$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

3 stars
View map of Santry Cross, Ballymun Road, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
49 reviews
Excellant Stay

We only stayed one night and caught a flight home the next day. When we checked in the staff... See full review

  • Retired Navy Travler
  • Oct 24, 2013
Great Location

I love how easy it is to get to and from the airport any time of the day! Rooms are clean, neat,... See full review

  • Sea Salt Paint
  • Dec 29, 2014
Friendly airport hotel with extras means a home away from home
The Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, offers comfortable and friendly lodging close to Dublin Airport. Bus service outside the hotel serves guests who wish to explore the city center and attractions and the hotel's regular shuttle service takes travelers to and from the airport. Free car parking is also available. The hotel provides complimentary Internet access and daily newspapers which guests can enjoy in the comfort of their rooms or in Metro Hotel's restaurant and bar, offering healthy options every day.
Friendly service and free parking at this Dublin Airport hotel

 

Highlights
  • Minutes from Dublin Airport by hotel shuttle bus and a short trip into Dublin city center
  • Complimentary parking, Wi-Fi access and daily newspaper
  • Guest accommodations to suit all needs, including two-bedroom apartments with views
Rooms

The Metro's 88 contemporary guest rooms feature free Internet access, plush beds with crisp white duvet, complimentary tea and coffee station, clothes-care facilities, laptop safe and hairdryer. Suites have the added luxury of a separate living area with comfy sofas and a small, fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, toaster, refrigerator and kettle. For guests looking for the comforts of home, Metro apartments offer two double bedrooms, fully-equipped kitchen, living room and balcony with view. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is available throughout the hotel.

Features
The friendly and comfortable Metro Hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travelers, located just a few minutes from Dublin Airport by shuttle (fees apply) and close to public transport and the area's business parks. Complimentary amenities include overnight guest parking, Wi-Fi access and daily newspaper. Reuben's Restaurant and Bar serves breakfast and dinner daily.
Transportation
  • Shuttle bus to Dublin Airport (fees apply)
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • James Joyce Center (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Hugh Lane Municipal Gallery of Modern Art (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Dublin Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Trinity College (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (4.9 mi/ 7.9 km)
Business
  • 4 meeting rooms can hold up to 80 people
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband Internet access
  • Free newspapers
  • Free car parking
  • Airport shuttle service
  • Pads, pens and mineral water included
  • Refreshments available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport Rooms

HOTEL - KING
King Bed/Sleeps 2 Adults/Non Smoking /Free Internet /Free Parking/Tv/Dvd/Iron/Safe
HOTEL - TWIN
Twin Beds/Sleeps 2 Adults/Nonsmoking /Free Internet/ Free Parking/Tv/Dvd/Iron/Safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin City University: 0.4 mi
  • River Tolka: 1.5 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.9 mi
  • Croke Park: 2 mi
  • GAA Museum: 2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 2.2 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 2.3 mi
  • Baile Phib: 2.4 mi
  • Belvedere College: 2.4 mi
  • Clontarf: 2.4 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 2.4 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 2.4 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 2.5 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 2.5 mi
  • Royal Canal: 2.5 mi
  • Dublin City University: 0.4 mi
  • River Tolka: 1.5 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.9 mi
  • Croke Park: 2 mi
  • GAA Museum: 2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 2.2 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 2.3 mi
  • Baile Phib: 2.4 mi
  • Belvedere College: 2.4 mi
  • Clontarf: 2.4 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 2.4 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 2.4 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 2.5 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 2.5 mi
  • Royal Canal: 2.5 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 2.5 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 2.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 2.6 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 2.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 2.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 2.6 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 2.7 mi
  • Kings Inns: 2.7 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 2.8 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 2.8 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Moore Street: 2.8 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 2.8 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 2.8 mi
  • General Post Office: 2.8 mi
  • Arnotts: 2.8 mi
  • The Custom House: 2.8 mi
  • Raheny: 2.9 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • University of Dublin: 2.9 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 2.9 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 2.9 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 2.9 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 2.9 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 2.9 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 2.9 mi
  • River Liffey: 3 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting rooms on our lower ground floor are individually air conditioned, wheel chair accessible, have free WIFI access., LCD projectors, podiums and flipcharts.

Dining

Bistro 9
Bistro 9 offers delicious food in a relaxed atmosphere, with a focus on good value for money and great service. There is complimentary Wi-Fi in both the restaurant & bar along with two coin operated internet terminals. Our two plasma screens show all sporting occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Aug 4, 2011

Go elsewhere!

