$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

4 stars
At Merrion Square, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
37 reviews
Vert good

Room was very nice, but located at the back on the hotel it was very noisy from outside. We were... See full review

  • Suej
  • Aug 27, 2013
Great location

I thought it was a really cool part of town, but quiet enough that I could enjoy a good night's sleep. See full review

  • Jetsetter5555
  • May 17, 2013
Eye-catching hotel with deluxe touches near Grafton Street

Large bay windows and a spacious lobby greet guests at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, tucked away in the heart of Dublin, a short walk from the bustling Grafton Street and Temple Bar districts. The popular Winner's Bar and Caravaggio Restaurant provide in-house refreshments and libations throughout the day. Rooms decorated in warm cream and chocolate tones create a relaxing atmosphere with perks like cashmere throws and cozy duvets in every room.

Highlights
  • Recently refurbished guest rooms include orthopedic mattresses and cashmere throws
  • Stroll to Dublin's main attractions such as Trinity College, Temple Bar and Grafton Street
  • 24-hour business center and gym access
Rooms

Recently refurbished, guest rooms decorated in cream and warm chocolate hues provide comforts such as orthopedic mattresses, cozy duvets and cashmere throws. Amenities include plasma TV, broadband Internet access and U.S. and European plug sockets. The hotel's round stone tower means striking circular living rooms in hotel suites.

Features
The round stone tower that adorns the facade of O'Callaghan Alexander provides large bay windows that look out onto the street. The hotel is a short walk to many of Dublin's highlights, including the historic Trinity College and Temple Bar's amazing nightlife. Winner's Bar is popular among local office workers and serves traditional bar food and drinks in a laid-back atmosphere. The comfortable Caravaggio's Restaurant overlooks the hotel's hopping lobby area and serves breakfast and dinner. A 24-hour business center and gym are also available. Guests travelling with children can arrange babysitting services in advance.
Transportation
  • Aircoach stop close to hotel
  • Taxi service outside
  • Pearse Street DART station (5 minute walk)
  • Car park available (book in advance, fees apply)
Attractions
  • Merrion Square
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Temple Bar
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Dublin Castle
Business
  • Dedicated conference and banquet team on staff
  • Conference facilities for up to 400 guests
  • Internet access
  • 24-hour business center
  • Audiovisual equipment including projector and screen, microphone, TV and video
  • presentation facilities, overhead camera and slide projector, PA system

Hotel Map

53.3415 -6.2492
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Dublin is ultimately a vibrant city of contrasts and leaves an indelible memory in the minds of many visitors. The O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is located in Dublin City's Georgian Merrion Square, ideal for Dublin shopping as it is within strolling distance of the renowned Grafton Street area. Many sightseeing spots are all within walking distance

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
The bedding option for the room is one double or one twin. Room offers air conditioning, ironing board, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, personal safe hairdryer, wired and fixed broadband and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.1 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.4 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.4 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.5 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.5 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel has a very large lobby which is enjoyed by guests regularly relaxing and having a coffee or dining from our extensive lounge menu. Winner's Bar at the O'Callaghan Alexander is a vibrant and fashionable spot dedicated to world achievers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mitch
Snohomish, Washington
Aug 14, 2011

Very good hotel

Great location. Very helpful staff, with a nice restaurant. I'd gladly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Blarney Inn about a 1/3 mile from hotel on Kildare Street. Very good food at a reasonable price. Irish folk song and Irish dancing show on Wednesdays at 7:30 just for the cost of your meal (no cover charge), in an informal quaint setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bucks County, PA
Aug 5, 2011

A great hotel - not the best location

The Alexander is a great hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The room was clean, roomy and we loved the down comforters. The bathroom was showing a little wear in the tub area, but it was more than satisfactory. The only issue was the location. I was traveling with my 87 year old mom. A hotel closer to the hop-on hop-off bus would have been better. Although Dublin is a great city to walk around, that wasn't really an option. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Dublin and I would recommend the Alexander to anyone with a good pair is walking shoes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sligo , Ireland
Jul 13, 2011

Fantastic hotel in a great location

The hotel is located in a central and safe area within walking of the city centre but just far enough away for the area to be quiet at night. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. We used the bar and room service facilities and dealt with the reception staff throughout our stay and they were excellent. This hotel is great value for money , the rooms were clean and well presented and had everything that we expected. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dover
Jun 26, 2011

Great City,the people are the best

We have just come back after booking the hotel for 2 nights.We went to see "TAKE THAT". The Hotel room was very good and the bed was one of the best we have ever slept in.The location was perfect,close to the city centre yet in a quite area.The staff were all friendly and very helpful.We will re book the Hotel when we go next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar pubs are just Fantastic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jun 4, 2011

O'Callaghan was Nice

Enjoying a trip to Dublin in mid-May, I was delighted to find this hotel clean, staff very friendly (and extremely honest), as well as helpful with offering suggested places to see and things to do. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ireland for the first time and looking for a nice family-friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Swarthmore, PA
Dec 12, 2010

Gr

The location was perfect for visits to the National Library, National musuem, St. Stephen's square, Grafton St. etc. The hotel restuarant was reasonably priced and the food was delicious. Staff were very accommodating. I plan on returning to this hotel. My 9 year old daughter and I loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the area is great and just a relatively short walk to the area malls including Grafton St. and not that far of a walk to the Jervis Center. I found we were able to get around easily without a bus and with a good map of Dublin, purchased at Spars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chocolie
new york ny
Dec 1, 2010

NOT THAT BAD

The hotel is pretty good but 1 thing i did not like it the room had no heat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is close by walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
harmonyjaneiam
Portland, Oregon
Nov 29, 2010

Conveniently Located

While the rooms in this hotel were beautiful, the service left something to be desired. Half of the springs in the mattress in our room were broken, thankfully it was king-size. The desk staff seemed to be annoyed anytime we asked for anything. In addition, it felt as though we were being nickel and dimed at every turn - despite having open wireless internet access in the hotel, we were charged for the service. Breakfast nor parking were included. The best part of this hotel was The Ginger Man bar across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aldan1234
New York, New York
Nov 11, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Everything works

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum and night life at walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albany, NY
Oct 19, 2010

Great location and great staff

Easy walking distance to all the great sites in Dublin. Close to shopping (Grafton Street) and excellent restaurants (Blackboard Bistro). Close to Pearse Street DART station for a wonderful day trip to Howth. Room was clean and very comfortable. Great staff as they were very helpful with any questions we had and they were very customer service oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the Dublin pass great value and you can skip some of the lines with the pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search