$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
View map of Smithfield, Dublin, D7

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomoC
Business
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Clean room great location

I really wanted something to eat when we returned to our room at 9:30 on a Friday night. We had been out all day and I wanted to get back early so we could pack our stuff up and grab a quick bite but they weren't serving food any longer! Also the receptionist told us the night before that breakfast began at 7 am, so we would be able to eat before we le for the airport. Breakfast did not begin until 8 am but we had to leave by 730! No food once again! We liked everything else about the room and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Monkey Mafia inc.
Business
Ireland
Jul 10, 2012

Concert Binge

Very friendly staff...Nothing fancy but no faults and it was the Swedish House Mafia night that we stayed so despite how busy it was it went without any hitches or stabbings! Highly recommend it and with the luas running and a 10 minute walk to Jervis street location is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine et Pierlo
Business
LYON, FRANCE
Jul 18, 2012

Pleasant stay

It has a good value for its price. Good loacation with a tramway station at only 3 minutes. WIFI wireless in the room would be appreciated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeamGarey
Business
Illeshiem, Germany
Aug 20, 2012

Nice hotel, location questionable

The hotel room was very nice and spacious. The location was worrysome. It was in a neighborhood where you could not tell if it was up and coming or down and going. It was nice because it was on the hop on hop off route, that gave us easy access to the city, though most everything was in walking distance. Breakfast was lame. Eat at the 3rd stop cafe just down the street, food was much better there and a reasonable price. Overall great hotel, onsite parking (10 Euro a day) and easy access to the city, skip the Irish breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop on Hop off tour has a stop just down the street from this hotel. It was only 18 Euro per person, lasted 2 days and just a block away from the hotel. Great way to see the city and get oriented.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shalsy10
Business
England
Aug 28, 2012

Completely worth the money, great getaway for mates

I got this hotel & flight from London for about £200 and I must say it was well worth the money. The staff were wonderful, right from check in to check out. Clean which was of the upmost importance for us and for a 3star hotel definitely worth the money and more. Very well presented so for us students on our first trip away we were pretty impressed. Breakfast set us back €8(if you reserve the previous day) so usually we would have an early lunch instead. We had a supermarket next door to us, so as students it was a great way to save some cash by making our own lunch and such. You've got the distillery opposite you and the guinness storehouse about 15/20min walk away (which I highly recommend). O'connell street is within walking distance, though the luas system will get you there far quicker and costs about €4 return. The luas (tram system) is at the bottom of the road and reasonably priced but honestly we only used it on our way home. All in all don't expect a 5* hotel but you'll get much more than your average 3* if you hunt around for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If walking's not much of a problem for you, you can save tonnes of cash on transport as most of the main tourist attractions, streets, shopping etc are within walking distance. *Also getting from the airport: We used the airlink bus service which dropped us across the river from the hotel. You can't pick up the bus back from the same stop however the luas will quickly take you to one of the available stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simon Lo
Business
Hong Kong
Aug 31, 2012

Nice Hotel

Very Clean guestroom, Very friendly staff, near carpark, recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kylie
Business
co laois
Feb 12, 2013

centrally located

the square is very quiet so we had an excellent nights sleep,room was spacious and clean,breakfast good,a stones throw from the luas , will definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tbd4
Business
Germany
Apr 1, 2013

good value

Good hotel with friendly staff; well situated with short walking distance to centre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olpro41
Business
Valley Springs
Sep 17, 2013

Perfect location

If you are looking to visit Guinness, Jamison and St. Patrick's Cathedral you can't go wrong by staying at this very nice hotel. Staff are helpful and professional, Rooms were very clean. The have a nice Irish breakfast in the morning. In addition there are markets and cafe's very close to the hotel. Temple Bar District is only a bus or cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brazen' Head Pub. Ireland's oldest is just a walk away. Good food, beer and local entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Raven
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
May 21, 2014

Great Location

Lesley and Maurice customer service was top notch. My luggage was sent to a different country( thanks United) and Lesley did whatever she could to keep me calm and helped with regards to making contact with the airlines. Maurice made sure I had a comfortable room and the housekeeping staff was great at making sure our rooms were clean even on the days we slept in. The location was perfect, the city center is in walking distance, everything is actually. Maybe not for the out of shape. Thanks to the staff, with all the mishaps and error on the airlines part, they made a bad situation better. Thank you very much .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top