$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
Smithfield, Dublin, D7
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
53 reviews
Great location, Clean and Comfortable

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. The restaurant was ok (to be fair we had been up for... See full review

  • Traveling Tricia
  • Apr 5, 2013
Monica

I chose this hotel because it's very close to my boyfriend' s home, and the quality is really good,... See full review

  • Monica Z
  • Feb 9, 2013
Want outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location? The Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. Maldron Hotel Smithfield is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS (tram) on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary Wifi access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre.

Maldron Hotel Smithfield Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
All our Double rooms have an extremely comfortable king size bed with crisp white duvets,tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Double/Single: Room have an extremely comfortable double and singe beds with crisp white duvets, tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maldron Hotel Smithfield also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3496 -6.2782
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (Dub), 13.00, KM, S;
Area description
Maldron Hotel Smithfield is conveniently located in the heart of Ireland's capital city Dublin. It is situated at the top of Smithfield Plaza in Dublin 7 at the North King Street end. Leisure Facilities such as Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw further. The Point Theatre/TheO2 and Croke Park Stadium are also easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.5 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.6 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Haymarket meeting suites offer state-of-the-art meeting facilities for 2 to 40 business delegates. The suites are fully air conditioned with individual in-room controls, furnished with executive leather chairs/arm chairs and are wheel chair accessible. Complimentary WiFi, Complimentary stationary with pads & pencils. Stir restaurant is ideal for breakfast or lunch; alternatively choose from our variety of working lunch menus

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
chattanooga tn
Jun 28, 2011

new place very clean

Toured dublin while staying there good location there are some issues that just may a culture difference. No a/c no ceiling fans so if its hot your hot ice only on one floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

tram car near by to go the buses

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
chattanooga tn
Jun 28, 2011

new place very clean

Toured dublin while staying there good location there are some issues that just may a culture difference. No a/c no ceiling fans so if its hot your hot ice only on one floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

tram car near by to go the buses

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 13, 2011

Good choice for the money

Had been to Ireland before, but this time went for a short trip to experience St Patrick's Day in Dublin. The Maldron Smithfield was good value for the price. In walking distance of many of Dublin's best attractions. The staff at the hotel were really delightful young people, helpful and professional. There is no actual room service but you can order food from the kitchen and go pick it up on trays. The carpets were in need of some attention, but the bathrooms were always well cleaned with a good supply of clean towels. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maldron Smithfield is within walking distance of many of Dublin's historic attractions including the Guinness Storehouse and Jameson's Distillery. .

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 13, 2011

Good choice for the money

Had been to Ireland before, but this time went for a short trip to experience St Patrick's Day in Dublin. The Maldron Smithfield was good value for the price. In walking distance of many of Dublin's best attractions. The staff at the hotel were really delightful young people, helpful and professional. There is no actual room service but you can order food from the kitchen and go pick it up on trays. The carpets were in need of some attention, but the bathrooms were always well cleaned with a good supply of clean towels. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maldron Smithfield is within walking distance of many of Dublin's historic attractions including the Guinness Storehouse and Jameson's Distillery. .

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris psufan
Roachdale, IN
Apr 4, 2011

Would definitely stay here again.

The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was up to date and well kept. The location was good if you like to walk, as there were at least a dozen points of interest within a twenty minute radius on foot. The market next door was convenient for snacks, quick meals, or other creature comforts. The only turn off was the lack of an actual shower liner. The tub had a half shower door, and it took some doing to keep the shower water off of the floor. This was our first overseas trip, so forgive my ignorance if this is a common situation. Overall the stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on/ hop off bus tour would be well worth the money and save you aching feet.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris psufan
Roachdale, IN
Apr 4, 2011

Would definitely stay here again.

The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was up to date and well kept. The location was good if you like to walk, as there were at least a dozen points of interest within a twenty minute radius on foot. The market next door was convenient for snacks, quick meals, or other creature comforts. The only turn off was the lack of an actual shower liner. The tub had a half shower door, and it took some doing to keep the shower water off of the floor. This was our first overseas trip, so forgive my ignorance if this is a common situation. Overall the stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on/ hop off bus tour would be well worth the money and save you aching feet.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medford, NJ
Mar 23, 2011

Quiet location but close to attractions

My friends and I visited various places throughout Dublin including: Trinity College, Grafton Street, Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Dublin Castle, and numerous pubs. The furthest something was away was a twenty minute walk which didn't bother us because everything was new to us. And we would often stop for food along the way. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Porterhouse is a micro-brewery located in Dublin. It served a few appetizers, main courses, and had a selection of nine of their beers. Three stories so it shouldn't be a problem getting a table.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medford, NJ
Mar 23, 2011

Quiet location but close to attractions

My friends and I visited various places throughout Dublin including: Trinity College, Grafton Street, Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Dublin Castle, and numerous pubs. The furthest something was away was a twenty minute walk which didn't bother us because everything was new to us. And we would often stop for food along the way. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Porterhouse is a micro-brewery located in Dublin. It served a few appetizers, main courses, and had a selection of nine of their beers. Three stories so it shouldn't be a problem getting a table.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ashley big hair
Waltham, MA
Jan 20, 2011

Great hotel!

The Maldron Hotel Smithfield was wonderful! Both before and during my trip, they provided me with helpful answers to all my questions and were extremely nice! The hotel, though not located in the "city centre" of Dublin, is a nice, easy 15-20 minute walk to most of the attractions in Dublin that I wanted to see (and it's RIGHT across from the Old Jameson Distillery). I felt very safe walking to and from the hotel with a friend at all times of the day and even at night when we would return from the Temple Bar area. If you need to use the LUAS, it is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Overall, they hotel provided great service and was convenient to everything I needed and wanted to see in Dublin. One last thing, my friend and I arrived around 6am, exhausted after a long flight and there was absolutely no issue about letting us check in early; we were beyond happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Although Temple Bar is a super fun and popular area to go out in Dublin, if you are tired from the day and don't feel like walking there and back before turning in, go over the the Cobblestone Pub right in Smithfield. It can be seen from the front door of the hotel (look to the left) and provided a great atmosphere - lots of people and Irish music.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ashley big hair
Waltham, MA
Jan 20, 2011

Great hotel!

The Maldron Hotel Smithfield was wonderful! Both before and during my trip, they provided me with helpful answers to all my questions and were extremely nice! The hotel, though not located in the "city centre" of Dublin, is a nice, easy 15-20 minute walk to most of the attractions in Dublin that I wanted to see (and it's RIGHT across from the Old Jameson Distillery). I felt very safe walking to and from the hotel with a friend at all times of the day and even at night when we would return from the Temple Bar area. If you need to use the LUAS, it is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Overall, they hotel provided great service and was convenient to everything I needed and wanted to see in Dublin. One last thing, my friend and I arrived around 6am, exhausted after a long flight and there was absolutely no issue about letting us check in early; we were beyond happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Although Temple Bar is a super fun and popular area to go out in Dublin, if you are tired from the day and don't feel like walking there and back before turning in, go over the the Cobblestone Pub right in Smithfield. It can be seen from the front door of the hotel (look to the left) and provided a great atmosphere - lots of people and Irish music.

Back to menu Return to top