$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2015 Check-out: Feb 13, 2015

Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

4 stars
Cardiff Lane,, Sir John Rogerson’s Quay, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
45 reviews
Wonderful visit!

The exercise equipment was great. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. See full review

  • TC.190
  • Jan 15, 2015
excellent for access to bord gais theatre

delighted. had a very pleasant stay. would definitely stay again. See full review

  • granny jo
  • Dec 29, 2014
River views and modern luxury on Dublin's South Bank

Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane is steps away from nightlife in this burgeoning South Bank neighborhood as well as the 3Arena, Croke Park and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre. The hotel houses two of the area's best spots for dining and lounging, Stir restaurant and Vertigo bar. A 22-meter heated pool, spa and fitness club provide opportunity for guests to relax. The hotel perches over the River Liffey, a quick stroll from the new Samuel Beckett Bridge in an area dotted with trendy shops and bars.

Highlights
  • Located in South Bank close to nightlife, arts venues and Convention Centre Dublin
  • Restaurant serving Irish and European cuisine and popular bar
  • Spa, pool and gym with complimentary group classes
  • French windows overlook the River Liffey in most rooms
Rooms
Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane has 304 guest rooms, all with complimentary broadband Internet service, work desks and coffee and tea stations. The hotel's 34 executive rooms feature additional workspace, upgraded appointments and in-room safes. There is a dedicated smoking floor and 24-hour room service is available. Rooms facing the river have balconies.
Features

Both Stir restaurant and the lively Vertigo bar offer pre-theater menus for those attending the Bord Gais Energy Theatre next door. Stir serves Irish and European cuisine in a room suitable for business meetings as well as family meals. Theater-style meeting spaces offer complimentary Wi-Fi and presentation tools, as well as access to the hotel's health and fitness club. Five therapy rooms offer intense beauty treatments. Inside the hotel the look is clean, simple and instantly comfortable.

Transportation
  • Short walk to Spencer Dock Luas stop
  • Short walk to Dublin Bus stop
  • Discounted parking
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Convention Centre Dublin
  • 3Arena
  • Temple Bar
  • Bord Gais Energy Theatre
  • Trinity College
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Dublin Castle
Business
  • Five meeting rooms can accommodate up to 50 people
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, flip charts and presentation materials
  • Work desks in every room and extra work space in executive rooms
  • Direct-dial phones in rooms, as well as complimentary broadband Internet
  • Hotel situated next to the Convention Center Dublin

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane Rooms

Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double or 1 twin bed with Cable/Satellite TV, Ensuite Bath & Power Shower, Heating, Work Desk, Direct Dial Telephone,Complimentary Wi-Fi, Iron/Ironing board, Tea/Coffee facilities, Trouser Press, Hairdryer & room service.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.2 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.2 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.3 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.3 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • 3Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.6 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Canal: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Port: 0.6 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.6 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.6 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.7 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.8 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.8 mi

Dining

Stir Restaurant
Restaurant offers an array of both Irish & European dishes to tempt your taste buds. Each dish is carefully prepared by team of expert chef's and is complimented by a fantastic choice of fine wines and STIR has teamed with Club Vitae to create some healthy eating options. Designed to reflect the cosmopolitan nature of the area, STIR can accommodate a range of guest requirements, from families to couples and corporate guests to lone travellers on business. It is an ideal venue for business luncheons, evening meals and special events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveldreamer1970
Business
virginia beach, virginia
Mar 23, 2010

I would stay there again

Do not be put off that the hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the city center. THE CITY CENTER IS LOUD and it was nice to get away from all of the noise, people and traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The 1916 Rebellion walking tour, the Irish House Party, Food Folklore and Fairies, and the Day Tour of Wicklow (http://www.coachtoursofireland.ie/) were highlights of our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin' Dublin
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 16, 2010

Great Hotel

This hotel was great. It's a little bit outside of the city center, about a 15-20 minute walk or a 7 minute cab ride. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got to the hotel really early and our room wasn't ready yet, so we waited in their lobby and accidently fell asleep (we had just been traveling for 24 hours!) They came and got us as soon as it was ready, at about 9:30 am. Their breakfast was pretty good, the rooms were very nice. Our flight going home ended up getting cancelled and we had to stay two extra nights at the last minute. They were so accomodating, and gave us a good deal and let us stay in our same room even though it was valentines day weekend and they were fully booked. This is a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jan 5, 2010

Wonderful trip!

