$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
View map of Smithfield, Dublin, D7

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pgorm
Business
Atlantic beach New York
Feb 9, 2013

Disappointing

The hotel is nice and in a good location. The bed was small and uncomfortable. The staff was friendly but some did not speak or understand English well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JULANN
Business
cork
Sep 27, 2012

IN DUBLIN FOR A MATCH

OVERALL THE STAY WAS GOOD, IS IN A GREAT LOCATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
titi from switzerland
Business
england
Sep 27, 2012

very nice hotel

good 3 stars hotel at 15 minutes by walk from O'connell street. The tram is available at 2 minutes by walk from the hotel. The staff is nice. We arrived at 10.45 am for let our luggage, but the receptionist gave us directly a clean room. The room was big, nice and quiet on the 5th floor. I really enjoyed the night and will come back for sur....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simon Lo
Business
Hong Kong
Aug 31, 2012

Nice Hotel

Very Clean guestroom, Very friendly staff, near carpark, recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shalsy10
Business
England
Aug 28, 2012

Completely worth the money, great getaway for mates

I got this hotel & flight from London for about £200 and I must say it was well worth the money. The staff were wonderful, right from check in to check out. Clean which was of the upmost importance for us and for a 3star hotel definitely worth the money and more. Very well presented so for us students on our first trip away we were pretty impressed. Breakfast set us back €8(if you reserve the previous day) so usually we would have an early lunch instead. We had a supermarket next door to us, so as students it was a great way to save some cash by making our own lunch and such. You've got the distillery opposite you and the guinness storehouse about 15/20min walk away (which I highly recommend). O'connell street is within walking distance, though the luas system will get you there far quicker and costs about €4 return. The luas (tram system) is at the bottom of the road and reasonably priced but honestly we only used it on our way home. All in all don't expect a 5* hotel but you'll get much more than your average 3* if you hunt around for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If walking's not much of a problem for you, you can save tonnes of cash on transport as most of the main tourist attractions, streets, shopping etc are within walking distance. *Also getting from the airport: We used the airlink bus service which dropped us across the river from the hotel. You can't pick up the bus back from the same stop however the luas will quickly take you to one of the available stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeamGarey
Business
Illeshiem, Germany
Aug 20, 2012

Nice hotel, location questionable

The hotel room was very nice and spacious. The location was worrysome. It was in a neighborhood where you could not tell if it was up and coming or down and going. It was nice because it was on the hop on hop off route, that gave us easy access to the city, though most everything was in walking distance. Breakfast was lame. Eat at the 3rd stop cafe just down the street, food was much better there and a reasonable price. Overall great hotel, onsite parking (10 Euro a day) and easy access to the city, skip the Irish breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop on Hop off tour has a stop just down the street from this hotel. It was only 18 Euro per person, lasted 2 days and just a block away from the hotel. Great way to see the city and get oriented.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KevinBarry500
Business
Cork
Aug 9, 2012

One stop shop

Hotel is made for one night business trips any thing more than that stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine et Pierlo
Business
LYON, FRANCE
Jul 18, 2012

Pleasant stay

It has a good value for its price. Good loacation with a tramway station at only 3 minutes. WIFI wireless in the room would be appreciated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Monkey Mafia inc.
Business
Ireland
Jul 10, 2012

Concert Binge

Very friendly staff...Nothing fancy but no faults and it was the Swedish House Mafia night that we stayed so despite how busy it was it went without any hitches or stabbings! Highly recommend it and with the luas running and a 10 minute walk to Jervis street location is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
candygirlky
Business
Lexington, KY
Jun 2, 2012

Good Value in an Expensive City

Good value in a convenient location (about a 15 minute walk to many historical sites, Temple Bar, Henry Street, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top