$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
Smithfield, Dublin, D7
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
88 reviews
Great location, Clean and Comfortable

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. The restaurant was ok (to be fair we had been up for... See full review

  • Traveling Tricia
  • Apr 5, 2013
Great Location

Lesley and Maurice customer service was top notch. My luggage was sent to a different country(... See full review

  • Red Raven
  • May 21, 2014
Want outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location? The Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. Maldron Hotel Smithfield is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS (tram) on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary Wifi access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre.

Hotel Map

53.3496 -6.2782
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (Dub), 13.00, KM, S;
Area description
Maldron Hotel Smithfield is conveniently located in the heart of Ireland's capital city Dublin. It is situated at the top of Smithfield Plaza in Dublin 7 at the North King Street end. Leisure Facilities such as Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw further. The Point Theatre/TheO2 and Croke Park Stadium are also easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maldron Hotel Smithfield also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Maldron Hotel Smithfield Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
All our Double rooms have an extremely comfortable king size bed with crisp white duvets,tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Double/Single: Room have an extremely comfortable double and singe beds with crisp white duvets, tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.5 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.6 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Haymarket meeting suites offer state-of-the-art meeting facilities for 2 to 40 business delegates. The suites are fully air conditioned with individual in-room controls, furnished with executive leather chairs/arm chairs and are wheel chair accessible. Complimentary WiFi, Complimentary stationary with pads & pencils. Stir restaurant is ideal for breakfast or lunch; alternatively choose from our variety of working lunch menus

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shalsy10
England
Aug 28, 2012

Completely worth the money, great getaway for mates

I got this hotel & flight from London for about £200 and I must say it was well worth the money. The staff were wonderful, right from check in to check out. Clean which was of the upmost importance for us and for a 3star hotel definitely worth the money and more. Very well presented so for us students on our first trip away we were pretty impressed. Breakfast set us back €8(if you reserve the previous day) so usually we would have an early lunch instead. We had a supermarket next door to us, so as students it was a great way to save some cash by making our own lunch and such. You've got the distillery opposite you and the guinness storehouse about 15/20min walk away (which I highly recommend). O'connell street is within walking distance, though the luas system will get you there far quicker and costs about €4 return. The luas (tram system) is at the bottom of the road and reasonably priced but honestly we only used it on our way home. All in all don't expect a 5* hotel but you'll get much more than your average 3* if you hunt around for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If walking's not much of a problem for you, you can save tonnes of cash on transport as most of the main tourist attractions, streets, shopping etc are within walking distance. *Also getting from the airport: We used the airlink bus service which dropped us across the river from the hotel. You can't pick up the bus back from the same stop however the luas will quickly take you to one of the available stops.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeamGarey
Illeshiem, Germany
Aug 20, 2012

Nice hotel, location questionable

The hotel room was very nice and spacious. The location was worrysome. It was in a neighborhood where you could not tell if it was up and coming or down and going. It was nice because it was on the hop on hop off route, that gave us easy access to the city, though most everything was in walking distance. Breakfast was lame. Eat at the 3rd stop cafe just down the street, food was much better there and a reasonable price. Overall great hotel, onsite parking (10 Euro a day) and easy access to the city, skip the Irish breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop on Hop off tour has a stop just down the street from this hotel. It was only 18 Euro per person, lasted 2 days and just a block away from the hotel. Great way to see the city and get oriented.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KevinBarry500
Cork
Aug 9, 2012

One stop shop

Hotel is made for one night business trips any thing more than that stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine et Pierlo
LYON, FRANCE
Jul 18, 2012

Pleasant stay

It has a good value for its price. Good loacation with a tramway station at only 3 minutes. WIFI wireless in the room would be appreciated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Monkey Mafia inc.
Ireland
Jul 10, 2012

Concert Binge

Very friendly staff...Nothing fancy but no faults and it was the Swedish House Mafia night that we stayed so despite how busy it was it went without any hitches or stabbings! Highly recommend it and with the luas running and a 10 minute walk to Jervis street location is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
candygirlky
Lexington, KY
Jun 2, 2012

Good Value in an Expensive City

Good value in a convenient location (about a 15 minute walk to many historical sites, Temple Bar, Henry Street, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BaltJulie
Baltimore, MD
Jun 2, 2012

Filthy room

Maybe we got put in an older room because of getting a good price, but it was gross - filthy carpet, nasty old mattresses/pillows... overall we were afraid to touch anything. Worst of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. Location was okay - 10-15 minute walk to City Centre; and parking was reasonable at 10EUR/night. Grocery store attached was nice to use. Wouldn't stay here on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Fresh market for croissants/bananas for breakfast; and/or great sandwiches for lunch.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AwesomeAisling
north Hollywood, ca
May 12, 2012

Great location, just lacking in everything else...

the room was clean, the location is great but I will not be staying here again. There were 3 of us staying for 2 nights, they only gave us one set of towels. I asked reception for more so we would have enough. They said they would bring them, no one ever came that night. I called again in the morning, no one brought them, It took me going downstairs after waiting almost 24 hours and demanding towels so we could take showers and get on with our trips just to get them. No one came to clean the rooms between days, there is only soap/ shampoo combination in the bathroom that dries up your skin. The beds were hard. Just a Bad experience all around. I don't understand why this hotel has such a high rating when it's customer service is in the toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dozzzer
Redondo beach, California
May 12, 2012

Great hotel

Couldn't have been happier with this hotel. Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. Location is great. About 2 minutes from the light rail station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomoC
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Clean room great location

I really wanted something to eat when we returned to our room at 9:30 on a Friday night. We had been out all day and I wanted to get back early so we could pack our stuff up and grab a quick bite but they weren't serving food any longer! Also the receptionist told us the night before that breakfast began at 7 am, so we would be able to eat before we le for the airport. Breakfast did not begin until 8 am but we had to leave by 730! No food once again! We liked everything else about the room and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search