did not like it the room had no heat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is close by walking distance

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
harmonyjaneiam
Portland, Oregon
Nov 29, 2010

Conveniently Located

While the rooms in this hotel were beautiful, the service left something to be desired. Half of the springs in the mattress in our room were broken, thankfully it was king-size. The desk staff seemed to be annoyed anytime we asked for anything. In addition, it felt as though we were being nickel and dimed at every turn - despite having open wireless internet access in the hotel, we were charged for the service. Breakfast nor parking were included. The best part of this hotel was The Ginger Man bar across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
harmonyjaneiam
Portland, Oregon
Nov 29, 2010

Conveniently Located

While the rooms in this hotel were beautiful, the service left something to be desired. Half of the springs in the mattress in our room were broken, thankfully it was king-size. The desk staff seemed to be annoyed anytime we asked for anything. In addition, it felt as though we were being nickel and dimed at every turn - despite having open wireless internet access in the hotel, we were charged for the service. Breakfast nor parking were included. The best part of this hotel was The Ginger Man bar across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aldan1234
New York, New York
Nov 11, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Everything works

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum and night life at walking distance

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albany, NY
Oct 19, 2010

Great location and great staff

Easy walking distance to all the great sites in Dublin. Close to shopping (Grafton Street) and excellent restaurants (Blackboard Bistro). Close to Pearse Street DART station for a wonderful day trip to Howth. Room was clean and very comfortable. Great staff as they were very helpful with any questions we had and they were very customer service oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the Dublin pass great value and you can skip some of the lines with the pass.

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albany, NY
Oct 19, 2010

Great location and great staff

Easy walking distance to all the great sites in Dublin. Close to shopping (Grafton Street) and excellent restaurants (Blackboard Bistro). Close to Pearse Street DART station for a wonderful day trip to Howth. Room was clean and very comfortable. Great staff as they were very helpful with any questions we had and they were very customer service oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the Dublin pass great value and you can skip some of the lines with the pass.

Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Oct 14, 2010

Great location

We thought the location perfect. The staff was friendly, but not totally professional. We requested a non-smoking room, were given a smoking room on a smoking floor that reeked of stale smoke. But our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. I would definitely recommend the hotel, but make sure the room is non-smoking if that's what you want. We were so tired when we checked in, we missed that. Rooms are spacious which is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Oct 14, 2010

Great location

We thought the location perfect. The staff was friendly, but not totally professional. We requested a non-smoking room, were given a smoking room on a smoking floor that reeked of stale smoke. But our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. I would definitely recommend the hotel, but make sure the room is non-smoking if that's what you want. We were so tired when we checked in, we missed that. Rooms are spacious which is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon
Oct 7, 2010

Great location

On check-in, desk clerk tried to claim that my reservation was not with the Alexander, but with the Davenport--another O'Callaghan hotel across the street, but of lesser quality. Had to argue with them, point out that my confirmation had "Alexander" printed right on it, and insist that I was not going to be moved to the Davenport. After several attempts to claim there were no more rooms, they finally relented and gave us a room. Our room was clean, the bed large/comfortable, the AC/heater controls were somewhat tempermental and didn't always shutoff when desired. Location very good--within walking distance from everything we wanted to visit--Trinity College, Nat'l Art Gallery, Grafton street and Temple Bar, Dublin Castle, St Stephen's Green, O'Connell street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You don't need a car while staying in Dublin's city center. Lots of good dining, shopping, museums, parks, all within walking distance. The AirCoach was a great way to get to and from airport to city center and no hassle with driving through congested, one-way streets, or trying to park--parking fees can be exhorbitant.

Back to menu Return to top