$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
Smithfield, Dublin, D7
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
50 reviews
Great location, Clean and Comfortable

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. The restaurant was ok (to be fair we had been up for... See full review

  • Traveling Tricia
  • Apr 5, 2013
Great Location

Lesley and Maurice customer service was top notch. My luggage was sent to a different country(... See full review

  • Red Raven
  • May 21, 2014
Want outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location? The Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. Maldron Hotel Smithfield is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS (tram) on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary Wifi access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre.

Hotel Map

53.3496 -6.2782
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (Dub), 13.00, KM, S;
Area description
Maldron Hotel Smithfield is conveniently located in the heart of Ireland's capital city Dublin. It is situated at the top of Smithfield Plaza in Dublin 7 at the North King Street end. Leisure Facilities such as Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw further. The Point Theatre/TheO2 and Croke Park Stadium are also easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maldron Hotel Smithfield also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Maldron Hotel Smithfield Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
All our Double rooms have an extremely comfortable king size bed with crisp white duvets,tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Double/Single: Room have an extremely comfortable double and singe beds with crisp white duvets, tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.5 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.6 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Haymarket meeting suites offer state-of-the-art meeting facilities for 2 to 40 business delegates. The suites are fully air conditioned with individual in-room controls, furnished with executive leather chairs/arm chairs and are wheel chair accessible. Complimentary WiFi, Complimentary stationary with pads & pencils. Stir restaurant is ideal for breakfast or lunch; alternatively choose from our variety of working lunch menus

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monica Z
Rockville, Maryland
Feb 9, 2013

Monica

I chose this hotel because it's very close to my boyfriend' s home, and the quality is really good, even beyond my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AwesomeAisling
north Hollywood, ca
May 12, 2012

Great location, just lacking in everything else...

the room was clean, the location is great but I will not be staying here again. There were 3 of us staying for 2 nights, they only gave us one set of towels. I asked reception for more so we would have enough. They said they would bring them, no one ever came that night. I called again in the morning, no one brought them, It took me going downstairs after waiting almost 24 hours and demanding towels so we could take showers and get on with our trips just to get them. No one came to clean the rooms between days, there is only soap/ shampoo combination in the bathroom that dries up your skin. The beds were hard. Just a Bad experience all around. I don't understand why this hotel has such a high rating when it's customer service is in the toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KevinBarry500
Cork
Aug 9, 2012

One stop shop

Hotel is made for one night business trips any thing more than that stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scottd1040
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 25, 2013

Ok - nothing outtanding

No air conditioning, no clock, old style tv, view of somewhat rundown apartments, often noisy, sometimes a crowd of drunks yelling. On the positive side there was a nice diner inside,helpful staff, nearby market and cafes, area looks renovated (Smithfield). I think €140 was too high for quality of the room. Walking distance to most sights and train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gallagher's Boxty House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pgorm
Atlantic beach New York
Feb 9, 2013

Disappointing

The hotel is nice and in a good location. The bed was small and uncomfortable. The staff was friendly but some did not speak or understand English well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alexander Kurganov
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Aug 24, 2014

will not stay there again

The hotel is OK, but the rooms require renovation. Staff is absolutely unfriendly. One day they did not service my room and then when I requested some compensation, they simply laughed at me. I will never ever come back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BaltJulie
Baltimore, MD
Jun 2, 2012

Filthy room

Maybe we got put in an older room because of getting a good price, but it was gross - filthy carpet, nasty old mattresses/pillows... overall we were afraid to touch anything. Worst of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. Location was okay - 10-15 minute walk to City Centre; and parking was reasonable at 10EUR/night. Grocery store attached was nice to use. Wouldn't stay here on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Fresh market for croissants/bananas for breakfast; and/or great sandwiches for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GlobeTrekkerNYC
NYC
Dec 3, 2013

Nice Place to Stay in Dublin

We chose this for location (out of the craziness of Temple Bar or more expensive places to the south) and price. It was a nice place to stay in a more local area--you get a feel of what it would be like to live in Dublin. You can't miss with the Luas nearby to get you closer to the action, but Dublin is small and walkable, too. The one odd thing is a booming noise from the square in the morning (Jameson barrels being loaded, maybe?). Recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The amenities nearby are great--Fresh food store and cafe, Third Space for a terrific breakfast, Cobblestones bar for a pint and music every night, even the Lighthouse cinema which is nearby and has a late night cafe and bar. Staff is nice, rooms are fine and cleaned well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Three Musketeers
Co. Waterford
Aug 29, 2014

Suited us just fine

For a City break, this hotel is ideally located. Within walking distance of many things and very close to the Luas line which is a 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Some nice eateries and pubs in the vicinity, we didn't eat in the hotel, so we can't comment on that. Special rate is available in the underground car park for hotels guests provided you don't remove it during your stay. Wouldn't want to be out walking too late in the Smithfield area because of some local 'characters'. Room would benefit from a small personal safe. Otherwise it suited us fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to pay a visit to the National Museum at Collins Barracks just a 10 minute stroll from the hotel. It's free of charge and well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
candygirlky
Lexington, KY
Jun 2, 2012

Good Value in an Expensive City

Good value in a convenient location (about a 15 minute walk to many historical sites, Temple Bar, Henry Street, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Farrah
UK
Mar 11, 2014

Great location

Great hotel for short stop off in Dublin. Just a couple I minutes walk to the Luas stop and a few short stops to city centre. Room was very clean. Staff were relatively un-welcoming on arrival, poor lobby atmosphere. Good value and free wifi was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Oscars bar a few doors down for a nice breakfast and atmosphere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search