$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

North Star Hotel

4 stars
Amiens Street, Dublin, D1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
76 reviews
lovely hotel

We got the Paddywagon shuttle from the airport which dropped us outside the hotel.. (Payable at... See full review

  • huntersmeet
  • Apr 9, 2014
the place to stay

we had stayed at the North Star years ago and now it has had a facelift is really nice. The staff... See full review

  • sb and sb
  • Apr 8, 2014
Recently furbished deluxe city centre hotel

North of the River Liffey stands the beautiful Georgian building housing the North Star Hotel with a particularly cool pedigree. Ireland's literary master, James Joyce, mentioned this landmark in his novel Ulysses. The hotel has been extended to accommodate 161 rooms, an award-winning restaurant, two bars, including a heated beer garden and the new exclusive Premier Club Lounge. Guests can walk to the James Joyce Center or head over the river to Temple Bar and Grafton Street for shopping and entertainment. The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites has just recently completed a 25.5 million refurbishment.

Highlights
  • Stunning 19th century building immortalized in James Joyce's literary masterpiece Ulysses
  • Award-winning McGettigans Restaurant and McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar with heated beer garden
  • Premier rooms enjoy use of exclusive 7th floor club lounge with skyline views
Rooms

The North Star's 161 rooms cater to every kind of traveler. Standard rooms are housed in the original Georgian building, while the hotel's modern addition holds executive and premier rooms and suites. Tastefully decorated, standard and executive rooms come with the usual amenities such as TV, tea and coffee station and trouser press. Additionally, premier rooms and suites include such luxuries as pillow-top beds, goose down bedding, Egyptian cotton sheets, fridge and rainforest shower. Many have a private balcony that offers stunning views of Dublin's skyline. Access to the exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Lounge is available to guests in premier rooms. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The North Star Hotel offers guests an escape from Dublin's busy city center. Enjoy the hotel's award-winning restaurant, McGettigans, or two bars, including the heated beer garden where guests can unwind from a day of meetings or sightseeing with a traditional Irish libation. The hotel features a gym and sauna for all guests. Premier rooms afford access to the relaxing new Premier Club Lounge with stunning views of the city. Wi-Fi access and parking facilities are available (fees apply)

Transportation
  • Hotel car park (fee applies)
  • Luas and DART station (across the street)
  • Dublin bus service 41 and 41B nearby
  • Taxi service available
  • Airport shuttle bus (fee applies)
  • O2 Arena Shuttle bus (fee applies)
Attractions
  • The James Joyce Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Spire of Dublin (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Trinity College (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Croke Park Stadium (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Dublin Convention Centre (0.5 mi/.1 km)
  • Bord Gais Energy Theatre (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Aviva Stadium (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 4 conference and meeting rooms with capacity of 140 guests
  • Complete range of audiovisual facilities available
  • Broadband Internet access
  • Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

53.3518 -6.25
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites is in short walking distance from the O2 Venue (10-15 minutes) Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, The Gaiety Theatre, The Olympia Theatre, The Grand Canal Theatre, The Convention Centre, Trinity College, shopping districts including Henry Street and Grafton Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed North Star Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

North Star Hotel Rooms

Standard double
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Premier Club Rooms
Celebrating a Special Occasion or just fancy a little Pampering ... why not upgrade to our New Premier Club rooms. Recently launched summer 2008, the spacious and contemporary Premier Club rooms offer the ultimate in guest luxury....King size pillow top beds, Goose down duvets and pillows, Egyptian cotton sheets, interactive widescreen LCD TV's with in-house movies, WIFI, personal fridge, laptop safes, tea/coffee making facilities and air-conditioning. Many of our Premier Club rooms have a private terrace or balcony and all rooms have complimentary access to our exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Hospitality Lounge offering spectacular views of Dublin city's skyline. Upgrades are just 30.00 euro per room per night. (Subject to availability).
Non Refundable Room
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Executive Rooms
Our executive rooms at the North Star Hotel Dublin are of an extra-large size to provide added comfort. Each room comes complete with direct-dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and multi-channel television , air-conditioning, trouser press, larger bathroom, Wi-Fi,. Each bedroom is tastefully decorated, bright and designed to international standards and Ideal for the busy corporate guest, or to make your leisure break in Dublin even more relaxing and enjoyable!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.5 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.5 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 0.6 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.6 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.6 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi

Dining

McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar
The North Star Hotel Dublin has a tradition for personal service, excellent cuisine and comfort. The Award Winning McGettigans Restaurant offers a fine display of cuisine to please even the most discerning palate. The Restaurant offers the best of both international and traditional Irish delights, while friendly and welcoming staff will always be available to ensure your evening is one you wont forget for a while. McGettigan's Dublin newest cookhouse eatery & bar offers the best in fine Irish cuisine. At the McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar we are committed to using the finest quality ingredients and we believe that North County Dublin has some of the the best farming land and producers in this country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle52
Surrey
Jul 21, 2012

