$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
Smithfield, Dublin, D7
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
53 reviews
Great location, Clean and Comfortable

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. The restaurant was ok (to be fair we had been up for... See full review

  • Traveling Tricia
  • Apr 5, 2013
Monica

I chose this hotel because it's very close to my boyfriend' s home, and the quality is really good,... See full review

  • Monica Z
  • Feb 9, 2013
Want outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location? The Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. Maldron Hotel Smithfield is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS (tram) on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary Wifi access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre.

Maldron Hotel Smithfield Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
All our Double rooms have an extremely comfortable king size bed with crisp white duvets,tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Double/Single: Room have an extremely comfortable double and singe beds with crisp white duvets, tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maldron Hotel Smithfield also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3496 -6.2782
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (Dub), 13.00, KM, S;
Area description
Maldron Hotel Smithfield is conveniently located in the heart of Ireland's capital city Dublin. It is situated at the top of Smithfield Plaza in Dublin 7 at the North King Street end. Leisure Facilities such as Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw further. The Point Theatre/TheO2 and Croke Park Stadium are also easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.5 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.6 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Haymarket meeting suites offer state-of-the-art meeting facilities for 2 to 40 business delegates. The suites are fully air conditioned with individual in-room controls, furnished with executive leather chairs/arm chairs and are wheel chair accessible. Complimentary WiFi, Complimentary stationary with pads & pencils. Stir restaurant is ideal for breakfast or lunch; alternatively choose from our variety of working lunch menus

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomoC
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Clean room great location

I really wanted something to eat when we returned to our room at 9:30 on a Friday night. We had been out all day and I wanted to get back early so we could pack our stuff up and grab a quick bite but they weren't serving food any longer! Also the receptionist told us the night before that breakfast began at 7 am, so we would be able to eat before we le for the airport. Breakfast did not begin until 8 am but we had to leave by 730! No food once again! We liked everything else about the room and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris psufan
Roachdale, IN
Apr 4, 2011

Would definitely stay here again.

The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was up to date and well kept. The location was good if you like to walk, as there were at least a dozen points of interest within a twenty minute radius on foot. The market next door was convenient for snacks, quick meals, or other creature comforts. The only turn off was the lack of an actual shower liner. The tub had a half shower door, and it took some doing to keep the shower water off of the floor. This was our first overseas trip, so forgive my ignorance if this is a common situation. Overall the stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on/ hop off bus tour would be well worth the money and save you aching feet.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shalsy10
England
Aug 28, 2012

Completely worth the money, great getaway for mates

I got this hotel & flight from London for about £200 and I must say it was well worth the money. The staff were wonderful, right from check in to check out. Clean which was of the upmost importance for us and for a 3star hotel definitely worth the money and more. Very well presented so for us students on our first trip away we were pretty impressed. Breakfast set us back €8(if you reserve the previous day) so usually we would have an early lunch instead. We had a supermarket next door to us, so as students it was a great way to save some cash by making our own lunch and such. You've got the distillery opposite you and the guinness storehouse about 15/20min walk away (which I highly recommend). O'connell street is within walking distance, though the luas system will get you there far quicker and costs about €4 return. The luas (tram system) is at the bottom of the road and reasonably priced but honestly we only used it on our way home. All in all don't expect a 5* hotel but you'll get much more than your average 3* if you hunt around for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If walking's not much of a problem for you, you can save tonnes of cash on transport as most of the main tourist attractions, streets, shopping etc are within walking distance. *Also getting from the airport: We used the airlink bus service which dropped us across the river from the hotel. You can't pick up the bus back from the same stop however the luas will quickly take you to one of the available stops.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medford, NJ
Mar 23, 2011

Quiet location but close to attractions

My friends and I visited various places throughout Dublin including: Trinity College, Grafton Street, Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Dublin Castle, and numerous pubs. The furthest something was away was a twenty minute walk which didn't bother us because everything was new to us. And we would often stop for food along the way. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Porterhouse is a micro-brewery located in Dublin. It served a few appetizers, main courses, and had a selection of nine of their beers. Three stories so it shouldn't be a problem getting a table.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZeusandMac
Business
Athens, GA, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Nice hotel, decent value

I traveled to Dublin in March and booked this hotel for a good deal (just under 70USD per night). For that price, I was pleased with what I found. The hotel is located to the west of the city center, 15 minutes or so, and it's in easy walk (or an even easier LUAS ride) down. I was in town mostly for business, so I would have appreciated more of a work space or wifi, but it's my fault for not looking into that earlier. There is free internet, but it's wired in the rooms and it was particularly slow most of the time. The hotel restaurant was serviceable but nothing spectacular. It is, however, located right next to a nice food market where you can purchase a variety of ready-made food. Had there been a kitchenette in the room, I would have been ecstatic. I will also say that, while the soundproofing between the rooms was adequate, I could hear every movement made from the hallway. There was only one night where this was truly an issue but it was more of a nuisance overall. I can see it being problematic if there are loud guests on your floor. Over all, I was pleased with what I received for the price I paid. However, I looked into the rates for my second trip and they're nearer to 200USD per night and I would absolutely not stay at the Maldron for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The LUAS red line is a short walk, two-five minutes depending on how quickly you move, from the hotel. Makes it very convenient for accessing the city center without having to pay city center prices.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medford, NJ
Mar 23, 2011

Quiet location but close to attractions

My friends and I visited various places throughout Dublin including: Trinity College, Grafton Street, Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Dublin Castle, and numerous pubs. The furthest something was away was a twenty minute walk which didn't bother us because everything was new to us. And we would often stop for food along the way. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Porterhouse is a micro-brewery located in Dublin. It served a few appetizers, main courses, and had a selection of nine of their beers. Three stories so it shouldn't be a problem getting a table.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABil
New York, NY, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Great budget hotel

Staff is very helpful and attentive. Wish there was a mini-fridge in the room, otherwise, everything was perfect for a three star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in a group of three or four, take a cab from the airport, which will be more convenient and cheaper than busses

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 13, 2011

Good choice for the money

Had been to Ireland before, but this time went for a short trip to experience St Patrick's Day in Dublin. The Maldron Smithfield was good value for the price. In walking distance of many of Dublin's best attractions. The staff at the hotel were really delightful young people, helpful and professional. There is no actual room service but you can order food from the kitchen and go pick it up on trays. The carpets were in need of some attention, but the bathrooms were always well cleaned with a good supply of clean towels. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maldron Smithfield is within walking distance of many of Dublin's historic attractions including the Guinness Storehouse and Jameson's Distillery. .

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meath cabra guy
dublin
Feb 11, 2014

good location

Nice modern clean hotel. Rooms are decent. Very clean. Grocery store right next door. Ten minute walk to Capel street. Beside luas Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try L Milligan Grocer on Manor Street Fantastic food, beer and ambiance Restaurant prices but worth it for a treat

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emo1
Cavan, Co. Cavan, Ireland
Nov 29, 2011

Great Value for money and very friendly, helpful staff

The staff especially the male evening receptionist was extremely helpful. The hotel was a bit noisy at night and the sound of the doors banging was quite annoying. Apart from that the hotel was very clean, very well priced and the luas stops outside the door. All in all i would recommend this hotel and it's great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top