$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
View map of Smithfield, Dublin, D7

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
57 reviews
Maldron Smithfield

The hotel staff was very helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and at a great price. My only... See full review

  • C mom
  • May 7, 2015
Perfect City Centre Location

A perfectly situated hotel in terms of City Centre Luas is 2 minute walk from the hotel. The... See full review

  • Sineadp.
  • Jul 1, 2015
Want outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location? The Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. Maldron Hotel Smithfield is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS (tram) on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary Wifi access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maldron Hotel Smithfield also booked these hotels.

★★★
$122
4.0 / 5 224 reviews
★★★
$110
4.0 / 5 55 reviews
★★★★
$138
4.3 / 5 57 reviews
★★★★
$140
3.9 / 5 105 reviews
★★★
$98
3.8 / 5 59 reviews
★★★
$91
3.5 / 5 46 reviews
★★★★
$144
3.8 / 5 76 reviews
★★★
$148
4.2 / 5 46 reviews
★★★
$102
3.6 / 5 8 reviews

Maldron Hotel Smithfield Rooms

STANDARD - DOUBLE ROOM
Standard double room include: free wifi, multi channel Flat screen TV, hair dryer, extremely comfortable double size bed with crisp white duvets, room safe, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and an iron/ironing board. Most rooms have floor to ceiling glass windows with some rooms offering panoramic views of the Dublin Mountain Range. All rooms are en-suite with large bathrooms equipped with a bath and power shower. The Hotel also has 5 adapted rooms for guests with special needs
STANDARD - TWIN ROOM
Standard twin room includes: free wifi, multi channel Flat screen TV, hair dryer, extremely comfortable double size bed with crisp white duvets, room safe, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and an iron/ironing board. Most rooms have floor to ceiling glass windows with some rooms offering panoramic views of the Dublin Mountain Range. All rooms are en-suite with large bathrooms equipped with a bath and power shower. The Hotel also has 5 adapted rooms for guests with special needs

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.5 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.6 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.7 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Haymarket meeting suites offer state-of-the-art meeting facilities for 2 to 40 business delegates. The suites are fully air conditioned with individual in-room controls, furnished with executive leather chairs/arm chairs and are wheel chair accessible. Complimentary WiFi, Complimentary stationary with pads & pencils. Stir restaurant is ideal for breakfast or lunch; alternatively choose from our variety of working lunch menus

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
taggamuffin
Business
Waterford, Co. Waterford, Ireland
Nov 7, 2011

Fantastic hotel

Great hotel, two minute walk from the Luas stop, 15 mins walk from Heuston station, 15 mins walk from the city centre. Staff are very friendly and professional. Room was spacious and well equipped, plenty of plug sockets for phones etc, and free wired broadband as well as free wireless. There's also a small supermarket right next door. The area is quiet at night, and well-lit. Couldn't have asked for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian A
Single
Texas
Nov 27, 2011

Great place in Dublin

This is a nice hotel in Dublin. It isn't incredibly fancy. I felt the hotel had that sort of minimal Ikea look. The location is great for me. It is in Smithfield, about a 100 yards from a Luas stop, 50 yards from the Old Jameson Distillery, has a steady stream of taxis at the curb, is across the street from the Cobblestone and great music sessions, and has a store right next door. If you are looking for a hotel with a 30 second walk to O'Connell street or Grafton, you don't want to stay here. If you realize how easy it is to get on the Luas to important/popular places, or get a taxi, this is a great location. Going one way, the next stop is the national museum, and the second one is Heuston train station. Going the other way is Four Courts, Jervis (shopping), Lower Abbey Steet (O'Connell Street), then Bus Eirann and Connally train station. I've never had it so good in Dublin. The hotel is clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The price is great. I visit Ireland every year, and I think this place just became my default hotel in Dublin. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to learn something about Irish history, two places I would recommend is Prospect Cemetary, Glasnevin, which is a 6 euro cab ride away, and Kilmainham Goal, which is also either fairly cheap taxi ride or a 10 minute walk from Heuston station.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
taggamuffin
Business
Waterford, Co. Waterford, Ireland
Dec 7, 2011