Value Hotel Central to Dublin

The North Star Hotel is situated close to a train station and is within a short 15 minute walk from Dublin city centre. It took less than 20 minutes to drive there from Dublin airport. The hotel has a small private car park, it t's not FOC but has a nominal fee. Our room was on the 6th flloor, it didn't have much of a veiw but that wasn't an issue for us but location was - the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast selection was very good and the staff were really helpful. Overall, we thought it was a great hotel for the price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Pick up from the hotelfrom cheap way to get your bearings visiting Dublin city is to take a round trip on the red route city bus tour. It's a hop on hop off service that take you to main tourist places of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Keep searching
Business
Vancouver, WA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Not the best in Dublin

Although the location was not bad, we were unimpressed with this hotel. It was our least favorite of the ones we stayed at in Ireland. The staff was not very accomodating, and we did not receive the room we requested. The asked if we would like to have a double bed or two twins when we checked in, we said double and received two twins. I asked where I would be able to purchase feminine products and was directed to a store that did not sell them, The coffee machine was broken. In the morning I injured myself and needed a band-aid for bleeding, I asked the front desk and they explained that I oculd go walk and buy some at a store in the city. Not the most helpful. We asked how far Guinness was from there, and they said a 1/2 hour walk and we needed a more expensve tour ticket. Only to find out it was much closer and we didn't need them. Unimpressed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John European Traveler
Business
Hampton, VA
Aug 11, 2011

Old hotel, expensive, not all that great

The North Star Hotel was in an alright location. The room was old and dated. You had to pay 10 euro for 24 hours of internet. Our room was on the main floor next to a busy street/walkway. The walls are super thin. Just not very impressed for the price we paid compared to the other hotels we stayed at throughout Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 1, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

The location is not very good. It's on the north side of the river and I would recommend staying on the south side. The front desk staff was not very helpful. The room was not very clean (the sheets were dirty. The noise from the train is horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anne Whitewood
Business
Southern California
Jun 8, 2011

Adequate

First time in Dublin; picked this hotel the quickest--regret that now. It was adequate. Stayed two days with my adult children. The service was so-so; the front desk was often disinterested in us. The one bright spot was the downstairs concierge... what a great guy! He was instrumental in helping us have a marvelous time in Dublin *outside* our hotel. The location was great, just wished I had researched better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the hop-on/hop-off buses in Dublin. We chose the red bus--a great and cheap way to get around w/out the hassle of a car or expense of a taxi. The ticket was good for two days!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somersworth N.H.
Jun 7, 2011

Good deal for the price

First room was hot & couldnt shut off heat,they were kind enough to change our room to an upgrade.Easy enough to walk to town,but you are on the north side of canal which late at night can be sketchy with kids drinking in the streets,we had no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east coast
Apr 30, 2011

Good location, away from the bars

My friend and I found the hotel comfortable and convenient to shopping streets and the main bus station. It was not far from the main city attractions. The stairs to the reception area are a bit of a pain, but the concierge helped us with our bags. The staff were very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great location if you don't mind walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota
Apr 22, 2011

good and bad

Outstanding reception staff.Excellent location for tourists.Basic amenities in room missing,like microwave oven,frige and tissues.Very unusual that breakfast is not included with hotel stay for everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 19, 2011

A nice stay

The staff was friendly but the rooms were fairly small. This hotel offers the basics but doesn't have any extra frills. The location is good, though. If you are looking to stay in downtown Dublin and are not pickly it is a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Jan 10, 2011

Great stay!

Only minutes walking distance from Trinity College, Temple Bar, and just a few blocks down the road from Dublin's Spire (where both hop-on hop-off bus tours start). Wouldn't have paid the regular hotel rate shown on their website but got a great deal online and chose it based on location. Rooms were great: clean, quiet, and all staff members were vey friendly. Wifi was not free and charges were so expensive we didn't use it (3.50 euro/hour) but there are enough places around town with free wifi we hardly noticed. We took the hop-on hop-off bus tours (which the hotel offered to guests at a discounted rate) and had a great time, it's an easy way to get around town since taxis are so expensive. Overall loved Dublin and would reccommend the North Star to all travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hop on hop off tour buses only run untilnout 5 in the winter and maybe 6:30 in the summer, but the yellow city buses run much later and most will take you back to city center for only 1.60 euro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Great Stay in Dublin

Short walk from Temple Bar and o'Connell St. Very easy check in, lots of friendly people, and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gallaghers Boxty House, 20 Temple Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top