$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

North Star Hotel

4 stars
View map of Amiens Street, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
106 reviews
Excellent Anniversary Break

Very friendly and helpful staff hotel was immaculate. This was our first trip to Dublin and won't... See full review

  • Paul D.
  • Aug 20, 2015
Fab stay

Lovely clean and comfortable room. Had a beautiful meal in restaurent. The staff were helpful and... See full review

  • Patricia M.
  • Aug 8, 2015

North of the River Liffey stands the beautiful Georgian building housing the North Star Hotel with a particularly cool pedigree. Ireland's literary master, James Joyce, mentioned this landmark in his novel Ulysses. The hotel has been extended to accommodate 161 rooms, an award-winning restaurant, two bars, including a heated beer garden and the new exclusive Premier Club Lounge. Guests can walk to the James Joyce Center or head over the river to Temple Bar and Grafton Street for shopping and entertainment. The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites has just recently completed a 25.5 million refurbishment.

Rooms

The North Star's 161 rooms cater to every kind of traveler. Standard rooms are housed in the original Georgian building, while the hotel's modern addition holds executive and premier rooms and suites. Tastefully decorated, standard and executive rooms come with the usual amenities such as TV, tea and coffee station and trouser press. Additionally, premier rooms and suites include such luxuries as pillow-top beds, goose down bedding, Egyptian cotton sheets, fridge and rainforest shower. Many have a private balcony that offers stunning views of Dublin's skyline. Access to the exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Lounge is available to guests in premier rooms. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms (fees apply).

Property features

The North Star Hotel offers guests an escape from Dublin's busy city center. Enjoy the hotel's award-winning restaurant, McGettigans, or two bars, including the heated beer garden where guests can unwind from a day of meetings or sightseeing with a traditional Irish libation. The hotel features a gym and sauna for all guests. Premier rooms afford access to the relaxing new Premier Club Lounge with stunning views of the city. Wi-Fi access and parking facilities are available (fees apply)

Highlights
  • Stunning 19th century building immortalized in James Joyce's literary masterpiece Ulysses
  • Award-winning McGettigans Restaurant and McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar with heated beer garden
  • Premier rooms enjoy use of exclusive 7th floor club lounge with skyline views
Nearby attractions
  • The James Joyce Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Spire of Dublin (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Trinity College (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Croke Park Stadium (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Dublin Convention Centre (0.5 mi/.1 km)
  • Bord Gais Energy Theatre (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Aviva Stadium (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 4 conference and meeting rooms with capacity of 140 guests
  • Complete range of audiovisual facilities available
  • Broadband Internet access
  • Banquet facilities
Transportation
  • Hotel car park (fee applies)
  • Luas and DART station (across the street)
  • Dublin bus service 41 and 41B nearby
  • Taxi service available
  • Airport shuttle bus (fee applies)
  • O2 Arena Shuttle bus (fee applies)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed North Star Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$122
3.8 / 5 39 reviews
★★★★
$139
4.5 / 5 39 reviews
★★★
$110
3.6 / 5 23 reviews
★★★★
$165
4.5 / 5 Not yet reviewed

North Star Hotel Rooms

Standard double
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Premier Club Rooms
Celebrating a Special Occasion or just fancy a little Pampering ... why not upgrade to our New Premier Club rooms. Recently launched summer 2008, the spacious and contemporary Premier Club rooms offer the ultimate in guest luxury....King size pillow top beds, Goose down duvets and pillows, Egyptian cotton sheets, interactive widescreen LCD TV's with in-house movies, WIFI, personal fridge, laptop safes, tea/coffee making facilities and air-conditioning. Many of our Premier Club rooms have a private terrace or balcony and all rooms have complimentary access to our exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Hospitality Lounge offering spectacular views of Dublin city's skyline. Upgrades are just 30.00 euro per room per night. (Subject to availability).
Non Refundable Room
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Executive Rooms
Our executive rooms at the North Star Hotel Dublin are of an extra-large size to provide added comfort. Each room comes complete with direct-dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and multi-channel television , air-conditioning, trouser press, larger bathroom, Wi-Fi,. Each bedroom is tastefully decorated, bright and designed to international standards and Ideal for the busy corporate guest, or to make your leisure break in Dublin even more relaxing and enjoyable!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.5 mi
  • An Post Museum: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.5 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.5 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 0.6 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery 29: 0.6 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi

