$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

North Star Hotel

4 stars
View map of Amiens Street, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runningsoxfan
Business
Salem, MA
Aug 9, 2014

Great place to stay with easy access

I arrived at the North Star Hotel well before check in and while my room wasn't ready, they housed my luggage and allowed me to rest in the residence lounge. They rushed the room and I was more than pleased. Perfect room, with a balcony! The location is directly across from a major train station with access to the DART, the Luas, interIreland rail, and busses. A couple of blocks down is another Luas station. Dublin is a small city, so you can easily walk everywhere from here. I also recommend checking out a local pub - The Brew Dock - if you are in the mood for a craft beer. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the Luas...it's quick, convenient, and inexpensive. It is safe and easy to figure out. There are two stops (both on the red line) close to the hotel.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HD Perkeo
Business
Oakland, CA.
Aug 4, 2014

Good place to stay. reasonably priced.

The gf ( M38/F36) and I spent the last night of our 3 week eruo vaca here. We needed a decent place close to the city centre for a (relatively Dublin is expensive) good price. That's what we got. Room was clean, reception and concierge helpful and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robudhabi
Business
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Jul 20, 2014

Great Hotel on the North Side of Dublin

My wife and I stayed here for 8 days and this hotel is very, very good for the price. It's on the North Side of the Liffey a little bit away from the trendy bars and nightclubs on the South Side, but this is a plus. You'll meet the locals here and there are excellent pubs with live local music every night of the week nearby. You can get just about anywhere you want to go in 25 minutes walk max and most things are much closer. The concierge was very friendly and helpful in arranging our tours. The staff in the restaurant was warm and welcoming and the food was delicious. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because we thought it was too expensive (13 euro pp), but there are plenty of breakfast spots right outside. Room service was superfast. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The free walking tours at the needle were excellent.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel Carter
Business
San Diego, Ca.
Jul 8, 2014

North Star Hotel review

great location next to train station and public transportation. Nice clean room. My only problem with all the hotels in Ireland is tiny trash cans in the room, no ice machines on the floors and glass shower doors that drip water on the bathroom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenni4
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 28, 2014

Good location, good price

The hotel was a little hot during our stay (we arrived during an unusually hot week) and the A/C had trouble competing. That being said, the wifi was great, the location was easy to walk to and from, and the price was excellent for what we got. Hotel was a little noisy at points due to our room being near a back street that seemed to be a favorite of the occasional late night pub-goer, but overall our stay was a good experience. Much better prices than other hotels in the area with similar amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant attached to the hotel (McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar) is actually really good - though a little expensive. Very easy and nice place to go if you're tired and don't want to walk far to find a good meal.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary and Russ
Business
Denver, CO
May 15, 2014

Great Stay in Dublin

We had a great time at the North Star Hotel. The Staff was Fantastic and the Hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable. The hotel is close to transportation and Short walk to the center of everything in Dublin. Easy walk up Talbot Street to O'Connell Street where you will find numerous shopping, dinning, and tourist information options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friend of Dublin
Business
Romania
May 7, 2014

Sightseeing tour Dublin and Surroundings

This is a greeat hotel. Good value for the 3 star rooms we stayed in. I stayed there twice already and I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station (DART) just outside the hotel. It takes you north and south on the Dublin coastal line. Very nice for hiking and fabulous scenery! Also Temple Bar is within walking distance from the hotel :-))

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huntersmeet
Business
Essex
Apr 9, 2014

lovely hotel

We got the Paddywagon shuttle from the airport which dropped us outside the hotel.. (Payable at hotel reception on arrival.) So that was a great start. The rooms were clean and had lots if extras like shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, soap and shower caps. The decor was very smart throughout. Lovely comfy armchairs. Nice wide barstools in the bar/restaurant. Food was great. Cocktails made by John were the best. There were some rowdy students banging doors of their rooms..... I would stay again but would ask for a quieter room not on the road, as many bars are open to the early hours and turning out is noisey. We stayed in the 2nd night and ate in the wonderful grill. The staff were friendly and professional. We were looked after by Sean, the wonderful Paddy and John, til the wee hours. Some lovely locals popped in to, so we had a great laugh. Its about a twenty minute walk to temple bar, but you pass many good entertainment facilities on the way. O'SHEAS was fabulous with traditional music. EARLS Cafe for huge cakes and filled rolls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

O'Sheas for a great atmosphere and live traditional music

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sb and sb
Business
Tyne and Wear
Apr 8, 2014

the place to stay

we had stayed at the North Star years ago and now it has had a facelift is really nice. The staff were pleasant and the rooms were spotless and vey comfortable. The full Irish breakfast was piping hot and fresh and there was plenty of it. We stayed in the Temple bar area for our previous visit but would chose the North Star again. There is virtualy no noise from the DART and we were only 10 minutes walk from the centre of things. Dont expect the Plaza -its not, but it is one of the nicest hotels in Dublin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

get a two day ticket for the jump on, jump off bus. That way you can see everything

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck and Janine
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 18, 2014

Great evening in Dublin

We stayed here for one evening on St Pattys weekend. Check-in was easy. Staff was great and late night staff was even better. Contrary to a previous post, internet was free. The bar was reasonably priced though we didn't eat and can't speak for the food. Location was close to town and the room was clean. We would come back for sure at this price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food and bars in Ranelagh were great and kept us away from the crazy busy kid scene in Temple Bar

Back to menu Return to top