$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

North Star Hotel

4 stars
Amiens Street, Dublin, D1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
72 reviews
lovely hotel

We got the Paddywagon shuttle from the airport which dropped us outside the hotel.. (Payable at... See full review

  • huntersmeet
  • Apr 9, 2014
the place to stay

we had stayed at the North Star years ago and now it has had a facelift is really nice. The staff... See full review

  • sb and sb
  • Apr 8, 2014
Recently furbished deluxe city centre hotel

North of the River Liffey stands the beautiful Georgian building housing the North Star Hotel with a particularly cool pedigree. Ireland's literary master, James Joyce, mentioned this landmark in his novel Ulysses. The hotel has been extended to accommodate 161 rooms, an award-winning restaurant, two bars, including a heated beer garden and the new exclusive Premier Club Lounge. Guests can walk to the James Joyce Center or head over the river to Temple Bar and Grafton Street for shopping and entertainment. The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites has just recently completed a 25.5 million refurbishment.

Highlights
  • Stunning 19th century building immortalized in James Joyce's literary masterpiece Ulysses
  • Award-winning McGettigans Restaurant and McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar with heated beer garden
  • Premier rooms enjoy use of exclusive 7th floor club lounge with skyline views
Rooms

The North Star's 161 rooms cater to every kind of traveler. Standard rooms are housed in the original Georgian building, while the hotel's modern addition holds executive and premier rooms and suites. Tastefully decorated, standard and executive rooms come with the usual amenities such as TV, tea and coffee station and trouser press. Additionally, premier rooms and suites include such luxuries as pillow-top beds, goose down bedding, Egyptian cotton sheets, fridge and rainforest shower. Many have a private balcony that offers stunning views of Dublin's skyline. Access to the exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Lounge is available to guests in premier rooms. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The North Star Hotel offers guests an escape from Dublin's busy city center. Enjoy the hotel's award-winning restaurant, McGettigans, or two bars, including the heated beer garden where guests can unwind from a day of meetings or sightseeing with a traditional Irish libation. The hotel features a gym and sauna for all guests. Premier rooms afford access to the relaxing new Premier Club Lounge with stunning views of the city. Wi-Fi access and parking facilities are available (fees apply)

Transportation
  • Hotel car park (fee applies)
  • Luas and DART station (across the street)
  • Dublin bus service 41 and 41B nearby
  • Taxi service available
  • Airport shuttle bus (fee applies)
  • O2 Arena Shuttle bus (fee applies)
Attractions
  • The James Joyce Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Spire of Dublin (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Trinity College (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Croke Park Stadium (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Dublin Convention Centre (0.5 mi/.1 km)
  • Bord Gais Energy Theatre (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Aviva Stadium (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 4 conference and meeting rooms with capacity of 140 guests
  • Complete range of audiovisual facilities available
  • Broadband Internet access
  • Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

53.3518 -6.25
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites is in short walking distance from the O2 Venue (10-15 minutes) Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, The Gaiety Theatre, The Olympia Theatre, The Grand Canal Theatre, The Convention Centre, Trinity College, shopping districts including Henry Street and Grafton Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed North Star Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

North Star Hotel Rooms

Standard double
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Premier Club Rooms
Celebrating a Special Occasion or just fancy a little Pampering ... why not upgrade to our New Premier Club rooms. Recently launched summer 2008, the spacious and contemporary Premier Club rooms offer the ultimate in guest luxury....King size pillow top beds, Goose down duvets and pillows, Egyptian cotton sheets, interactive widescreen LCD TV's with in-house movies, WIFI, personal fridge, laptop safes, tea/coffee making facilities and air-conditioning. Many of our Premier Club rooms have a private terrace or balcony and all rooms have complimentary access to our exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Hospitality Lounge offering spectacular views of Dublin city's skyline. Upgrades are just 30.00 euro per room per night. (Subject to availability).
Non Refundable Room
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Executive Rooms
Our executive rooms at the North Star Hotel Dublin are of an extra-large size to provide added comfort. Each room comes complete with direct-dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and multi-channel television , air-conditioning, trouser press, larger bathroom, Wi-Fi,. Each bedroom is tastefully decorated, bright and designed to international standards and Ideal for the busy corporate guest, or to make your leisure break in Dublin even more relaxing and enjoyable!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.5 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.5 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 0.6 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.6 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.6 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi

Dining

McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar
The North Star Hotel Dublin has a tradition for personal service, excellent cuisine and comfort. The Award Winning McGettigans Restaurant offers a fine display of cuisine to please even the most discerning palate. The Restaurant offers the best of both international and traditional Irish delights, while friendly and welcoming staff will always be available to ensure your evening is one you wont forget for a while. McGettigan's Dublin newest cookhouse eatery & bar offers the best in fine Irish cuisine. At the McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar we are committed to using the finest quality ingredients and we believe that North County Dublin has some of the the best farming land and producers in this country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 72
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robudhabi
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Jul 20, 2014