Dining

McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar
The North Star Hotel Dublin has a tradition for personal service, excellent cuisine and comfort. The Award Winning McGettigans Restaurant offers a fine display of cuisine to please even the most discerning palate. The Restaurant offers the best of both international and traditional Irish delights, while friendly and welcoming staff will always be available to ensure your evening is one you wont forget for a while. McGettigan's Dublin newest cookhouse eatery & bar offers the best in fine Irish cuisine. At the McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar we are committed to using the finest quality ingredients and we believe that North County Dublin has some of the the best farming land and producers in this country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huntersmeet
Friends
Essex
Apr 9, 2014

lovely hotel

We got the Paddywagon shuttle from the airport which dropped us outside the hotel.. (Payable at hotel reception on arrival.) So that was a great start. The rooms were clean and had lots if extras like shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, soap and shower caps. The decor was very smart throughout. Lovely comfy armchairs. Nice wide barstools in the bar/restaurant. Food was great. Cocktails made by John were the best. There were some rowdy students banging doors of their rooms..... I would stay again but would ask for a quieter room not on the road, as many bars are open to the early hours and turning out is noisey. We stayed in the 2nd night and ate in the wonderful grill. The staff were friendly and professional. We were looked after by Sean, the wonderful Paddy and John, til the wee hours. Some lovely locals popped in to, so we had a great laugh. Its about a twenty minute walk to temple bar, but you pass many good entertainment facilities on the way. O'SHEAS was fabulous with traditional music. EARLS Cafe for huge cakes and filled rolls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

O'Sheas for a great atmosphere and live traditional music

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sb and sb
Friends
Tyne and Wear
Apr 8, 2014

the place to stay

we had stayed at the North Star years ago and now it has had a facelift is really nice. The staff were pleasant and the rooms were spotless and vey comfortable. The full Irish breakfast was piping hot and fresh and there was plenty of it. We stayed in the Temple bar area for our previous visit but would chose the North Star again. There is virtualy no noise from the DART and we were only 10 minutes walk from the centre of things. Dont expect the Plaza -its not, but it is one of the nicest hotels in Dublin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

get a two day ticket for the jump on, jump off bus. That way you can see everything

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crispop
Business
portmarnok
Jul 6, 2010

a nice hotel

This hotel is fantastic. Has a great location near to the trains, dart, buses and city centre. There are all with in walking distance. Me and my wife, had dinner in Bianconi restaurant, the food was delicious and the waiter very professional. The staff in general is nice, they offer to cary our bags from the lobby to the reception. The rooms are clean and quiet (we slept in the executive side). There is a rail trak crossing over the reception bat is away from the executive and premier rooms, if you stay in the standard side you may hear it. To us was a good experience, we will come back and definitely we recomand the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bianconi restaurant in the hotel

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle52
Couples
Surrey
Jul 21, 2012

Value Hotel Central to Dublin

The North Star Hotel is situated close to a train station and is within a short 15 minute walk from Dublin city centre. It took less than 20 minutes to drive there from Dublin airport. The hotel has a small private car park, it t's not FOC but has a nominal fee. Our room was on the 6th flloor, it didn't have much of a veiw but that wasn't an issue for us but location was - the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast selection was very good and the staff were really helpful. Overall, we thought it was a great hotel for the price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Pick up from the hotelfrom cheap way to get your bearings visiting Dublin city is to take a round trip on the red route city bus tour. It's a hop on hop off service that take you to main tourist places of interest.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reply
Business
london
Nov 28, 2012

good place with good location

Yes! I would recommend this hotel. its central location is ideal for any visitors

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scott m 6510
Family
newville pa
May 7, 2013

standard rooms

room was great only thing was no mini fridge but bed was large and comfortable and rooms were clean no free internet though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sue's
Single
uk
Sep 4, 2013

brillient

really enjoyed my stay here the staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms was very comfortable I would recommend this hotel to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

would recommend the shopping places and site seeing there is so much to do and see

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melly J
Couples
Washington DC
Oct 17, 2013

A Terrific Surprise!

Getting in at noon, all tired and gross from my travels, I knew I shouldn't be able to check in yet, but I at least wanted to try to drop off my bags for a while. The concierge could see I was tired so he checked to see if any of the rooms were clean. He finally found one that I could get into right away and when I got to the room I found out that he upgraded me to one of their suites! It was such a nice gesture after a long night of travels. The location was also great, as the bus from the airport drops off right around the corner! As well as having a nice cup of coffee in the bar, at a reasonable price! I would definitely stay here again! It was a perfect 2 nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Coffee for 1.80! The cheapest I saw elsewhere was 2euro.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
cork
Dec 28, 2009

great location

great hotel. We were to Dublin to see some of our friends and do some Christmas shopping. We have stayed in this hotel before and all we can say is that is getting better by the day. The staff very friendly as before and very helpful. Nice rooms, spacious, clean adn comfortable. Lovely location and good food.What more do you need? Oh, I forgot; great value for the money you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

near the spire

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Galway
Dec 11, 2010

Spot on!

Great place to stay, amazing staff and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top