Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

3 stars
View map of Santry Cross, Ballymun Road, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
46 reviews
Emergence event

I had to book this hotel on Friday for a stay on Saturday, following a family emergency. I thought... See full review

  • Emergirl
  • Mar 10, 2015
Great Location

I love how easy it is to get to and from the airport any time of the day! Rooms are clean, neat,... See full review

  • Sea Salt Paint
  • Dec 29, 2014
The Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, offers comfortable and friendly lodging close to Dublin Airport. Bus service outside the hotel serves guests who wish to explore the city center and attractions and the hotel's regular shuttle service takes travelers to and from the airport. Free car parking is also available. The hotel provides complimentary Internet access and daily newspapers which guests can enjoy in the comfort of their rooms or in Metro Hotel's restaurant and bar, offering healthy options every day.
Rooms

The Metro's 88 contemporary guest rooms feature free Internet access, plush beds with crisp white duvet, complimentary tea and coffee station, clothes-care facilities, laptop safe and hairdryer. Suites have the added luxury of a separate living area with comfy sofas and a small, fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, toaster, refrigerator and kettle. For guests looking for the comforts of home, Metro apartments offer two double bedrooms, fully-equipped kitchen, living room and balcony with view. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is available throughout the hotel.

Property features
The friendly and comfortable Metro Hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travelers, located just a few minutes from Dublin Airport by shuttle (fees apply) and close to public transport and the area's business parks. Complimentary amenities include overnight guest parking, Wi-Fi access and daily newspaper. Reuben's Restaurant and Bar serves breakfast and dinner daily.
Highlights
  • Minutes from Dublin Airport by hotel shuttle bus and a short trip into Dublin city center
  • Complimentary parking, Wi-Fi access and daily newspaper
  • Guest accommodations to suit all needs, including two-bedroom apartments with views
Nearby attractions
  • James Joyce Center (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Hugh Lane Municipal Gallery of Modern Art (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Dublin Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Trinity College (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (4.9 mi/ 7.9 km)
Business
  • 4 meeting rooms can hold up to 80 people
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband Internet access
  • Free newspapers
  • Free car parking
  • Airport shuttle service
  • Pads, pens and mineral water included
  • Refreshments available
Transportation
  • Shuttle bus to Dublin Airport (fees apply)
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Taxi service available

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport also booked these hotels.

★★★
$66
3.7 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$116
4.1 / 5 37 reviews
★★★
$48
3.7 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$140
3.9 / 5 105 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.3 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$86
3.2 / 5 47 reviews
★★★
$91
4.1 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★
$112
3.2 / 5 68 reviews

Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport Rooms

HOTEL - KING
King Bed/Sleeps 2 Adults/Non Smoking /Free Internet /Free Parking/Tv/Dvd/Iron/Safe
HOTEL - TWIN
Twin Beds/Sleeps 2 Adults/Nonsmoking /Free Internet/ Free Parking/Tv/Dvd/Iron/Safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin City University: 0.4 mi
  • River Tolka: 1.5 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.9 mi
  • Croke Park: 2 mi
  • Gallery 29: 2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 2.2 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 2.3 mi
  • Baile Phib: 2.4 mi
  • Belvedere College: 2.4 mi
  • Clontarf: 2.4 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 2.4 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 2.4 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 2.5 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 2.5 mi
  • Royal Canal: 2.5 mi
  • Dublin City University: 0.4 mi
  • River Tolka: 1.5 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.9 mi
  • Croke Park: 2 mi
  • Gallery 29: 2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 2.2 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 2.3 mi
  • Baile Phib: 2.4 mi
  • Belvedere College: 2.4 mi
  • Clontarf: 2.4 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 2.4 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 2.4 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 2.5 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 2.5 mi
  • Royal Canal: 2.5 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 2.5 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 2.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 2.6 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 2.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 2.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 2.6 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 2.7 mi
  • Kings Inns: 2.7 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 2.8 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 2.8 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Moore Street: 2.8 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 2.8 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 2.8 mi
  • An Post Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Arnotts: 2.8 mi
  • The Custom House: 2.8 mi
  • Raheny: 2.9 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • University of Dublin: 2.9 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 2.9 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 2.9 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 2.9 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 2.9 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 2.9 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 2.9 mi
  • River Liffey: 3 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting rooms on our lower ground floor are individually air conditioned, wheel chair accessible, have free WIFI access., LCD projectors, podiums and flipcharts.

Dining

Bistro 9
Bistro 9 offers delicious food in a relaxed atmosphere, with a focus on good value for money and great service. There is complimentary Wi-Fi in both the restaurant & bar along with two coin operated internet terminals. Our two plasma screens show all sporting occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Indianapolis, Indiana
Aug 4, 2011

Go elsewhere!

The non-smoking room smelled of cigarette smoke due to the ventilation system. They switched us to a new room but when we returned from dinner in the mediocre hotel restaurant it too smelled of smoke. There was no air conditioning so we had to leave the window open and the cross walk and traffic were loud during the night. We didn't initially see the hotel and had to turn around twice on nearby streets where vandalized cars were parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the airport.

Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lexington, Kentucky
Jul 31, 2011

Not that great

Our toilet was broken...they didn't offer to move us. Our bathroom smelled like stale cigarette smoke. Our tv didn't work very well. The only thing that was good was check in was easy and the shuttle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TMN28
Couples
New York
Jun 10, 2014

Not up to par

We chose this hotel because of its close location to the airport, yet short bus ride in to city center. The location was great, it was very easy to find and simple to get to the airport to catch our flight home however, the hotel itself was very disappointing. Kristal at the front desk was wonderful at check in - explaining the wifi, giving us directions and bus information. The room itself was terrible. Immediately after exiting the elevator to head to our room we were hit with a very very strong smell of cigarette smoke throughout the entire floor. Our room was no different and reeked of cigarettes. Even my fiancée who is a former smoker agreed it was too strong and offensive an odor that we couldn't stay in that room. Kristal was wonderful and gave us another room on a different floor. This floor also smelled strongly of smoke, but the room was not that bad. Another oddity to note, the king bed we booked was actually two single beds pushed together, leaving a big uncomfortable seam in the middle of the bed where the mattresses met. Very uncomfortable, especially for a couple that like sleeping next to one another. In the morning we opened our 4th floor window to get a bit of fresh air only to have smoke wafting in from people in the rooms below or next to us smoking out their windows. The young woman at check out didn't seem to care when we told her. We would not stay here again. The entire hotel is plastered with no smoking signs however people clearly smoke inside the hotel on all floors. It may not be a big deal to some, but as a non smoker I can't stand the smell of cigarette smoke and don't want all of my clothes smelling of it when I get home from my trip. Huge disappointment. We will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CraftBrewLover
Couples
TN
Aug 20, 2014

Not worth it.

I booked this hotel because of its location close to the airport. I was very disappointed. The bed was bowed and uncomfortable and instead of sleeping on my back, I had to sleep on my side because my knees would be hyper-extended. I can sleep almost anywhere on anything but I couldn't sleep at all on this bed. I slept better on the airplane ride back to the states. They offered no bath amenities other than soap and the back of the remote was missing so the batteries fell out all the time. The airport shuttle which we paid 5 euros/person was late and does not drop you off at the terminal but instead a parking lot 5-10 minutes from the terminal. Skip the shuttle and take a taxi, it will be faster, more convenient and around the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler 50
Family
san diego CA
Aug 10, 2013

ok

nothing special about this hotel. close to airport with shuttle service available. lower price than many others is what attracted us for 1 night before flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gmac729
Couples
San Diego, ca
Sep 17, 2013

most uncomfortable mattresses ever

Mattresses are lumpy and you can feel the springs coming through the mattress (king). We were offered a room upgrade, but were told all the king mattresses would be the same, due to 2 box springs used to support it. We checked out the room upgrade, and ,seeing and feeling that mattress, we declined. Hotel food was pretty bad and service wasn't great (slow, as is most of Ireland, however). This hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so don't expect any other choices of restaurants nearby, within wAlking distance. Only McDonald's and a coffee shop are walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The main city of Dublin is 15 minutes or so drive away, so if you want convenience, this hotel is not it. Also, there are no other decent restaurants to walk to, so be prepared to have bad hotel food, or go food shopping and spring for a kitchenette.

Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
maryland
Mar 23, 2010

needs improvement & attention to details

assigned a smoking room even thought non-smoking requested. took some arm twisting to get this changed.. 2Euro charge/person for airport shuttle even though listed as FREE SHUTTLE to airport.. bathroom drain was plugged, water did not get hot, shower mat was dirty/moldy. doubt I would return when there are other good hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

not in a area safe for walking, hard to find local shopping at night.. you can see it but can't get to it.

Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 27, 2009

Tiny, Cramped, NOT close to city center

I had picked the hotel because the map provided made it look like it was close to the Dublin Tourism Center, this was NOT the case. It was a good 30 minutes by bus, or a 15-20 euro cab ride to get to the tourism center, much closer hotels were available. On top of that, the room was TINY - I would be shocked to find out it was much over 100 square feet; the double bed fit, and there were very small pathways around it on three sides, and that was it. If you pushed the chair into the desk and sat down, no one would be able to walk by you. Also, though the bathroom was surprisingly large (given the room) the shower was incredibly tight and small - a little tiny corner unit that I had to contort myself in to wash below my knees. Also, the cab drivers I had warned me that it was located in a bad part of town, and I should not walk around in the evening close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The best thing about my trip to Dublin were the free podcast walking tours provided by the Dublin Tourism center - they are very fascinating and informative, and I would encourage everyone to check them out.

Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
micko
Friends
waterford
Mar 31, 2014

Handy for airport

done exactly what i needed it for, close to the airport, no frills just an over night stop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Metro Hotel and Apartments Dublin Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gj2906
Couples
Ireland
Nov 26, 2013

One night stay

We stayed here for one night as we were collecting relatives from the airport early on the Sunday Morning. Parking was limited outside the hotel. When we booked in the girl on the desk was pleasant enough,telling us all about the meal specials. What she neglected to to tell us was that there was 2 underground car parks,which were secure. we had alot of valuable gear in the car, (golf Bags). but were never advised about the secure parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top