Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
View map of Smithfield, Dublin, D7

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
57 reviews
Maldron Smithfield

The hotel staff was very helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and at a great price. My only... See full review

  • C mom
  • May 7, 2015
Perfect City Centre Location

A perfectly situated hotel in terms of City Centre Luas is 2 minute walk from the hotel. The... See full review

  • Sineadp.
  • Jul 1, 2015
Want outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location? The Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. Maldron Hotel Smithfield is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS (tram) on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary Wifi access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre.

Maldron Hotel Smithfield Rooms

STANDARD - DOUBLE ROOM
Standard double room include: free wifi, multi channel Flat screen TV, hair dryer, extremely comfortable double size bed with crisp white duvets, room safe, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and an iron/ironing board. Most rooms have floor to ceiling glass windows with some rooms offering panoramic views of the Dublin Mountain Range. All rooms are en-suite with large bathrooms equipped with a bath and power shower. The Hotel also has 5 adapted rooms for guests with special needs
STANDARD - TWIN ROOM
Standard twin room includes: free wifi, multi channel Flat screen TV, hair dryer, extremely comfortable double size bed with crisp white duvets, room safe, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and an iron/ironing board. Most rooms have floor to ceiling glass windows with some rooms offering panoramic views of the Dublin Mountain Range. All rooms are en-suite with large bathrooms equipped with a bath and power shower. The Hotel also has 5 adapted rooms for guests with special needs

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

53.3496 -6.2782
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport
Area description
Maldron Hotel Smithfield is conveniently located in the heart of Ireland's capital city Dublin. It is situated at the top of Smithfield Plaza in Dublin 7 at the North King Street end. Leisure Facilities such as Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw further. The Point Theatre/TheO2 and Croke Park Stadium are also easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.5 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.6 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.7 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Haymarket meeting suites offer state-of-the-art meeting facilities for 2 to 40 business delegates. The suites are fully air conditioned with individual in-room controls, furnished with executive leather chairs/arm chairs and are wheel chair accessible. Complimentary WiFi, Complimentary stationary with pads & pencils. Stir restaurant is ideal for breakfast or lunch; alternatively choose from our variety of working lunch menus

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Internationaljetsetter
Business
London
May 19, 2014

Generally poor

I stayed here 2 years ago and it was ok then...not too bad. But it's not been updated in anyway based on the room I stayed in. Which is a pity given the price. As before, a lot is very much self service - room service you go down to get it rather than getting it delivered to your room! At breakfast which is reasonable at 8 euros (paid the day before), you have to get your own coffee. The front desk staff member was very professional. I forget her name, begins with a 'G'. Area isn't very good...noisy and loud shouting in the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AwesomeAisling
Business
north Hollywood, ca
May 12, 2012

Great location, just lacking in everything else...

the room was clean, the location is great but I will not be staying here again. There were 3 of us staying for 2 nights, they only gave us one set of towels. I asked reception for more so we would have enough. They said they would bring them, no one ever came that night. I called again in the morning, no one brought them, It took me going downstairs after waiting almost 24 hours and demanding towels so we could take showers and get on with our trips just to get them. No one came to clean the rooms between days, there is only soap/ shampoo combination in the bathroom that dries up your skin. The beds were hard. Just a Bad experience all around. I don't understand why this hotel has such a high rating when it's customer service is in the toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BaltJulie
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 2, 2012

Filthy room

Maybe we got put in an older room because of getting a good price, but it was gross - filthy carpet, nasty old mattresses/pillows... overall we were afraid to touch anything. Worst of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. Location was okay - 10-15 minute walk to City Centre; and parking was reasonable at 10EUR/night. Grocery store attached was nice to use. Wouldn't stay here on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Fresh market for croissants/bananas for breakfast; and/or great sandwiches for lunch.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KevinBarry500
Business
Cork
Aug 9, 2012

One stop shop

Hotel is made for one night business trips any thing more than that stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pgorm
Business
Atlantic beach New York
Feb 9, 2013

Disappointing

The hotel is nice and in a good location. The bed was small and uncomfortable. The staff was friendly but some did not speak or understand English well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alexander Kurganov
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Aug 24, 2014

will not stay there again

The hotel is OK, but the rooms require renovation. Staff is absolutely unfriendly. One day they did not service my room and then when I requested some compensation, they simply laughed at me. I will never ever come back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Farrah
Business
UK
Mar 11, 2014

Great location

Great hotel for short stop off in Dublin. Just a couple I minutes walk to the Luas stop and a few short stops to city centre. Room was very clean. Staff were relatively un-welcoming on arrival, poor lobby atmosphere. Good value and free wifi was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Oscars bar a few doors down for a nice breakfast and atmosphere!

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
candygirlky
Business
Lexington, KY
Jun 2, 2012

Good Value in an Expensive City

Good value in a convenient location (about a 15 minute walk to many historical sites, Temple Bar, Henry Street, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JULANN
Business
cork
Sep 27, 2012

IN DUBLIN FOR A MATCH

OVERALL THE STAY WAS GOOD, IS IN A GREAT LOCATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Attempting Explorer
Business
Kent, England
Jul 28, 2013

Good chain but ok hotel

My first impression of the hotel was how strange a setting it had. There's a big sparse area out the front with nothing there. The reception staff were nice and sent us up to a lovely clean room- very important! We stayed 3 nights and on the first night the shop next to the hotel were doing big renovations- this is during the night! Wasn't impressed as you'd think the hotel would say something to them considering they've arguably hundreds of people staying in their hotel. It does get noisy out the front. The other nights sleep were lovely. And you're in a 10 minute walking distance from the Guinness Storehouse and 40 minute walk to Dublin Zoo (or 10 euro taxi ride!!). There's a shopping area not too far away and a Cinema. It's also a good location in terms of being 5 minutes from the Dublin Airlink drop off at Ushers Quay. The breakfast was lovely, but we didn't pay in advance, so was told it was 10 euros for full and 6 euros for continental. However, when we went the second day we asked for just continental and was told it was 10 euros. When we said we'd been told the day before that it was 6 the manager said 'we can't keep tabs over what you're eating.' Professional aye! All in all, I'd say I'd go to another Maldron Hotel on a visit to Ireland but it wouldn't be this one. I'd got closer to Temple Bar. Oh, and there's no air conditioning, so the room gets hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Guinness Storehouse!

Back to menu Return to top