$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
Smithfield, Dublin, D7
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
51 reviews
A nice hotel in a nice location

This is a really nice hotel and it is located about a block from the tram line and within walking... See full review

  • Scot from Wisconsin
  • Sep 21, 2014
Great Location

Lesley and Maurice customer service was top notch. My luggage was sent to a different country(... See full review

  • Red Raven
  • May 21, 2014
Want outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location? The Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. Maldron Hotel Smithfield is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS (tram) on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary Wifi access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre.

Hotel Map

53.3496 -6.2782
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (Dub), 13.00, KM, S;
Area description
Maldron Hotel Smithfield is conveniently located in the heart of Ireland's capital city Dublin. It is situated at the top of Smithfield Plaza in Dublin 7 at the North King Street end. Leisure Facilities such as Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw further. The Point Theatre/TheO2 and Croke Park Stadium are also easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maldron Hotel Smithfield also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Maldron Hotel Smithfield Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
All our Double rooms have an extremely comfortable king size bed with crisp white duvets,tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Double/Single: Room have an extremely comfortable double and singe beds with crisp white duvets, tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.5 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.6 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Haymarket meeting suites offer state-of-the-art meeting facilities for 2 to 40 business delegates. The suites are fully air conditioned with individual in-room controls, furnished with executive leather chairs/arm chairs and are wheel chair accessible. Complimentary WiFi, Complimentary stationary with pads & pencils. Stir restaurant is ideal for breakfast or lunch; alternatively choose from our variety of working lunch menus

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 51
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BaltJulie
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 2, 2012

Filthy room

Maybe we got put in an older room because of getting a good price, but it was gross - filthy carpet, nasty old mattresses/pillows... overall we were afraid to touch anything. Worst of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. Location was okay - 10-15 minute walk to City Centre; and parking was reasonable at 10EUR/night. Grocery store attached was nice to use. Wouldn't stay here on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Fresh market for croissants/bananas for breakfast; and/or great sandwiches for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KevinBarry500
Business
Cork
Aug 9, 2012

One stop shop

Hotel is made for one night business trips any thing more than that stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
izit
Business
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Mar 4, 2012

Not to bad

It was alright. Good location easy walk/ride into the centre of Dublin, and very close to both guinness and jameson. Was missing a few things you'd expect them to have. It looked old even though it isn't that old. Smelt a little bit old as well. Have breakfast somewhere else staff didn't know what was going on and wasn't anything special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have an irish coffee at jameson

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Attempting Explorer
Business
Kent, England
Jul 28, 2013

Good chain but ok hotel

My first impression of the hotel was how strange a setting it had. There's a big sparse area out the front with nothing there. The reception staff were nice and sent us up to a lovely clean room- very important! We stayed 3 nights and on the first night the shop next to the hotel were doing big renovations- this is during the night! Wasn't impressed as you'd think the hotel would say something to them considering they've arguably hundreds of people staying in their hotel. It does get noisy out the front. The other nights sleep were lovely. And you're in a 10 minute walking distance from the Guinness Storehouse and 40 minute walk to Dublin Zoo (or 10 euro taxi ride!!). There's a shopping area not too far away and a Cinema. It's also a good location in terms of being 5 minutes from the Dublin Airlink drop off at Ushers Quay. The breakfast was lovely, but we didn't pay in advance, so was told it was 10 euros for full and 6 euros for continental. However, when we went the second day we asked for just continental and was told it was 10 euros. When we said we'd been told the day before that it was 6 the manager said 'we can't keep tabs over what you're eating.' Professional aye! All in all, I'd say I'd go to another Maldron Hotel on a visit to Ireland but it wouldn't be this one. I'd got closer to Temple Bar. Oh, and there's no air conditioning, so the room gets hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Guinness Storehouse!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GlobeTrekkerNYC
Business
NYC
Dec 3, 2013

Nice Place to Stay in Dublin

We chose this for location (out of the craziness of Temple Bar or more expensive places to the south) and price. It was a nice place to stay in a more local area--you get a feel of what it would be like to live in Dublin. You can't miss with the Luas nearby to get you closer to the action, but Dublin is small and walkable, too. The one odd thing is a booming noise from the square in the morning (Jameson barrels being loaded, maybe?). Recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The amenities nearby are great--Fresh food store and cafe, Third Space for a terrific breakfast, Cobblestones bar for a pint and music every night, even the Lighthouse cinema which is nearby and has a late night cafe and bar. Staff is nice, rooms are fine and cleaned well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chattanooga tn
Jun 28, 2011

new place very clean

Toured dublin while staying there good location there are some issues that just may a culture difference. No a/c no ceiling fans so if its hot your hot ice only on one floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

tram car near by to go the buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess Schofield
Business
Wiesbaden, Germany
Apr 15, 2014

Really good getaway!

No complaints here! The staff were absolutely amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
circlegirl546
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Great trip

This was just what I needed. This hotel was close to town and was a good place to sleep. The room and food was decent but the price is great. The hotel staff are also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomoC
Business
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Clean room great location

I really wanted something to eat when we returned to our room at 9:30 on a Friday night. We had been out all day and I wanted to get back early so we could pack our stuff up and grab a quick bite but they weren't serving food any longer! Also the receptionist told us the night before that breakfast began at 7 am, so we would be able to eat before we le for the airport. Breakfast did not begin until 8 am but we had to leave by 730! No food once again! We liked everything else about the room and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Monkey Mafia inc.
Business
Ireland
Jul 10, 2012

Concert Binge

Very friendly staff...Nothing fancy but no faults and it was the Swedish House Mafia night that we stayed so despite how busy it was it went without any hitches or stabbings! Highly recommend it and with the luas running and a 10 minute walk to Jervis street location is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top