$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

4 stars
View map of Cardiff Lane,, Sir John Rogerson’s Quay, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrogate, UK
Sep 15, 2009

Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

The hotel itself is pretty top notch. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, which is probably fine most of the year, except we actually had warm weather during our stay and the room did get warm and stuff. The windows don't open much to allow for any air flow. We also like to have some background noise when sleeping, like a fan, so the rooms were way to quite. The hotel is a little off the beaten path from the traditional tourist attractions in Dublin. It is about a 15-30 minute walk to O'Connell Street where the main bus lines run, or you can walk up to Pearse St. and catch one of the buses that runs up to Trinity College. There really isn't much selection for food near the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant called Stir, which has decent food, but it is expensive. The breakfast buffet is a mixture of hot and cold food, with a little bit of everything. Not great, but decent for 10 Euros/person. There is a little grocery store about 10 minutes away (by foot) for any necessities or other food items you can't live without. And over by the docks there are three other restaurants to choose from, just about 5 minutes away when walking. I imagine there will be much more going in this area eventually, with the O2 across the river and the new Event Center that is being built in very close proximity to the hotel. The area is bustling with new construction, so lots of potential in the future! The service was great. Hotel staff helped out immensely trying to find the right bus stops and buses to get on, while also making a couple of recommendations of where to eat and what to see. They also offer free luggage storage if you get in before your room is available or check out before your flight leaves at night. The pool was nice, but bring your own swim cap, or you will have to buy one there. The gym is also pretty nice. Dublin is a great city and lots of fun, but staying closer to city centre is more ideal for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Guiness Storehouse was excellent for any beer lover. The Dublin Zoo seems a little unorganized, or at least not crowd friendly. Visiting on a weekday may not be so bad. The Green Hop-on/Hop-off bus tours were worth the money and take you around to 23 different stops throughout the city and a couple of the bus drivers really made the trips more memorable and interesting!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Sep 11, 2009

Construction all around

The Maldron Hotel was nice inside, thats about it. There was so much construction going on around the hotel that my husband and I didnt sleep past 6am. We had to leave our balcony door open to get any kind of air in the room but then if we left the door open we heard construction going on at 6am. There was absolutely no parking if so it was $35.00 euros a day. Thats ridiclous. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mons, Belgium
Aug 24, 2009

Good Stay - Hotel food needs work!

The Hotel was very good and clean. Room size was average size. The location was good not great but good. We were about 1 mile from the city center in what was the warehouse area that they are refurbishing. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was clean and quiet. Our only complaint was the food was even below hotel food standards. I try not to eat at Hotels most of the time but when you arrive late at night you usually don't have a choice. Most of the items on the menu were not available and the chicken that I ordered tasted like it was reheated from a couple of days ago. The one other issue is that my wife forgot her toothbrush and the hotel does not have a store inside it nor one that is close by, nor do they keep any kind of tolietrie items themselves. Other than those two things I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Temple Bar area is great if you're under 30 or looking to get really really drunk. The hotel reccommended a very cool jazz bar and we were extremely happy with it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Aug 15, 2009

Maldron on Cardiff in Dublin

Due to other plans, we didn't use the gym or pool but they seemed to be first rate. There is a lot of construction in the area right now, but it didn't take away from the Hotel. Located about 2 blocks from the Canal Square, 2 blocks from the river Liffey, 7 Euro cab ride to the central bus/tram station or is easily walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a Dublin Bus pass at the airport. 20 Euro for 5 days riding included airport transportation, bus tours, etc. and there are scads of Dublin Bus routes and busses. Incidentally, the staff at the hotel said people who use Orbitz get the best deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 27, 2009

Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

The hotel was much better than expected. Comfortable and very clean rooms, good towels. We were 4 days in Dublin as tourists and the only disadvantage was its location. It's in the business district, lots of building going on in the area and slightly deserted at night. Also, a good walk to transportation. All in all, though, we liked the fact that the rooms were spacious, clean, with internet access and quiet for a morning sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zurich
Jul 27, 2009

A good hotel

The hotel is a bit out of the way if you are not going to the convention center. This extra distance out of the city center is made up for by the helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Jun 1, 2009

Great staff and amenities

Enjoyed the trip, only had problems with car park, this hotel did not have one and it was very costly. Had to turn in the car early as parking was over $35 Euro a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Had to take Taxi's if wanting to go eat or just eat at the Hotel. Shopping and other restaurants are a distance. Bus line was several blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Howcanetravels
Business
Navarre Beach Fl
May 28, 2009

Modern hotel on the outskirts of Dublin

The hotel was beautiful. The walls are paper thin. The staff was very kind, however they did not have enough information on the area. We finally found a market, bakery, and cafe located only 2 blocks from the hotel on the river side, only from the taxi driver. We used a blue eco cab, free, from O'Connel street to get back to the hotel. Wonderful, and the driver told us where alot of local places were. To use the pool, bring your bathing cap. Internet is only usable for 1.5 hours at a time in your room. The safe deposit boxes were free and fit our lap top and imp. papers etc. Always carry an umbrella

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a multi day bus pass to use for the hop on off bus, this allows you to use the Dublin city bus as well. We combined this w/the N and S coastal tour and saved alot of Euros. In the city use an Eco Cab, free. Penneys is great for shopping, Carrols for souveniers. We ate at Flanigans and it was great. The fresh crois. and bakery items at the market were reasonable and tasty in Temple Bar. Ask the locals where to find unusual shopping and Eateries. Try to include a trip to Western Ireland, if you have 4 people it might be worth it to hire a taxi for the day, or rent a car. Dublin is a walking city, not handicap accessible. Toilets although the cleanest, they are located down many flights of stairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hackettstown, NJ
Apr 22, 2009

maldron hotel- Dublin

We stayed 7 days in Dublin and LOVED the Maldron hotel. It was clean and within easy walking distance to just about everything: Temple Bar, Grafton Street, the parks, and the Liffey- which made it easy to navigate. We used the fitness center everyday- most days we went sightseeing, returned to the hotel to swim or hot tub, have a cup of tea, and then go out again for dinner and the pubs. We especially appreciated the electric kettle in our room; it was so fast and spotless, and the restaurant in the lobby kept us provided with plenty of milk and tea and sugar since there were four of us and we quickly finished the tea provided by housekeeping. Also, the Maldron is very close to the Tara train station and the bus stops. It was quiet at night because it is in the business district. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious. We will definitely stay at a Maldron again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at a lot of pubs and found Panama on Bachelor's Walk ( by O'Connell Street) and Farrington's in Temple bar to be the absolute best. Be sure to be in Temple Bar on Saturday for the farmer's market. And , if you see a Butler's Chocolate ( they're everywhere) get a hot chocolate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top