$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 20, 2015

Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

4 stars
View map of Cardiff Lane,, Sir John Rogerson’s Quay, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
50 reviews
Great hotel!

Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room with a very nice view! Will definitely stay again! See full review

  • Brandy H.
  • Apr 12, 2015
One Night Stay

Very basic hotel, extremely clean, nice location near financial district. No complaints. See full review

  • Vikr
  • Feb 18, 2015
River views and modern luxury on Dublin's South Bank

Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane is steps away from nightlife in this burgeoning South Bank neighborhood as well as the 3Arena, Croke Park and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre. The hotel houses two of the area's best spots for dining and lounging, Stir restaurant and Vertigo bar. A 22-meter heated pool, spa and fitness club provide opportunity for guests to relax. The hotel perches over the River Liffey, a quick stroll from the new Samuel Beckett Bridge in an area dotted with trendy shops and bars.

Highlights
  • Located in South Bank close to nightlife, arts venues and Convention Centre Dublin
  • Restaurant serving Irish and European cuisine and popular bar
  • Spa, pool and gym with complimentary group classes
  • French windows overlook the River Liffey in most rooms
Rooms
Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane has 304 guest rooms, all with complimentary broadband Internet service, work desks and coffee and tea stations. The hotel's 34 executive rooms feature additional workspace, upgraded appointments and in-room safes. There is a dedicated smoking floor and 24-hour room service is available. Rooms facing the river have balconies.
Features

Both Stir restaurant and the lively Vertigo bar offer pre-theater menus for those attending the Bord Gais Energy Theatre next door. Stir serves Irish and European cuisine in a room suitable for business meetings as well as family meals. Theater-style meeting spaces offer complimentary Wi-Fi and presentation tools, as well as access to the hotel's health and fitness club. Five therapy rooms offer intense beauty treatments. Inside the hotel the look is clean, simple and instantly comfortable.

Transportation
  • Short walk to Spencer Dock Luas stop
  • Short walk to Dublin Bus stop
  • Discounted parking
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Convention Centre Dublin
  • 3Arena
  • Temple Bar
  • Bord Gais Energy Theatre
  • Trinity College
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Dublin Castle
Business
  • Five meeting rooms can accommodate up to 50 people
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, flip charts and presentation materials
  • Work desks in every room and extra work space in executive rooms
  • Direct-dial phones in rooms, as well as complimentary broadband Internet
  • Hotel situated next to the Convention Center Dublin

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane Rooms

Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double or 1 twin bed with Cable/Satellite TV, Ensuite Bath & Power Shower, Heating, Work Desk, Direct Dial Telephone,Complimentary Wi-Fi, Iron/Ironing board, Tea/Coffee facilities, Trouser Press, Hairdryer & room service.
Executive Rooms
These stylish Executive Rooms measure 28sqm in size and have a combined lounge area in the room. They boast a King Sized Bed with crisp white duvet and pillows, fluffy bathrobes and slippers. The rooms are further enhanced with a coffee machine, mineral water and chocolates. Some of the Executive rooms also feature balconies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.2 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.2 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • 3Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.6 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Port: 0.6 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.6 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.6 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.8 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.8 mi

Dining

Stir Restaurant
Restaurant offers an array of both Irish & European dishes to tempt your taste buds. Each dish is carefully prepared by team of expert chef's and is complimented by a fantastic choice of fine wines and STIR has teamed with Club Vitae to create some healthy eating options. Designed to reflect the cosmopolitan nature of the area, STIR can accommodate a range of guest requirements, from families to couples and corporate guests to lone travellers on business. It is an ideal venue for business luncheons, evening meals and special events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santinha
Jersey
Dec 4, 2012

Nice hotel

We swopped to a smoking room which wasn't as nice. There was no hot water which wasn't fixed when we 1st mentioned. After having another cold shower i mention again and finally we got moved. The. Bar is nice. After all i would recommend this hotel, as it's in a nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris2
Business
UK
Apr 18, 2013

Maldron, Dublin

Corridors were dirty: full of dirty sheets/towels and plates with remains of food all day. We were given the wrong room type and it wasn't changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Sep 11, 2009

Construction all around

The Maldron Hotel was nice inside, thats about it. There was so much construction going on around the hotel that my husband and I didnt sleep past 6am. We had to leave our balcony door open to get any kind of air in the room but then if we left the door open we heard construction going on at 6am. There was absolutely no parking if so it was $35.00 euros a day. Thats ridiclous. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Howcanetravels
Business
Navarre Beach Fl
May 28, 2009

Modern hotel on the outskirts of Dublin

The hotel was beautiful. The walls are paper thin. The staff was very kind, however they did not have enough information on the area. We finally found a market, bakery, and cafe located only 2 blocks from the hotel on the river side, only from the taxi driver. We used a blue eco cab, free, from O'Connel street to get back to the hotel. Wonderful, and the driver told us where alot of local places were. To use the pool, bring your bathing cap. Internet is only usable for 1.5 hours at a time in your room. The safe deposit boxes were free and fit our lap top and imp. papers etc. Always carry an umbrella

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a multi day bus pass to use for the hop on off bus, this allows you to use the Dublin city bus as well. We combined this w/the N and S coastal tour and saved alot of Euros. In the city use an Eco Cab, free. Penneys is great for shopping, Carrols for souveniers. We ate at Flanigans and it was great. The fresh crois. and bakery items at the market were reasonable and tasty in Temple Bar. Ask the locals where to find unusual shopping and Eateries. Try to include a trip to Western Ireland, if you have 4 people it might be worth it to hire a taxi for the day, or rent a car. Dublin is a walking city, not handicap accessible. Toilets although the cleanest, they are located down many flights of stairs.

