$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

North Star Hotel

4 stars
Amiens Street, Dublin, D1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
76 reviews
lovely hotel

We got the Paddywagon shuttle from the airport which dropped us outside the hotel.. (Payable at... See full review

  • huntersmeet
  • Apr 9, 2014
the place to stay

we had stayed at the North Star years ago and now it has had a facelift is really nice. The staff... See full review

  • sb and sb
  • Apr 8, 2014
Recently furbished deluxe city centre hotel

North of the River Liffey stands the beautiful Georgian building housing the North Star Hotel with a particularly cool pedigree. Ireland's literary master, James Joyce, mentioned this landmark in his novel Ulysses. The hotel has been extended to accommodate 161 rooms, an award-winning restaurant, two bars, including a heated beer garden and the new exclusive Premier Club Lounge. Guests can walk to the James Joyce Center or head over the river to Temple Bar and Grafton Street for shopping and entertainment. The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites has just recently completed a 25.5 million refurbishment.

Highlights
  • Stunning 19th century building immortalized in James Joyce's literary masterpiece Ulysses
  • Award-winning McGettigans Restaurant and McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar with heated beer garden
  • Premier rooms enjoy use of exclusive 7th floor club lounge with skyline views
Rooms

The North Star's 161 rooms cater to every kind of traveler. Standard rooms are housed in the original Georgian building, while the hotel's modern addition holds executive and premier rooms and suites. Tastefully decorated, standard and executive rooms come with the usual amenities such as TV, tea and coffee station and trouser press. Additionally, premier rooms and suites include such luxuries as pillow-top beds, goose down bedding, Egyptian cotton sheets, fridge and rainforest shower. Many have a private balcony that offers stunning views of Dublin's skyline. Access to the exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Lounge is available to guests in premier rooms. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The North Star Hotel offers guests an escape from Dublin's busy city center. Enjoy the hotel's award-winning restaurant, McGettigans, or two bars, including the heated beer garden where guests can unwind from a day of meetings or sightseeing with a traditional Irish libation. The hotel features a gym and sauna for all guests. Premier rooms afford access to the relaxing new Premier Club Lounge with stunning views of the city. Wi-Fi access and parking facilities are available (fees apply)

Transportation
  • Hotel car park (fee applies)
  • Luas and DART station (across the street)
  • Dublin bus service 41 and 41B nearby
  • Taxi service available
  • Airport shuttle bus (fee applies)
  • O2 Arena Shuttle bus (fee applies)
Attractions
  • The James Joyce Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Spire of Dublin (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Trinity College (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Croke Park Stadium (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Dublin Convention Centre (0.5 mi/.1 km)
  • Bord Gais Energy Theatre (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Aviva Stadium (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 4 conference and meeting rooms with capacity of 140 guests
  • Complete range of audiovisual facilities available
  • Broadband Internet access
  • Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

53.3518 -6.25
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites is in short walking distance from the O2 Venue (10-15 minutes) Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, The Gaiety Theatre, The Olympia Theatre, The Grand Canal Theatre, The Convention Centre, Trinity College, shopping districts including Henry Street and Grafton Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed North Star Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

North Star Hotel Rooms

Standard double
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Premier Club Rooms
Celebrating a Special Occasion or just fancy a little Pampering ... why not upgrade to our New Premier Club rooms. Recently launched summer 2008, the spacious and contemporary Premier Club rooms offer the ultimate in guest luxury....King size pillow top beds, Goose down duvets and pillows, Egyptian cotton sheets, interactive widescreen LCD TV's with in-house movies, WIFI, personal fridge, laptop safes, tea/coffee making facilities and air-conditioning. Many of our Premier Club rooms have a private terrace or balcony and all rooms have complimentary access to our exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Hospitality Lounge offering spectacular views of Dublin city's skyline. Upgrades are just 30.00 euro per room per night. (Subject to availability).
Non Refundable Room
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Executive Rooms
Our executive rooms at the North Star Hotel Dublin are of an extra-large size to provide added comfort. Each room comes complete with direct-dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and multi-channel television , air-conditioning, trouser press, larger bathroom, Wi-Fi,. Each bedroom is tastefully decorated, bright and designed to international standards and Ideal for the busy corporate guest, or to make your leisure break in Dublin even more relaxing and enjoyable!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.5 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.5 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 0.6 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.6 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.6 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi

Dining

McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar
The North Star Hotel Dublin has a tradition for personal service, excellent cuisine and comfort. The Award Winning McGettigans Restaurant offers a fine display of cuisine to please even the most discerning palate. The Restaurant offers the best of both international and traditional Irish delights, while friendly and welcoming staff will always be available to ensure your evening is one you wont forget for a while. McGettigan's Dublin newest cookhouse eatery & bar offers the best in fine Irish cuisine. At the McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar we are committed to using the finest quality ingredients and we believe that North County Dublin has some of the the best farming land and producers in this country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller with Kids
Business
New York, NY
Aug 28, 2012

Precisely as Expected

The hotel is perfectly situated with everything one could want in a basic hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. We came early but were able to leave our bags and do some sightseeing before we got into our room. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations for The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub -- they're charming, the music is great, it comes with a good dinner and there's a convenient bus that will pick you up and take you there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waterwood Mike
Business
Texas
Aug 26, 2012

2012 Tall Ships Festival

Great location for any Dublin activity. Across the street from Connally Railway Station...one block to bus station & Red Line Luas. Two blocks to financial district & River Liffey...walking distance to O'Connell Street. Limited parking but we were using public transportation anyway. Very clean room...restaurant menu very reasonable priced. Excellant customer service by staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pappy
Business
London, England
Aug 12, 2012

Good budget hotel

Well situated if you don't mind rumbling trains and heavy traffic as background noise. Within walking distance of most sights. A couple of incidents like no towels one day, spare key which was used to access electricity removed by chambermaid another day didn't detract from overall enjoyment. Provided a wicked Irish breakfast (mind you had to pay for it!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eddy Rocket's burger joint should be tried.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike F.
Business
cardiff
Aug 4, 2012

great central location

Great central location for train and bus station although we did want to do a lot of sight seeing by foot. Staff were most helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

o' sheas bar just around the corner was brilliant. entertainment was good to listen to, join in to and also when they spoke about funny things that had happened to them or other people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Essd
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Aug 2, 2012

staying at the North Star

The staff were welcoming and willing to change our room at my request. The website booking allowed me to book a double room but there was no choice given online regarding double or twin beds. at reception and in the breakfast room we found staff helpful and informative. The continental breakfast offered a wide choice of fruits and cereals,etc. Proximity to Connelly station and the bus station was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Book of Kells in Trinity College library is worth a visit. Don't be put off by the lineups as they move very quickly. The presentation was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle52
Business
Surrey
Jul 21, 2012

Value Hotel Central to Dublin

The North Star Hotel is situated close to a train station and is within a short 15 minute walk from Dublin city centre. It took less than 20 minutes to drive there from Dublin airport. The hotel has a small private car park, it t's not FOC but has a nominal fee. Our room was on the 6th flloor, it didn't have much of a veiw but that wasn't an issue for us but location was - the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast selection was very good and the staff were really helpful. Overall, we thought it was a great hotel for the price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Pick up from the hotelfrom cheap way to get your bearings visiting Dublin city is to take a round trip on the red route city bus tour. It's a hop on hop off service that take you to main tourist places of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john42
Business
London, UK
Feb 3, 2012

Convenient

I went there because it is across the road from Connolly Dart & rail station, and is near the Bus Aras transport hub (for the Airport). And because I wanted to be on Dublin's North Side. My room left nothing to be desired and all the staff were delightfully friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys, Grafton Street ranks with the greatest Vienna cafes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DannyH
Business
Limerick
Nov 30, 2011

Disappointing

I was disapppointed when we arrived as we asked for a double room and got a twin i.e two single beds. We rang down to reception and were told we would be changed the following day we accepted, but they did not change our room. When going for a shower, we found out the shower was not working, only cold water came out, after getting someone up to 'fix' it, we were still unable to shower as the water was now boiling hot! and finally, after being told at reception that breakfast was included, we found out when we went down to eat, that we had to pay. In the end, they tried to fob us off by giving us a 'free upgrade' for the next time we stayed, which you could get by being their friend on facebook.....it says a lot about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler on a Budget
Business
California, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Very good for its PRICE!

We stayed in one of the Premier Rooms for 7 days and it was great. The Premier Lounge offered practically every beverage and spectacular views not to mention comfortable lounge chairs. The rooms were very modern and up to date. The king sized bed was a pillow top, great for getting some rest after a long day. The hotel is within walking distance to O'Connell St (10min max) the concierge was very helpful and willing to bend over backwards. The only downside is paying for the internet every day which was 11euros for 24hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent bus
Business
FL
Oct 25, 2011

Good location

It was at a good location not too far from the bus terminal to/from the airport. Rooms are outdated but pretty standard one from 1970's design. As long as it works, fine. Internet is not free and a bit slow though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top