The non-smoking room smelled of cigarette smoke due to the ventilation system. They switched us to a new room but when we returned from dinner in the mediocre hotel restaurant it too smelled of smoke. There was no air conditioning so we had to leave the window open and the cross walk and traffic were loud during the night. We didn't initially see the hotel and had to turn around twice on nearby streets where vandalized cars were parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, Kentucky
Jul 31, 2011

Not that great

Our toilet was broken...they didn't offer to move us. Our bathroom smelled like stale cigarette smoke. Our tv didn't work very well. The only thing that was good was check in was easy and the shuttle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TMN28
Business
New York
Jun 10, 2014

Not up to par

We chose this hotel because of its close location to the airport, yet short bus ride in to city center. The location was great, it was very easy to find and simple to get to the airport to catch our flight home however, the hotel itself was very disappointing. Kristal at the front desk was wonderful at check in - explaining the wifi, giving us directions and bus information. The room itself was terrible. Immediately after exiting the elevator to head to our room we were hit with a very very strong smell of cigarette smoke throughout the entire floor. Our room was no different and reeked of cigarettes. Even my fiancée who is a former smoker agreed it was too strong and offensive an odor that we couldn't stay in that room. Kristal was wonderful and gave us another room on a different floor. This floor also smelled strongly of smoke, but the room was not that bad. Another oddity to note, the king bed we booked was actually two single beds pushed together, leaving a big uncomfortable seam in the middle of the bed where the mattresses met. Very uncomfortable, especially for a couple that like sleeping next to one another. In the morning we opened our 4th floor window to get a bit of fresh air only to have smoke wafting in from people in the rooms below or next to us smoking out their windows. The young woman at check out didn't seem to care when we told her. We would not stay here again. The entire hotel is plastered with no smoking signs however people clearly smoke inside the hotel on all floors. It may not be a big deal to some, but as a non smoker I can't stand the smell of cigarette smoke and don't want all of my clothes smelling of it when I get home from my trip. Huge disappointment. We will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CraftBrewLover
Business
TN
Aug 20, 2014

Not worth it.

I booked this hotel because of its location close to the airport. I was very disappointed. The bed was bowed and uncomfortable and instead of sleeping on my back, I had to sleep on my side because my knees would be hyper-extended. I can sleep almost anywhere on anything but I couldn't sleep at all on this bed. I slept better on the airplane ride back to the states. They offered no bath amenities other than soap and the back of the remote was missing so the batteries fell out all the time. The airport shuttle which we paid 5 euros/person was late and does not drop you off at the terminal but instead a parking lot 5-10 minutes from the terminal. Skip the shuttle and take a taxi, it will be faster, more convenient and around the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 21, 2010

Unpleasant Stay

The room is tiny; the carpet is old and smelly; the heat is turned off at night; and one has to pay for the hotel shuttle. I booked the second day at Days Hotel and had to cancel and leave after the first day there. I also stayed Bewley's Hotel during this trip (within proximate distance from Days). Everything at Bewley is opposite to this Days Hotel. I would not come back to Days Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler 50
Business
san diego CA
Aug 10, 2013

ok

nothing special about this hotel. close to airport with shuttle service available. lower price than many others is what attracted us for 1 night before flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gmac729
Business
San Diego, ca
Sep 17, 2013

most uncomfortable mattresses ever

Mattresses are lumpy and you can feel the springs coming through the mattress (king). We were offered a room upgrade, but were told all the king mattresses would be the same, due to 2 box springs used to support it. We checked out the room upgrade, and ,seeing and feeling that mattress, we declined. Hotel food was pretty bad and service wasn't great (slow, as is most of Ireland, however). This hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so don't expect any other choices of restaurants nearby, within wAlking distance. Only McDonald's and a coffee shop are walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The main city of Dublin is 15 minutes or so drive away, so if you want convenience, this hotel is not it. Also, there are no other decent restaurants to walk to, so be prepared to have bad hotel food, or go food shopping and spring for a kitchenette.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Mar 23, 2010

needs improvement & attention to details

assigned a smoking room even thought non-smoking requested. took some arm twisting to get this changed.. 2Euro charge/person for airport shuttle even though listed as FREE SHUTTLE to airport.. bathroom drain was plugged, water did not get hot, shower mat was dirty/moldy. doubt I would return when there are other good hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

not in a area safe for walking, hard to find local shopping at night.. you can see it but can't get to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 27, 2009

Tiny, Cramped, NOT close to city center

I had picked the hotel because the map provided made it look like it was close to the Dublin Tourism Center, this was NOT the case. It was a good 30 minutes by bus, or a 15-20 euro cab ride to get to the tourism center, much closer hotels were available. On top of that, the room was TINY - I would be shocked to find out it was much over 100 square feet; the double bed fit, and there were very small pathways around it on three sides, and that was it. If you pushed the chair into the desk and sat down, no one would be able to walk by you. Also, though the bathroom was surprisingly large (given the room) the shower was incredibly tight and small - a little tiny corner unit that I had to contort myself in to wash below my knees. Also, the cab drivers I had warned me that it was located in a bad part of town, and I should not walk around in the evening close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The best thing about my trip to Dublin were the free podcast walking tours provided by the Dublin Tourism center - they are very fascinating and informative, and I would encourage everyone to check them out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore md
Jul 10, 2009

clean, comfortable

great place to end our 10 day holiday. free shuttle service to and from hotel/airport was the selling point. picked up a bus close by to go to city - 1.80/pp. can't beat that! reception ladies were very pleasant and helpful. only thing - supposed to have a king bed in room - was a full size - with something broken in middle of mattress - had to turn it ourselves to sleep on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top