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeltaFoxtrot
Business
Dublin
Aug 28, 2012

Choice of Noisy or Airless room

Reasonable hotel, in reasonable location with reasonable rates and friendly staff, experience badly spoiled a room with absolutely no ventialtion, requiring a window to be opened onto a noisy street. - Result a long sleepless night - Won't be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chilly traveller
Business
Dublin
Feb 26, 2013

Just ok

We arrived early to find that we could check into our hotel room early - great after an early morning flight. However, the room was large but extremely cold, only to be told by reception that the heating is only turned on for a few hours a day (considering that its only 2 degrees c outside - you'd think they'd leave it on for longer). We asked for an electric heater, which we needed all weekend. The pool area is ok, but there weren't any loungers so you couldn't relax with a magazine or a book. But the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were all great. We went to the Heaven beauty room to book some treatments, only to be told that the therapist works in other hotels and would have to be booked well in advance. But looking at the grubby surrounding in there, and the lack of relaxing ambience, maybe it was a blessing in disguise. The hotel was quite far from the main shopping areas, and for the night life - we had to get a taxi at 8 euros each time. Overall, an ok hotel, but I wouldn't book it for the spa area or the location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windham, NH
Sep 20, 2009

Location is everything...

Do not expect early arrival accommodations...this hotel is always booked because this is where the travel tour groups put up their guests. While we were there, 3 different tour groups were there, hence 100% occupancy. We waited FOUR HOURS for a room to become available after coming in from a red eye. If you are renting a car, parking is non existent and quite a hassle and the staff is rude and not very helpful nor knowledgeable. It is about an 8 block walk to the Temple Bar area...quite a hassle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is in a remote location...avoid it at all costs!!!

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zurich
Jul 27, 2009

A good hotel

The hotel is a bit out of the way if you are not going to the convention center. This extra distance out of the city center is made up for by the helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mons, Belgium
Aug 24, 2009

Good Stay - Hotel food needs work!

The Hotel was very good and clean. Room size was average size. The location was good not great but good. We were about 1 mile from the city center in what was the warehouse area that they are refurbishing. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was clean and quiet. Our only complaint was the food was even below hotel food standards. I try not to eat at Hotels most of the time but when you arrive late at night you usually don't have a choice. Most of the items on the menu were not available and the chicken that I ordered tasted like it was reheated from a couple of days ago. The one other issue is that my wife forgot her toothbrush and the hotel does not have a store inside it nor one that is close by, nor do they keep any kind of tolietrie items themselves. Other than those two things I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Temple Bar area is great if you're under 30 or looking to get really really drunk. The hotel reccommended a very cool jazz bar and we were extremely happy with it.

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joseph Racconti
Business
Brilliant, Ohio
Dec 8, 2014

Not like the pictures, but not the worst.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. This is one of the most important things to us. Unfortunately another thing that we noticed right off the bat was the fact that the lobby seemed dirty. Not filthy, just in need of a decent scrubbing. The hotel restaurant and bar were overpriced as expected, but the bar was not so overpriced that you couldn't spend some time in there on the especially rainy nights. The hotel sits in a good spot. Its about a 5 minute walk from the busy parts of the city so you don't hear all the people and traffic you would staying right in the thick of it. In our room two of the lamps and out exhaust fan in the bathroom were broken which was disappointing, but it was easy to get over as the room was cheap. Service was always good with the exception with a real jerk that worked in the bar and seemed to hate his life, job, and everyone around here. We would definitely stay there again if we make it back to Dublin. The low cost compared to the hotels around it gave us a lot of extra money to play with while we were there. That's the real fun of a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Howcanetravels
Business
Navarre Beach Fl
May 28, 2009

Modern hotel on the outskirts of Dublin

The hotel was beautiful. The walls are paper thin. The staff was very kind, however they did not have enough information on the area. We finally found a market, bakery, and cafe located only 2 blocks from the hotel on the river side, only from the taxi driver. We used a blue eco cab, free, from O'Connel street to get back to the hotel. Wonderful, and the driver told us where alot of local places were. To use the pool, bring your bathing cap. Internet is only usable for 1.5 hours at a time in your room. The safe deposit boxes were free and fit our lap top and imp. papers etc. Always carry an umbrella

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a multi day bus pass to use for the hop on off bus, this allows you to use the Dublin city bus as well. We combined this w/the N and S coastal tour and saved alot of Euros. In the city use an Eco Cab, free. Penneys is great for shopping, Carrols for souveniers. We ate at Flanigans and it was great. The fresh crois. and bakery items at the market were reasonable and tasty in Temple Bar. Ask the locals where to find unusual shopping and Eateries. Try to include a trip to Western Ireland, if you have 4 people it might be worth it to hire a taxi for the day, or rent a car. Dublin is a walking city, not handicap accessible. Toilets although the cleanest, they are located down many flights of stairs.

Back to menu Return to top