$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

North Star Hotel

4 stars
Amiens Street, Dublin, D1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
78 reviews
lovely hotel

We got the Paddywagon shuttle from the airport which dropped us outside the hotel.. (Payable at... See full review

  • huntersmeet
  • Apr 9, 2014
the place to stay

we had stayed at the North Star years ago and now it has had a facelift is really nice. The staff... See full review

  • sb and sb
  • Apr 8, 2014
The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites, is a 4 Star City Centre Hotel located in the heart of Dublin, opposite the Irish Financial Services Centre (IFSC), Connolly Railway Station and Luas tram (direct tram to 02 venue) are around the corner from the central bus station (Busarus). The Aviva Stadium and the RDS is a short trip on the Dart across the road at Connolly Station. The hotel is in short walking distance from the 02 Venue (10-15 Minutes) Temple Bar, OConnell Street, The Gaiety Theatre, The Olympia Theatre, The Grand Canal Theatre, The Convention Centre, Trinity College, shopping districts including Henry Street and Grafton Street. For all Rugby, GAA sports fans and concert goers the North Star Hotel is 10 minutes from Croke Park Stadium. This comfortable and friendly hotel originally built in the early 19th Century and immortalised in James Joyces masterpiece Ulysses boasts 161 bedrooms to date, following the completion of our 25.5 million refurbishment. The original Georgian building encompasses 35 standard bedrooms while the contemporary modern block at the back of the hotel contains 85 air-conditioned Executive rooms and 55 contemporary Premier Club Rooms and Suites and an Exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Hospitality Lounge affording spectacular view of Dublin Citys skyline.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed North Star Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

North Star Hotel Rooms

Standard double
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Premier Club Rooms
Celebrating a Special Occasion or just fancy a little Pampering ... why not upgrade to our New Premier Club rooms. Recently launched summer 2008, the spacious and contemporary Premier Club rooms offer the ultimate in guest luxury....King size pillow top beds, Goose down duvets and pillows, Egyptian cotton sheets, interactive widescreen LCD TV's with in-house movies, WIFI, personal fridge, laptop safes, tea/coffee making facilities and air-conditioning. Many of our Premier Club rooms have a private terrace or balcony and all rooms have complimentary access to our exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Hospitality Lounge offering spectacular views of Dublin city's skyline. Upgrades are just 30.00 euro per room per night. (Subject to availability).
Non Refundable Room
This room offers double bed or twin bed with direct dial telephone, TV, trouser press and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, voicemail, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, ensuite/private bathroom, heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, room service, tea and coffee making facilities and valet service.
Executive Rooms
Our executive rooms at the North Star Hotel Dublin are of an extra-large size to provide added comfort. Each room comes complete with direct-dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and multi-channel television , air-conditioning, trouser press, larger bathroom, Wi-Fi,. Each bedroom is tastefully decorated, bright and designed to international standards and Ideal for the busy corporate guest, or to make your leisure break in Dublin even more relaxing and enjoyable!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.4 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.5 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.5 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.5 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 0.6 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.6 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.6 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi

Dining

McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar
The North Star Hotel Dublin has a tradition for personal service, excellent cuisine and comfort. The Award Winning McGettigans Restaurant offers a fine display of cuisine to please even the most discerning palate. The Restaurant offers the best of both international and traditional Irish delights, while friendly and welcoming staff will always be available to ensure your evening is one you wont forget for a while. McGettigan's Dublin newest cookhouse eatery & bar offers the best in fine Irish cuisine. At the McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar we are committed to using the finest quality ingredients and we believe that North County Dublin has some of the the best farming land and producers in this country.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superdad12
Business
New York
Sep 8, 2013

Nice Hotel near main Dublin Hubs

All points of interest are walking distance great food great sights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to grab breakfast at The Bakehouse and certainly have gilato at Gino's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sue's
Business
uk
Sep 4, 2013

brillient

really enjoyed my stay here the staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms was very comfortable I would recommend this hotel to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

would recommend the shopping places and site seeing there is so much to do and see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thebakerfour
Business
Oxfordshire
Aug 31, 2013

A great place to stay

A friendly and welcoming hotel in a great location, close to the city centre. When we visited it had been recently redecorated, in a style that reflected the building's Georgian heritage with a modern twist. We stayed in a family room in the hotel's modern extension. It was close to the railway line which runs just behind the hotel, but not too noisy with the windows closed. As a result the room was a bit hot, though once we'd figured out the air conditioning we were comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed the food in the restaurant so much that we ate there all three nights of our stay! The only reason I haven't given this hotel 5 stars is that we did have to choose between some night-time noise (from railway or air conditioning) and a comfortable temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

We very much enjoyed the Viking Splash tour of the city (in an amphibious vehicle), the Book of Kells and the Ark (a wonderful museum that caters specifically to children aged 3-12).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scott m 6510
Business
newville pa
May 7, 2013

standard rooms

room was great only thing was no mini fridge but bed was large and comfortable and rooms were clean no free internet though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamma58
Business
Portland Oregon
Apr 7, 2013

Great Place

The room was clean and roomy! The beds were very comfortable and the location was perfect. I had rented it because it was close to Connolly train station, but we ended up driving in, the parking was easy and we were able to walk to everything! Breakfast buffet was very good. I would stay there again anytime!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emyo12
Business
London
Mar 30, 2013

Not exactly central but close enough

Stayed in a room close to the railway bridge, but it didn't bother us as some people have said in previous reviews. Room was spacious, modern, perfectly clean and was actually just lovely. Staff in the bar and reception are typical of the friendly, welcoming Dublin attitude that we found in most pubs/ restaurants/attractions. This hotel was around 15 mins walk from Temple Bar and Grafton Road, which we found to be the nicer area of Dublin. But we enjoyed not being on the doorstep of things as it gave us reason to explore! I would recommend you research the area and where's best to go before arriving as O'connell street is an area best stayed away from. If I were ever to return to Dublin I would stay here again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not use the airport taxi drivers if possible, everyone we spoke to had been mercifully over charged. Get airport coach transfer for €5 instead

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StefaniSarem
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel

I loved everything about this hotel. They were friendly and polite. Room service was wonderful and very price friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blade
Business
Sheffield england
Jan 10, 2013

Very good standard

Fantastic place nice staff good position near bus and dart

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food in the bar and guinness

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reply
Business
london
Nov 28, 2012

good place with good location

Yes! I would recommend this hotel. its central location is ideal for any visitors

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vcalvert
Business
Louisville, ky
Nov 24, 2012

Great location

Hotel is located across from Connelly Rail station with Luas connection and taxi stand. Its also in walking distance to major attractions, like Trinty college and Temple Bar area. Friendly staff, nice rooms. Great Irish breakfast available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top