Great Hotel on the North Side of Dublin

My wife and I stayed here for 8 days and this hotel is very, very good for the price. It's on the North Side of the Liffey a little bit away from the trendy bars and nightclubs on the South Side, but this is a plus. You'll meet the locals here and there are excellent pubs with live local music every night of the week nearby. You can get just about anywhere you want to go in 25 minutes walk max and most things are much closer. The concierge was very friendly and helpful in arranging our tours. The staff in the restaurant was warm and welcoming and the food was delicious. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because we thought it was too expensive (13 euro pp), but there are plenty of breakfast spots right outside. Room service was superfast. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The free walking tours at the needle were excellent.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel Carter
San Diego, Ca.
Jul 8, 2014

North Star Hotel review

great location next to train station and public transportation. Nice clean room. My only problem with all the hotels in Ireland is tiny trash cans in the room, no ice machines on the floors and glass shower doors that drip water on the bathroom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenni4
Boston, MA
Jun 28, 2014

Good location, good price

The hotel was a little hot during our stay (we arrived during an unusually hot week) and the A/C had trouble competing. That being said, the wifi was great, the location was easy to walk to and from, and the price was excellent for what we got. Hotel was a little noisy at points due to our room being near a back street that seemed to be a favorite of the occasional late night pub-goer, but overall our stay was a good experience. Much better prices than other hotels in the area with similar amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant attached to the hotel (McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar) is actually really good - though a little expensive. Very easy and nice place to go if you're tired and don't want to walk far to find a good meal.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck and Janine
Minneapolis
Mar 18, 2014

Great evening in Dublin

We stayed here for one evening on St Pattys weekend. Check-in was easy. Staff was great and late night staff was even better. Contrary to a previous post, internet was free. The bar was reasonably priced though we didn't eat and can't speak for the food. Location was close to town and the room was clean. We would come back for sure at this price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food and bars in Ranelagh were great and kept us away from the crazy busy kid scene in Temple Bar

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
swisti
cracow, Poland
Oct 29, 2013

location

very close to the center, unfortunately 10 m from railroad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Owl
Birmingham UK
Oct 22, 2013

Good location. Easy access to the cities best attractions

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday on a weekend. The location is excellent (although its on a busy main road) as you can walk to the majority of the cities best attractions within 30 minutes. We watched Leinster vs Castre in a Heineken cup rugby match at the RDS ground on Saturday, the atmosphere was amaizing for such a small ground and on Sunday we payed a visit to the Guiness storehouse. Would definately recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melly J
Washington DC
Oct 17, 2013

A Terrific Surprise!

Getting in at noon, all tired and gross from my travels, I knew I shouldn't be able to check in yet, but I at least wanted to try to drop off my bags for a while. The concierge could see I was tired so he checked to see if any of the rooms were clean. He finally found one that I could get into right away and when I got to the room I found out that he upgraded me to one of their suites! It was such a nice gesture after a long night of travels. The location was also great, as the bus from the airport drops off right around the corner! As well as having a nice cup of coffee in the bar, at a reasonable price! I would definitely stay here again! It was a perfect 2 nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Coffee for 1.80! The cheapest I saw elsewhere was 2euro.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emyo12
London
Mar 30, 2013

Not exactly central but close enough

Stayed in a room close to the railway bridge, but it didn't bother us as some people have said in previous reviews. Room was spacious, modern, perfectly clean and was actually just lovely. Staff in the bar and reception are typical of the friendly, welcoming Dublin attitude that we found in most pubs/ restaurants/attractions. This hotel was around 15 mins walk from Temple Bar and Grafton Road, which we found to be the nicer area of Dublin. But we enjoyed not being on the doorstep of things as it gave us reason to explore! I would recommend you research the area and where's best to go before arriving as O'connell street is an area best stayed away from. If I were ever to return to Dublin I would stay here again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not use the airport taxi drivers if possible, everyone we spoke to had been mercifully over charged. Get airport coach transfer for €5 instead

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blade
Sheffield england
Jan 10, 2013

Very good standard

Fantastic place nice staff good position near bus and dart

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food in the bar and guinness

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vcalvert
Louisville, ky
Nov 24, 2012

Great location

Hotel is located across from Connelly Rail station with Luas connection and taxi stand. Its also in walking distance to major attractions, like Trinty college and Temple Bar area. Friendly staff, nice rooms. Great Irish breakfast available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search