$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
View map of Smithfield, Dublin, D7

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine et Pierlo
Couples
LYON, FRANCE
Jul 18, 2012

Pleasant stay

It has a good value for its price. Good loacation with a tramway station at only 3 minutes. WIFI wireless in the room would be appreciated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Monkey Mafia inc.
Couples
Ireland
Jul 10, 2012

Concert Binge

Very friendly staff...Nothing fancy but no faults and it was the Swedish House Mafia night that we stayed so despite how busy it was it went without any hitches or stabbings! Highly recommend it and with the luas running and a 10 minute walk to Jervis street location is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
candygirlky
Family
Lexington, KY
Jun 2, 2012

Good Value in an Expensive City

Good value in a convenient location (about a 15 minute walk to many historical sites, Temple Bar, Henry Street, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BaltJulie
Couples
Baltimore, MD
Jun 2, 2012

Filthy room

Maybe we got put in an older room because of getting a good price, but it was gross - filthy carpet, nasty old mattresses/pillows... overall we were afraid to touch anything. Worst of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. Location was okay - 10-15 minute walk to City Centre; and parking was reasonable at 10EUR/night. Grocery store attached was nice to use. Wouldn't stay here on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Fresh market for croissants/bananas for breakfast; and/or great sandwiches for lunch.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AwesomeAisling
Friends
north Hollywood, ca
May 12, 2012

Great location, just lacking in everything else...

the room was clean, the location is great but I will not be staying here again. There were 3 of us staying for 2 nights, they only gave us one set of towels. I asked reception for more so we would have enough. They said they would bring them, no one ever came that night. I called again in the morning, no one brought them, It took me going downstairs after waiting almost 24 hours and demanding towels so we could take showers and get on with our trips just to get them. No one came to clean the rooms between days, there is only soap/ shampoo combination in the bathroom that dries up your skin. The beds were hard. Just a Bad experience all around. I don't understand why this hotel has such a high rating when it's customer service is in the toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dozzzer
Single
Redondo beach, California
May 12, 2012

Great hotel

Couldn't have been happier with this hotel. Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. Location is great. About 2 minutes from the light rail station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomoC
Couples
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Clean room great location

I really wanted something to eat when we returned to our room at 9:30 on a Friday night. We had been out all day and I wanted to get back early so we could pack our stuff up and grab a quick bite but they weren't serving food any longer! Also the receptionist told us the night before that breakfast began at 7 am, so we would be able to eat before we le for the airport. Breakfast did not begin until 8 am but we had to leave by 730! No food once again! We liked everything else about the room and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZeusandMac
Business
Athens, GA, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Nice hotel, decent value

I traveled to Dublin in March and booked this hotel for a good deal (just under 70USD per night). For that price, I was pleased with what I found. The hotel is located to the west of the city center, 15 minutes or so, and it's in easy walk (or an even easier LUAS ride) down. I was in town mostly for business, so I would have appreciated more of a work space or wifi, but it's my fault for not looking into that earlier. There is free internet, but it's wired in the rooms and it was particularly slow most of the time. The hotel restaurant was serviceable but nothing spectacular. It is, however, located right next to a nice food market where you can purchase a variety of ready-made food. Had there been a kitchenette in the room, I would have been ecstatic. I will also say that, while the soundproofing between the rooms was adequate, I could hear every movement made from the hallway. There was only one night where this was truly an issue but it was more of a nuisance overall. I can see it being problematic if there are loud guests on your floor. Over all, I was pleased with what I received for the price I paid. However, I looked into the rates for my second trip and they're nearer to 200USD per night and I would absolutely not stay at the Maldron for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The LUAS red line is a short walk, two-five minutes depending on how quickly you move, from the hotel. Makes it very convenient for accessing the city center without having to pay city center prices.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
circlegirl546
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Great trip

This was just what I needed. This hotel was close to town and was a good place to sleep. The room and food was decent but the price is great. The hotel staff are also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABil
Family
New York, NY, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Great budget hotel

Staff is very helpful and attentive. Wish there was a mini-fridge in the room, otherwise, everything was perfect for a three star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in a group of three or four, take a cab from the airport, which will be more convenient and cheaper than busses

Back to menu Return to top