$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

4 stars
View map of Cardiff Lane,, Sir John Rogerson’s Quay, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DellaVee
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 1, 2013

Really fantastic!

After a few weeks of driving around Ireland and staying in (very lovely but small) B and B's, walking into the Hotel Maldron Cardiff Lane was awesome. Very luxurious, super clean, and well staffed, with a couple of good bars, a decent restaurant, and nice areas to lounge. My room was very large, well appointed, and had a balcony with a view of the Liffey, all at a lesser rate than I found anywhere else in town. The hotel is also well situated- it is about a twenty minute walk from the center of Dublin, but its position on the Liffey is lovely, and the neighborhood is safe and quiet. If you wanted to take a taxi to town, it would cost you about 6 Euro. The only room for improvement is in the room service. The first time they sent up the wrong item, but were great and fast about replacing it. The second time they charged me for an add-on item that I did not request or receive. I did not notice the error until the next day when I reviewed the receipt. I assume that they would have made it right, but two errors in two orders are not good odds. Overall, a great experience. On any return trip to Dublin, Hotel Maldron Cardiff Lane has my business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
relawyer
Business
San Rafael, CA
Jul 23, 2013

Great hotel, great location, great fitness center!

This really was an incredible value. Biggest, best fitness center I've ever seen at a hotel. It's so good, it's open to the public and has members from the local area. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Huge thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great coffee at Bakers and The Art of Coffee nearby.

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken travels too much
Business
Boulder Colorado
May 24, 2014

Great athletic club

good service, great athletic club, awesome pool, friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Oct 27, 2010

Maldron on Cardiff

Good hotel for the money and only 12 minute walk to downtown. The hotel was nice. The shower in our room worked but you could only take a warm shower as when we tried to take a hot shower the water still came out of the faucet and was scorching hot on your feet. Room 621

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Future Repeat Customers
Business
Herndon, VA
Nov 8, 2009

A Great Place to Stay

This hotel is located in a quiet area, yet within easy walking distance of the major attractions and public transportation. We were very impressed that the desk clerk was able to let us check in around noon, when we arrived very tired after a 10 hour flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the Dublin Pass and Freedom Pass if you will be visiting a lot of Dublin's attractions. At the Maldron, enjoy their breakfast buffet. Be sure to get a discount voucher at the front desk. Their sausages are the best I've ever eaten!

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrogate, UK
Sep 15, 2009

Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

The hotel itself is pretty top notch. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, which is probably fine most of the year, except we actually had warm weather during our stay and the room did get warm and stuff. The windows don't open much to allow for any air flow. We also like to have some background noise when sleeping, like a fan, so the rooms were way to quite. The hotel is a little off the beaten path from the traditional tourist attractions in Dublin. It is about a 15-30 minute walk to O'Connell Street where the main bus lines run, or you can walk up to Pearse St. and catch one of the buses that runs up to Trinity College. There really isn't much selection for food near the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant called Stir, which has decent food, but it is expensive. The breakfast buffet is a mixture of hot and cold food, with a little bit of everything. Not great, but decent for 10 Euros/person. There is a little grocery store about 10 minutes away (by foot) for any necessities or other food items you can't live without. And over by the docks there are three other restaurants to choose from, just about 5 minutes away when walking. I imagine there will be much more going in this area eventually, with the O2 across the river and the new Event Center that is being built in very close proximity to the hotel. The area is bustling with new construction, so lots of potential in the future! The service was great. Hotel staff helped out immensely trying to find the right bus stops and buses to get on, while also making a couple of recommendations of where to eat and what to see. They also offer free luggage storage if you get in before your room is available or check out before your flight leaves at night. The pool was nice, but bring your own swim cap, or you will have to buy one there. The gym is also pretty nice. Dublin is a great city and lots of fun, but staying closer to city centre is more ideal for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Guiness Storehouse was excellent for any beer lover. The Dublin Zoo seems a little unorganized, or at least not crowd friendly. Visiting on a weekday may not be so bad. The Green Hop-on/Hop-off bus tours were worth the money and take you around to 23 different stops throughout the city and a couple of the bus drivers really made the trips more memorable and interesting!

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Oct 12, 2010

Nice hotel for the price

Very nice hotel. Large rooms, great breakfast and nice bar on the ground floor. Only issue is that the hotel could be a little closer to city center (about a 20-25 minute walk) and taxis are expensive. Overall though, a great hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob11
Business
Wichita, KS, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Super anniversary treatment

We stayed at the Maldron Hotel, Cardiff Lane, Dublin, for two nights following a two-week vacation/40th anniversary tour of Ireland. It was an excellent experience! The hotel is located within walking distance of downtown Dublin (Grafton Street and Trinity College, etc.), and not far from the Red line LUAS, with which we journeyed to the Guiness Storehouse--not to be missed! The hotel's Vertigo bar/restaurant was very comfortable to watch Irish football, and The Ferryman pub on the corner along the Liffey River was outstanding. We would be happy to return to the Maldron Hotel anytime we're in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Famine Memorial (sculptures) and the tour of the "Jeanie Johnston" Famine Ship replica tied up nearby on the Liffey River was a profound experience, as both my wife and my Irish immigrant ancestors were refugees from the 1847-1851 Great Hunger, when the potato crops failed.

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albuquerque, NM
Apr 28, 2011

good location

Room was comfortable and close to train and busses. Took the dart to Howth and really enjoyed the afternoon there. Would have spent more time at Trinity College but were on a tour and limited to time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveldreamer1970
Business
virginia beach, virginia
Mar 23, 2010

I would stay there again

Do not be put off that the hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the city center. THE CITY CENTER IS LOUD and it was nice to get away from all of the noise, people and traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The 1916 Rebellion walking tour, the Irish House Party, Food Folklore and Fairies, and the Day Tour of Wicklow (http://www.coachtoursofireland.ie/) were highlights of our stay.

Back to menu Return to top