$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

North Star Hotel

4 stars
View map of Amiens Street, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle52
Couples
Surrey
Jul 21, 2012

Value Hotel Central to Dublin

The North Star Hotel is situated close to a train station and is within a short 15 minute walk from Dublin city centre. It took less than 20 minutes to drive there from Dublin airport. The hotel has a small private car park, it t's not FOC but has a nominal fee. Our room was on the 6th flloor, it didn't have much of a veiw but that wasn't an issue for us but location was - the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast selection was very good and the staff were really helpful. Overall, we thought it was a great hotel for the price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Pick up from the hotelfrom cheap way to get your bearings visiting Dublin city is to take a round trip on the red route city bus tour. It's a hop on hop off service that take you to main tourist places of interest.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huntersmeet
Friends
Essex
Apr 9, 2014

lovely hotel

We got the Paddywagon shuttle from the airport which dropped us outside the hotel.. (Payable at hotel reception on arrival.) So that was a great start. The rooms were clean and had lots if extras like shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, soap and shower caps. The decor was very smart throughout. Lovely comfy armchairs. Nice wide barstools in the bar/restaurant. Food was great. Cocktails made by John were the best. There were some rowdy students banging doors of their rooms..... I would stay again but would ask for a quieter room not on the road, as many bars are open to the early hours and turning out is noisey. We stayed in the 2nd night and ate in the wonderful grill. The staff were friendly and professional. We were looked after by Sean, the wonderful Paddy and John, til the wee hours. Some lovely locals popped in to, so we had a great laugh. Its about a twenty minute walk to temple bar, but you pass many good entertainment facilities on the way. O'SHEAS was fabulous with traditional music. EARLS Cafe for huge cakes and filled rolls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

O'Sheas for a great atmosphere and live traditional music

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sb and sb
Friends
Tyne and Wear
Apr 8, 2014

the place to stay

we had stayed at the North Star years ago and now it has had a facelift is really nice. The staff were pleasant and the rooms were spotless and vey comfortable. The full Irish breakfast was piping hot and fresh and there was plenty of it. We stayed in the Temple bar area for our previous visit but would chose the North Star again. There is virtualy no noise from the DART and we were only 10 minutes walk from the centre of things. Dont expect the Plaza -its not, but it is one of the nicest hotels in Dublin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

get a two day ticket for the jump on, jump off bus. That way you can see everything

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck and Janine
Couples
Minneapolis
Mar 18, 2014

Great evening in Dublin

We stayed here for one evening on St Pattys weekend. Check-in was easy. Staff was great and late night staff was even better. Contrary to a previous post, internet was free. The bar was reasonably priced though we didn't eat and can't speak for the food. Location was close to town and the room was clean. We would come back for sure at this price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food and bars in Ranelagh were great and kept us away from the crazy busy kid scene in Temple Bar

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
swisti
Couples
cracow, Poland
Oct 29, 2013

location

very close to the center, unfortunately 10 m from railroad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Owl
Couples
Birmingham UK
Oct 22, 2013

Good location. Easy access to the cities best attractions

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday on a weekend. The location is excellent (although its on a busy main road) as you can walk to the majority of the cities best attractions within 30 minutes. We watched Leinster vs Castre in a Heineken cup rugby match at the RDS ground on Saturday, the atmosphere was amaizing for such a small ground and on Sunday we payed a visit to the Guiness storehouse. Would definately recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melly J
Couples
Washington DC
Oct 17, 2013

A Terrific Surprise!

Getting in at noon, all tired and gross from my travels, I knew I shouldn't be able to check in yet, but I at least wanted to try to drop off my bags for a while. The concierge could see I was tired so he checked to see if any of the rooms were clean. He finally found one that I could get into right away and when I got to the room I found out that he upgraded me to one of their suites! It was such a nice gesture after a long night of travels. The location was also great, as the bus from the airport drops off right around the corner! As well as having a nice cup of coffee in the bar, at a reasonable price! I would definitely stay here again! It was a perfect 2 nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Coffee for 1.80! The cheapest I saw elsewhere was 2euro.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northen girls
Friends
Manchester
Oct 15, 2013

Great value for money

The location is perfect the hotel itself is fab! its clean, comfy, frendly staff. The only negitive thing I could say is the sink in the bathroom had some sort of blockage. The food was beautiul in the restaurant and would defo go back. You can get a taxi right outside the hotel to Temple bar it was about 8.50 euro so not far at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superdad12
Family
New York
Sep 8, 2013

Nice Hotel near main Dublin Hubs

All points of interest are walking distance great food great sights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to grab breakfast at The Bakehouse and certainly have gilato at Gino's

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sue's
Single
uk
Sep 4, 2013

brillient

really enjoyed my stay here the staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms was very comfortable I would recommend this hotel to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

would recommend the shopping places and site seeing there is so much to do and see

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thebakerfour
Family
Oxfordshire
Aug 31, 2013

A great place to stay

A friendly and welcoming hotel in a great location, close to the city centre. When we visited it had been recently redecorated, in a style that reflected the building's Georgian heritage with a modern twist. We stayed in a family room in the hotel's modern extension. It was close to the railway line which runs just behind the hotel, but not too noisy with the windows closed. As a result the room was a bit hot, though once we'd figured out the air conditioning we were comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed the food in the restaurant so much that we ate there all three nights of our stay! The only reason I haven't given this hotel 5 stars is that we did have to choose between some night-time noise (from railway or air conditioning) and a comfortable temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

We very much enjoyed the Viking Splash tour of the city (in an amphibious vehicle), the Book of Kells and the Ark (a wonderful museum that caters specifically to children aged 3-12).

Back to menu Return to top