$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

North Star Hotel

4 stars
View map of Amiens Street, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenni4
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 28, 2014

Good location, good price

The hotel was a little hot during our stay (we arrived during an unusually hot week) and the A/C had trouble competing. That being said, the wifi was great, the location was easy to walk to and from, and the price was excellent for what we got. Hotel was a little noisy at points due to our room being near a back street that seemed to be a favorite of the occasional late night pub-goer, but overall our stay was a good experience. Much better prices than other hotels in the area with similar amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant attached to the hotel (McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar) is actually really good - though a little expensive. Very easy and nice place to go if you're tired and don't want to walk far to find a good meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary and Russ
Business
Denver, CO
May 15, 2014

Great Stay in Dublin

We had a great time at the North Star Hotel. The Staff was Fantastic and the Hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable. The hotel is close to transportation and Short walk to the center of everything in Dublin. Easy walk up Talbot Street to O'Connell Street where you will find numerous shopping, dinning, and tourist information options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friend of Dublin
Business
Romania
May 7, 2014

Sightseeing tour Dublin and Surroundings

This is a greeat hotel. Good value for the 3 star rooms we stayed in. I stayed there twice already and I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station (DART) just outside the hotel. It takes you north and south on the Dublin coastal line. Very nice for hiking and fabulous scenery! Also Temple Bar is within walking distance from the hotel :-))

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huntersmeet
Business
Essex
Apr 9, 2014

lovely hotel

We got the Paddywagon shuttle from the airport which dropped us outside the hotel.. (Payable at hotel reception on arrival.) So that was a great start. The rooms were clean and had lots if extras like shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, soap and shower caps. The decor was very smart throughout. Lovely comfy armchairs. Nice wide barstools in the bar/restaurant. Food was great. Cocktails made by John were the best. There were some rowdy students banging doors of their rooms..... I would stay again but would ask for a quieter room not on the road, as many bars are open to the early hours and turning out is noisey. We stayed in the 2nd night and ate in the wonderful grill. The staff were friendly and professional. We were looked after by Sean, the wonderful Paddy and John, til the wee hours. Some lovely locals popped in to, so we had a great laugh. Its about a twenty minute walk to temple bar, but you pass many good entertainment facilities on the way. O'SHEAS was fabulous with traditional music. EARLS Cafe for huge cakes and filled rolls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

O'Sheas for a great atmosphere and live traditional music

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sb and sb
Business
Tyne and Wear
Apr 8, 2014

the place to stay

we had stayed at the North Star years ago and now it has had a facelift is really nice. The staff were pleasant and the rooms were spotless and vey comfortable. The full Irish breakfast was piping hot and fresh and there was plenty of it. We stayed in the Temple bar area for our previous visit but would chose the North Star again. There is virtualy no noise from the DART and we were only 10 minutes walk from the centre of things. Dont expect the Plaza -its not, but it is one of the nicest hotels in Dublin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

get a two day ticket for the jump on, jump off bus. That way you can see everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck and Janine
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 18, 2014

Great evening in Dublin

We stayed here for one evening on St Pattys weekend. Check-in was easy. Staff was great and late night staff was even better. Contrary to a previous post, internet was free. The bar was reasonably priced though we didn't eat and can't speak for the food. Location was close to town and the room was clean. We would come back for sure at this price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food and bars in Ranelagh were great and kept us away from the crazy busy kid scene in Temple Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
swisti
Business
cracow, Poland
Oct 29, 2013

location

very close to the center, unfortunately 10 m from railroad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Owl
Business
Birmingham UK
Oct 22, 2013

Good location. Easy access to the cities best attractions

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday on a weekend. The location is excellent (although its on a busy main road) as you can walk to the majority of the cities best attractions within 30 minutes. We watched Leinster vs Castre in a Heineken cup rugby match at the RDS ground on Saturday, the atmosphere was amaizing for such a small ground and on Sunday we payed a visit to the Guiness storehouse. Would definately recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melly J
Business
Washington DC
Oct 17, 2013

A Terrific Surprise!

Getting in at noon, all tired and gross from my travels, I knew I shouldn't be able to check in yet, but I at least wanted to try to drop off my bags for a while. The concierge could see I was tired so he checked to see if any of the rooms were clean. He finally found one that I could get into right away and when I got to the room I found out that he upgraded me to one of their suites! It was such a nice gesture after a long night of travels. The location was also great, as the bus from the airport drops off right around the corner! As well as having a nice cup of coffee in the bar, at a reasonable price! I would definitely stay here again! It was a perfect 2 nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Coffee for 1.80! The cheapest I saw elsewhere was 2euro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northen girls
Business
Manchester
Oct 15, 2013

Great value for money

The location is perfect the hotel itself is fab! its clean, comfy, frendly staff. The only negitive thing I could say is the sink in the bathroom had some sort of blockage. The food was beautiul in the restaurant and would defo go back. You can get a taxi right outside the hotel to Temple bar it was about 8.50 euro so not far at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top