This hotel was very nice. I was traveling with two friends and we asked if we could have a third bed put in our room. By the time we got checked in and walked to our room, the extra bed was being set up. We had a breakfast and a dinner in the restaurant, the food was very good. We walked everywhere around Dublin. The hotel is right by the river and also by the new bridge that looks like a harp, so it was always easy to find. A 20 minute walk to the Temple Bar area. It was one of the coldest winters in Dublin, but the hotel was always comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Future Repeat Customers
Business
Herndon, VA
Nov 8, 2009

A Great Place to Stay

This hotel is located in a quiet area, yet within easy walking distance of the major attractions and public transportation. We were very impressed that the desk clerk was able to let us check in around noon, when we arrived very tired after a 10 hour flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the Dublin Pass and Freedom Pass if you will be visiting a lot of Dublin's attractions. At the Maldron, enjoy their breakfast buffet. Be sure to get a discount voucher at the front desk. Their sausages are the best I've ever eaten!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, ca
Oct 11, 2009

Maldron hotel

We had a very nice time at hotel. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room as very clean and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

use bus service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windham, NH
Sep 20, 2009

Location is everything...

Do not expect early arrival accommodations...this hotel is always booked because this is where the travel tour groups put up their guests. While we were there, 3 different tour groups were there, hence 100% occupancy. We waited FOUR HOURS for a room to become available after coming in from a red eye. If you are renting a car, parking is non existent and quite a hassle and the staff is rude and not very helpful nor knowledgeable. It is about an 8 block walk to the Temple Bar area...quite a hassle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is in a remote location...avoid it at all costs!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrogate, UK
Sep 15, 2009

Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

The hotel itself is pretty top notch. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, which is probably fine most of the year, except we actually had warm weather during our stay and the room did get warm and stuff. The windows don't open much to allow for any air flow. We also like to have some background noise when sleeping, like a fan, so the rooms were way to quite. The hotel is a little off the beaten path from the traditional tourist attractions in Dublin. It is about a 15-30 minute walk to O'Connell Street where the main bus lines run, or you can walk up to Pearse St. and catch one of the buses that runs up to Trinity College. There really isn't much selection for food near the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant called Stir, which has decent food, but it is expensive. The breakfast buffet is a mixture of hot and cold food, with a little bit of everything. Not great, but decent for 10 Euros/person. There is a little grocery store about 10 minutes away (by foot) for any necessities or other food items you can't live without. And over by the docks there are three other restaurants to choose from, just about 5 minutes away when walking. I imagine there will be much more going in this area eventually, with the O2 across the river and the new Event Center that is being built in very close proximity to the hotel. The area is bustling with new construction, so lots of potential in the future! The service was great. Hotel staff helped out immensely trying to find the right bus stops and buses to get on, while also making a couple of recommendations of where to eat and what to see. They also offer free luggage storage if you get in before your room is available or check out before your flight leaves at night. The pool was nice, but bring your own swim cap, or you will have to buy one there. The gym is also pretty nice. Dublin is a great city and lots of fun, but staying closer to city centre is more ideal for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Guiness Storehouse was excellent for any beer lover. The Dublin Zoo seems a little unorganized, or at least not crowd friendly. Visiting on a weekday may not be so bad. The Green Hop-on/Hop-off bus tours were worth the money and take you around to 23 different stops throughout the city and a couple of the bus drivers really made the trips more memorable and interesting!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Sep 11, 2009

Construction all around

The Maldron Hotel was nice inside, thats about it. There was so much construction going on around the hotel that my husband and I didnt sleep past 6am. We had to leave our balcony door open to get any kind of air in the room but then if we left the door open we heard construction going on at 6am. There was absolutely no parking if so it was $35.00 euros a day. Thats ridiclous. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mons, Belgium
Aug 24, 2009

Good Stay - Hotel food needs work!

The Hotel was very good and clean. Room size was average size. The location was good not great but good. We were about 1 mile from the city center in what was the warehouse area that they are refurbishing. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was clean and quiet. Our only complaint was the food was even below hotel food standards. I try not to eat at Hotels most of the time but when you arrive late at night you usually don't have a choice. Most of the items on the menu were not available and the chicken that I ordered tasted like it was reheated from a couple of days ago. The one other issue is that my wife forgot her toothbrush and the hotel does not have a store inside it nor one that is close by, nor do they keep any kind of tolietrie items themselves. Other than those two things I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Temple Bar area is great if you're under 30 or looking to get really really drunk. The hotel reccommended a very cool jazz bar and we were extremely happy with it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel and Leisure Club Cardiff Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Aug 15, 2009

Maldron on Cardiff in Dublin

Due to other plans, we didn't use the gym or pool but they seemed to be first rate. There is a lot of construction in the area right now, but it didn't take away from the Hotel. Located about 2 blocks from the Canal Square, 2 blocks from the river Liffey, 7 Euro cab ride to the central bus/tram station or is easily walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a Dublin Bus pass at the airport. 20 Euro for 5 days riding included airport transportation, bus tours, etc. and there are scads of Dublin Bus routes and busses. Incidentally, the staff at the hotel said people who use Orbitz get the best deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top