Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

4 stars
View map of Cardiff Lane,, Sir John Rogerson’s Quay, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jan 5, 2010

Wonderful trip!

This hotel was very nice. I was traveling with two friends and we asked if we could have a third bed put in our room. By the time we got checked in and walked to our room, the extra bed was being set up. We had a breakfast and a dinner in the restaurant, the food was very good. We walked everywhere around Dublin. The hotel is right by the river and also by the new bridge that looks like a harp, so it was always easy to find. A 20 minute walk to the Temple Bar area. It was one of the coldest winters in Dublin, but the hotel was always comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Future Repeat Customers
Business
Herndon, VA
Nov 8, 2009

A Great Place to Stay

This hotel is located in a quiet area, yet within easy walking distance of the major attractions and public transportation. We were very impressed that the desk clerk was able to let us check in around noon, when we arrived very tired after a 10 hour flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the Dublin Pass and Freedom Pass if you will be visiting a lot of Dublin's attractions. At the Maldron, enjoy their breakfast buffet. Be sure to get a discount voucher at the front desk. Their sausages are the best I've ever eaten!

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, ca
Oct 11, 2009

Maldron hotel

We had a very nice time at hotel. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room as very clean and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

use bus service

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windham, NH
Sep 20, 2009

Location is everything...

Do not expect early arrival accommodations...this hotel is always booked because this is where the travel tour groups put up their guests. While we were there, 3 different tour groups were there, hence 100% occupancy. We waited FOUR HOURS for a room to become available after coming in from a red eye. If you are renting a car, parking is non existent and quite a hassle and the staff is rude and not very helpful nor knowledgeable. It is about an 8 block walk to the Temple Bar area...quite a hassle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is in a remote location...avoid it at all costs!!!

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrogate, UK
Sep 15, 2009

Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

The hotel itself is pretty top notch. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, which is probably fine most of the year, except we actually had warm weather during our stay and the room did get warm and stuff. The windows don't open much to allow for any air flow. We also like to have some background noise when sleeping, like a fan, so the rooms were way to quite. The hotel is a little off the beaten path from the traditional tourist attractions in Dublin. It is about a 15-30 minute walk to O'Connell Street where the main bus lines run, or you can walk up to Pearse St. and catch one of the buses that runs up to Trinity College. There really isn't much selection for food near the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant called Stir, which has decent food, but it is expensive. The breakfast buffet is a mixture of hot and cold food, with a little bit of everything. Not great, but decent for 10 Euros/person. There is a little grocery store about 10 minutes away (by foot) for any necessities or other food items you can't live without. And over by the docks there are three other restaurants to choose from, just about 5 minutes away when walking. I imagine there will be much more going in this area eventually, with the O2 across the river and the new Event Center that is being built in very close proximity to the hotel. The area is bustling with new construction, so lots of potential in the future! The service was great. Hotel staff helped out immensely trying to find the right bus stops and buses to get on, while also making a couple of recommendations of where to eat and what to see. They also offer free luggage storage if you get in before your room is available or check out before your flight leaves at night. The pool was nice, but bring your own swim cap, or you will have to buy one there. The gym is also pretty nice. Dublin is a great city and lots of fun, but staying closer to city centre is more ideal for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Guiness Storehouse was excellent for any beer lover. The Dublin Zoo seems a little unorganized, or at least not crowd friendly. Visiting on a weekday may not be so bad. The Green Hop-on/Hop-off bus tours were worth the money and take you around to 23 different stops throughout the city and a couple of the bus drivers really made the trips more memorable and interesting!

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Sep 11, 2009

Construction all around

The Maldron Hotel was nice inside, thats about it. There was so much construction going on around the hotel that my husband and I didnt sleep past 6am. We had to leave our balcony door open to get any kind of air in the room but then if we left the door open we heard construction going on at 6am. There was absolutely no parking if so it was $35.00 euros a day. Thats ridiclous. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mons, Belgium
Aug 24, 2009

Good Stay - Hotel food needs work!

The Hotel was very good and clean. Room size was average size. The location was good not great but good. We were about 1 mile from the city center in what was the warehouse area that they are refurbishing. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was clean and quiet. Our only complaint was the food was even below hotel food standards. I try not to eat at Hotels most of the time but when you arrive late at night you usually don't have a choice. Most of the items on the menu were not available and the chicken that I ordered tasted like it was reheated from a couple of days ago. The one other issue is that my wife forgot her toothbrush and the hotel does not have a store inside it nor one that is close by, nor do they keep any kind of tolietrie items themselves. Other than those two things I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Temple Bar area is great if you're under 30 or looking to get really really drunk. The hotel reccommended a very cool jazz bar and we were extremely happy with it.

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Aug 15, 2009

Maldron on Cardiff in Dublin

Due to other plans, we didn't use the gym or pool but they seemed to be first rate. There is a lot of construction in the area right now, but it didn't take away from the Hotel. Located about 2 blocks from the Canal Square, 2 blocks from the river Liffey, 7 Euro cab ride to the central bus/tram station or is easily walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a Dublin Bus pass at the airport. 20 Euro for 5 days riding included airport transportation, bus tours, etc. and there are scads of Dublin Bus routes and busses. Incidentally, the staff at the hotel said people who use Orbitz get the best deals.

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 27, 2009

Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

The hotel was much better than expected. Comfortable and very clean rooms, good towels. We were 4 days in Dublin as tourists and the only disadvantage was its location. It's in the business district, lots of building going on in the area and slightly deserted at night. Also, a good walk to transportation. All in all, though, we liked the fact that the rooms were spacious, clean, with internet access and quiet for a morning sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zurich
Jul 27, 2009

A good hotel

The hotel is a bit out of the way if you are not going to the convention center. This extra distance out of the city center is made up for by the helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top