$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

North Star Hotel

4 stars
View map of Amiens Street, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for North Star Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
helenb super nurse
Business
Redditch Worcs
Aug 14, 2009

Central location

The North Star Hotel is a hotel that has history. It has a contemporary feel with friendly staff. The room we stayed in was clean and on the whole comfortable however the mattress on our double bed had obviously seen better days as we sank in the middle and found it not so comfy other than that the room was adequately stocked with the usual tea/coffee facilities and on the plus side had a wonderful on suite power shower. As a base to explore Dublin it was ideal as it was very close to the train station (literally across the road) and bus station (around the corner) and was about 15min walk from OConnell street. Temple bar was also only about 20min walk from the hotel. On the whole this hotel was good as a base although we did not sample the food on offer as we were booked in as bed only and felt that 10 euros each a little expensive for just a standard breakfast when you could get the same for less elsewhere. Comparing the North Star to other similar priced hotels my husband and I have stayed in we were a little disappointed it is a fairly comfortable hotel but due to its closeness to the train station some rooms could be noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
helenb super nurse
Business
Redditch Worcs
Aug 14, 2009

Central location

The North Star Hotel is a hotel that has history. It has a contemporary feel with friendly staff. The room we stayed in was clean and on the whole comfortable however the mattress on our double bed had obviously seen better days as we sank in the middle and found it not so comfy other than that the room was adequately stocked with the usual tea/coffee facilities and on the plus side had a wonderful on suite power shower. As a base to explore Dublin it was ideal as it was very close to the train station (literally across the road) and bus station (around the corner) and was about 15min walk from OConnell street. Temple bar was also only about 20min walk from the hotel. On the whole this hotel was good as a base although we did not sample the food on offer as we were booked in as bed only and felt that 10 euros each a little expensive for just a standard breakfast when you could get the same for less elsewhere. Comparing the North Star to other similar priced hotels my husband and I have stayed in we were a little disappointed it is a fairly comfortable hotel but due to its closeness to the train station some rooms could be noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia PA
Aug 7, 2009

A Wonderful Experiance

All Good! Verry Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Limerick
Jul 31, 2009

great staff

This hotel is fantastic! The staff was so helpful and so friendly in such a maner that made you feel you are somebody. And we were, we were the guests looking for that something away from home. Great location, just beside the train station and luas; we took the luas to the Jervis shopping centre, it made everything so handy! The room was spacious and cozy and the staff was great. We'll definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

jervis shoping centre

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanners2424
Business
Rialto, Ca.
Jul 15, 2009

Satisfied

decent hotel room in a nice area of dublin. could have used a bit more room. pretty satisfied with the whole package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the no frills traveler
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 14, 2009

good hotel for the price

close to the bus station for travel to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irishman_34
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Don't stay near the train tracks.

Our first night there was right next to the train tracks. Trains came all throughout the day and night. It sounded horrible. No A/C in the room either, so we had to have the window open. After the first night, we changed rooms (for an extra $40) to the renovated part of the hotel, the premier suites. this part of the hotel was night and day compared to the other part. the $40 was worth it. Beware of the tracks. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Coral, FL
Jul 4, 2009

Be careful!

Our room upon check-in was small, no air conditioning, no fan, rock hard bed, no hot water! Just outside the only window was a train station, roaring trains and actual shaking of the bed and furniture all night long. Upon complaining the next morning, we were moved to a much nicer room. If the first romm is an indication of how Orbitz customers are treated, I would think twice about booking through Orbitz again. On the plus side, it is convenient to restaurants, bus stops, and Tmple Bar area. Don't miss that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Temple Bar area is fantastic! A real Irish experience! Good shopping, great restaurants, and authentic Irish pubs. I would recommend Gogarty's or The Quays. Live entertainment, lively crowds, friendly people. Loads of fun.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 30, 2009

Reasonable

Good location, close to bus lines, close to city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store less then a block away, get lunch there instead of at a pub. Dublin is really expensive.

Review of North Star Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 26, 2009

Misrepresented Amenities

The Executive Level room describes WiFi as included in the room. Upon arrival I was asked to pay an extra 14 euros per day for such access!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top