Fab hotel

A basic but very acceptable hotel, perfect for the price range - it's very good value. The rooms are good and spacious, with a TV/DVD and wired internet connection and plenty of plug sockets and the beds are very comfy. The restaurant is of very good quality; they provide a good buffet breakfast and dinner menu at very reasonable prices. And the staff. They are all wonderful, lovely people! Very friendly and professional and quick to resolve any issues. I have stayed here a number of times in the last few months, and they've always been fantastic. A two minute walk from the Luas stop, and only a 12 minute walk (or 2 mins on the Luas) from the city centre and 15 minute walk (or 5 mins on the Luas) from Heuston station, so very central, without having much traffic noise. In a decent area, with decent lighting after dark. There's also a supermarket right next door, very convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends, and have indeed done so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Jervis St Shopping Centre is a 10 minute walk away and has loads of cool shops and two supermarkets

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Memex
Limerick, Co. Limerick, Ireland
Feb 17, 2012

Amazing stay

Had a fantastic stay, very comfortable and clean room as well as very friendly staff, Location was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dozzzer
Single
Redondo beach, California
May 12, 2012

Great hotel

Couldn't have been happier with this hotel. Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. Location is great. About 2 minutes from the light rail station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
titi from switzerland
Family
england
Sep 27, 2012

very nice hotel

good 3 stars hotel at 15 minutes by walk from O'connell street. The tram is available at 2 minutes by walk from the hotel. The staff is nice. We arrived at 10.45 am for let our luggage, but the receptionist gave us directly a clean room. The room was big, nice and quiet on the 5th floor. I really enjoyed the night and will come back for sur....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monica Z
Single
Rockville, Maryland
Feb 9, 2013

Monica

I chose this hotel because it's very close to my boyfriend' s home, and the quality is really good, even beyond my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tricia
Couples
Gig Harbor, WA
Apr 5, 2013

Great location, Clean and Comfortable

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. The restaurant was ok (to be fair we had been up for 26hrs and our taste buds weren't up to normal). There is a great grocery store, literally, next door. They have sandwiches and breakfast items and a little seating area. The location is great. The tour busses stop at the end of the street ( go with the green one, the red one takes forever to get to this stop...we saw 4 green busses before we saw 1 red one) The light rail is at the same end of the streeet so if you want to use the local system it's really close. Same area is a rental bike station. So lots of transportation options. Jameson distillery is about a block and a half away, The Cobblestone pub is across the street. Bottom line, great location, clean, comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The grocery store has a deli that makes great sandwiches, good coffee and smoothies in the morning too.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ashley big hair
Friends
Waltham, MA
Jan 20, 2011

Great hotel!

The Maldron Hotel Smithfield was wonderful! Both before and during my trip, they provided me with helpful answers to all my questions and were extremely nice! The hotel, though not located in the "city centre" of Dublin, is a nice, easy 15-20 minute walk to most of the attractions in Dublin that I wanted to see (and it's RIGHT across from the Old Jameson Distillery). I felt very safe walking to and from the hotel with a friend at all times of the day and even at night when we would return from the Temple Bar area. If you need to use the LUAS, it is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Overall, they hotel provided great service and was convenient to everything I needed and wanted to see in Dublin. One last thing, my friend and I arrived around 6am, exhausted after a long flight and there was absolutely no issue about letting us check in early; we were beyond happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Although Temple Bar is a super fun and popular area to go out in Dublin, if you are tired from the day and don't feel like walking there and back before turning in, go over the the Cobblestone Pub right in Smithfield. It can be seen from the front door of the hotel (look to the left) and provided a great atmosphere - lots of people and Irish music.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C mom
Couples
Peoria
May 7, 2015

Maldron Smithfield

The hotel staff was very helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and at a great price. My only complaint was the pillows were like bricks. A minor inconvenience since the location was good--easy access to DART and bus. I would recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top