$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

North Star Hotel

4 stars
View map of Amiens Street, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terri C.
Friends
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

Great long weekend

Hotel was in a great location with just a 15 minute easy walk to Temple Bar which means it's great for any of those wanting a night out. Only about 10 minutes to get to the main street as well which is fab. The staff are lovely and the restaurant is excellent. Would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reynoir L.
Friends
N/A
Feb 10, 2015

Great Experience

I LOVED this hotel, its not the CLOSEST to the center of Dublin but if you don't mind walking 10 minutes or hopping in a cab its perfect! The staff was extremely pleasant and outgoing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jade T.
Couples
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Full Irish Experience

The hotel was lovely, the decoration was better than the pictures provided and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean, also we were on the first floor so we heard no noise not even from the train, the only thing I would say is the shower was not that powerful and could do with updating. The hotel was a good base for travelling around Dublin with the tram only 3 mins walk where you could visit all of the main attractions such as Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Kilmeinham, Dublin Zoo and Temple Bar, all of which we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carlie M.
Couples
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Surprise trip for my partners 30th birthday

The north star hotel was lovely, all the staff were polite and the food was excellent. Location wise were were disappointed to say the least. We found the area to be quite dirty and run-down and felt a little unsafe. With regards to Dublin City centre we found it very expensive (12euros for. Beer and coke in some places). The pictures I saw on the site prior to booking were not representative of where we went (in our opinion) All in all apart from the great hotel and thoughorly hospitable, lovely people we were really disappointed with our break in Dublin and will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly
Friends
Manchester, England
Jan 2, 2015

FAB, FAB, FAB

Everything about this hotel was just brilliant. Location, room, staff. Would recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eddie Rockets, Parnell Street.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Culchie
Couples
Galway
Dec 22, 2014

Weekend breaks

The North Star is the perfect location for a weekend break. Close to shops, entertainment, night life. Beside Luas, Bus Aras, Train station and Dart. Excellent food, very clean and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LadsWeekend
Friends
Ballymoney
Dec 15, 2014

Perfect for a short stay

4 lads to one room arrived at 4pm checked in and we're in the room within 5 minutes. Staff were very friendly and helpful, located just opposite the train station and opened to all hours 24hr room service is cheap and fast at any time of the night! Would highly reccommend and we will all be back in the very near future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly12871
Family
Endicott
Nov 16, 2014

Dublin holiday

Hotel is in a wonderful location. Staff is amazing and helpful. Room was always clean and well kept. Would certainly stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eliz's Adventures
Single
Minneapolis
Nov 15, 2014

Dublin at its Finest

Although this hotel is across the street from the Connelley St. train station, there was no external noise and its location to several main shopping streets was excellent. The staff was highly professional and accessible at all times and the restaurant had fabulous food. I will definitely choose to stay here on my next trip to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Several local grocery stores are less than 5 mins away where you can buy really fresh produce and take away food to bring with you while exploring the city - allows for more money for the pubs!

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
machris
Family
Minnesota
Sep 26, 2014

You can probably do better in Dublin.

This hotel is directly across the street from the DART train station and is surrounded on two other sides by elevated train tracks. In addition, the street across the front of the hotel is a major commuter route. The bottom line is dirt and noise, lots of noise all day and all night. The rooms we were in were hot and had no central air. We were provided with a small desk fan. The windows only opened a couple of inches. While the location was only 5 blocks from the Spire, it was not near any of the favorite attractions. The hotel itself and the staff were okay but nothing special and certainly not four star. There is no food at the hotel. And the neighborhood is run down and a little scary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top