$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

North Star Hotel

4 stars
View map of Amiens Street, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Owl
Business
Birmingham UK
Oct 22, 2013

Good location. Easy access to the cities best attractions

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday on a weekend. The location is excellent (although its on a busy main road) as you can walk to the majority of the cities best attractions within 30 minutes. We watched Leinster vs Castre in a Heineken cup rugby match at the RDS ground on Saturday, the atmosphere was amaizing for such a small ground and on Sunday we payed a visit to the Guiness storehouse. Would definately recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melly J
Business
Washington DC
Oct 17, 2013

A Terrific Surprise!

Getting in at noon, all tired and gross from my travels, I knew I shouldn't be able to check in yet, but I at least wanted to try to drop off my bags for a while. The concierge could see I was tired so he checked to see if any of the rooms were clean. He finally found one that I could get into right away and when I got to the room I found out that he upgraded me to one of their suites! It was such a nice gesture after a long night of travels. The location was also great, as the bus from the airport drops off right around the corner! As well as having a nice cup of coffee in the bar, at a reasonable price! I would definitely stay here again! It was a perfect 2 nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Coffee for 1.80! The cheapest I saw elsewhere was 2euro.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northen girls
Business
Manchester
Oct 15, 2013

Great value for money

The location is perfect the hotel itself is fab! its clean, comfy, frendly staff. The only negitive thing I could say is the sink in the bathroom had some sort of blockage. The food was beautiul in the restaurant and would defo go back. You can get a taxi right outside the hotel to Temple bar it was about 8.50 euro so not far at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superdad12
Business
New York
Sep 8, 2013

Nice Hotel near main Dublin Hubs

All points of interest are walking distance great food great sights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to grab breakfast at The Bakehouse and certainly have gilato at Gino's

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sue's
Business
uk
Sep 4, 2013

brillient

really enjoyed my stay here the staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms was very comfortable I would recommend this hotel to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

would recommend the shopping places and site seeing there is so much to do and see

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thebakerfour
Business
Oxfordshire
Aug 31, 2013

A great place to stay

A friendly and welcoming hotel in a great location, close to the city centre. When we visited it had been recently redecorated, in a style that reflected the building's Georgian heritage with a modern twist. We stayed in a family room in the hotel's modern extension. It was close to the railway line which runs just behind the hotel, but not too noisy with the windows closed. As a result the room was a bit hot, though once we'd figured out the air conditioning we were comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed the food in the restaurant so much that we ate there all three nights of our stay! The only reason I haven't given this hotel 5 stars is that we did have to choose between some night-time noise (from railway or air conditioning) and a comfortable temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

We very much enjoyed the Viking Splash tour of the city (in an amphibious vehicle), the Book of Kells and the Ark (a wonderful museum that caters specifically to children aged 3-12).

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scott m 6510
Business
newville pa
May 7, 2013

standard rooms

room was great only thing was no mini fridge but bed was large and comfortable and rooms were clean no free internet though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamma58
Business
Portland Oregon
Apr 7, 2013

Great Place

The room was clean and roomy! The beds were very comfortable and the location was perfect. I had rented it because it was close to Connolly train station, but we ended up driving in, the parking was easy and we were able to walk to everything! Breakfast buffet was very good. I would stay there again anytime!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emyo12
Business
London
Mar 30, 2013

Not exactly central but close enough

Stayed in a room close to the railway bridge, but it didn't bother us as some people have said in previous reviews. Room was spacious, modern, perfectly clean and was actually just lovely. Staff in the bar and reception are typical of the friendly, welcoming Dublin attitude that we found in most pubs/ restaurants/attractions. This hotel was around 15 mins walk from Temple Bar and Grafton Road, which we found to be the nicer area of Dublin. But we enjoyed not being on the doorstep of things as it gave us reason to explore! I would recommend you research the area and where's best to go before arriving as O'connell street is an area best stayed away from. If I were ever to return to Dublin I would stay here again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not use the airport taxi drivers if possible, everyone we spoke to had been mercifully over charged. Get airport coach transfer for €5 instead

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StefaniSarem
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel

I loved everything about this hotel. They were friendly and polite. Room service was wonderful and very price friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top