$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
Smithfield, Dublin, D7
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
53 reviews
Great location, Clean and Comfortable

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. The restaurant was ok (to be fair we had been up for... See full review

  • Traveling Tricia
  • Apr 5, 2013
Monica

I chose this hotel because it's very close to my boyfriend' s home, and the quality is really good,... See full review

  • Monica Z
  • Feb 9, 2013
Want outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location? The Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. Maldron Hotel Smithfield is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS (tram) on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary Wifi access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre.

Maldron Hotel Smithfield Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
All our Double rooms have an extremely comfortable king size bed with crisp white duvets,tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Double/Single: Room have an extremely comfortable double and singe beds with crisp white duvets, tea/coffee making facilities and free broadband

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maldron Hotel Smithfield also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3496 -6.2782
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (Dub), 13.00, KM, S;
Area description
Maldron Hotel Smithfield is conveniently located in the heart of Ireland's capital city Dublin. It is situated at the top of Smithfield Plaza in Dublin 7 at the North King Street end. Leisure Facilities such as Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw further. The Point Theatre/TheO2 and Croke Park Stadium are also easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.1 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.3 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.4 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.5 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.5 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.5 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.6 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.6 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.6 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.6 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Haymarket meeting suites offer state-of-the-art meeting facilities for 2 to 40 business delegates. The suites are fully air conditioned with individual in-room controls, furnished with executive leather chairs/arm chairs and are wheel chair accessible. Complimentary WiFi, Complimentary stationary with pads & pencils. Stir restaurant is ideal for breakfast or lunch; alternatively choose from our variety of working lunch menus

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine et Pierlo
LYON, FRANCE
Jul 18, 2012

Pleasant stay

It has a good value for its price. Good loacation with a tramway station at only 3 minutes. WIFI wireless in the room would be appreciated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Monkey Mafia inc.
Ireland
Jul 10, 2012

Concert Binge

Very friendly staff...Nothing fancy but no faults and it was the Swedish House Mafia night that we stayed so despite how busy it was it went without any hitches or stabbings! Highly recommend it and with the luas running and a 10 minute walk to Jervis street location is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
candygirlky
Lexington, KY
Jun 2, 2012

Good Value in an Expensive City

Good value in a convenient location (about a 15 minute walk to many historical sites, Temple Bar, Henry Street, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BaltJulie
Baltimore, MD
Jun 2, 2012

Filthy room

Maybe we got put in an older room because of getting a good price, but it was gross - filthy carpet, nasty old mattresses/pillows... overall we were afraid to touch anything. Worst of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. Location was okay - 10-15 minute walk to City Centre; and parking was reasonable at 10EUR/night. Grocery store attached was nice to use. Wouldn't stay here on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Fresh market for croissants/bananas for breakfast; and/or great sandwiches for lunch.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dozzzer
Redondo beach, California
May 12, 2012

Great hotel

Couldn't have been happier with this hotel. Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. Location is great. About 2 minutes from the light rail station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AwesomeAisling
north Hollywood, ca
May 12, 2012

Great location, just lacking in everything else...

the room was clean, the location is great but I will not be staying here again. There were 3 of us staying for 2 nights, they only gave us one set of towels. I asked reception for more so we would have enough. They said they would bring them, no one ever came that night. I called again in the morning, no one brought them, It took me going downstairs after waiting almost 24 hours and demanding towels so we could take showers and get on with our trips just to get them. No one came to clean the rooms between days, there is only soap/ shampoo combination in the bathroom that dries up your skin. The beds were hard. Just a Bad experience all around. I don't understand why this hotel has such a high rating when it's customer service is in the toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomoC
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Clean room great location

I really wanted something to eat when we returned to our room at 9:30 on a Friday night. We had been out all day and I wanted to get back early so we could pack our stuff up and grab a quick bite but they weren't serving food any longer! Also the receptionist told us the night before that breakfast began at 7 am, so we would be able to eat before we le for the airport. Breakfast did not begin until 8 am but we had to leave by 730! No food once again! We liked everything else about the room and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZeusandMac
Business
Athens, GA, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Nice hotel, decent value

I traveled to Dublin in March and booked this hotel for a good deal (just under 70USD per night). For that price, I was pleased with what I found. The hotel is located to the west of the city center, 15 minutes or so, and it's in easy walk (or an even easier LUAS ride) down. I was in town mostly for business, so I would have appreciated more of a work space or wifi, but it's my fault for not looking into that earlier. There is free internet, but it's wired in the rooms and it was particularly slow most of the time. The hotel restaurant was serviceable but nothing spectacular. It is, however, located right next to a nice food market where you can purchase a variety of ready-made food. Had there been a kitchenette in the room, I would have been ecstatic. I will also say that, while the soundproofing between the rooms was adequate, I could hear every movement made from the hallway. There was only one night where this was truly an issue but it was more of a nuisance overall. I can see it being problematic if there are loud guests on your floor. Over all, I was pleased with what I received for the price I paid. However, I looked into the rates for my second trip and they're nearer to 200USD per night and I would absolutely not stay at the Maldron for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The LUAS red line is a short walk, two-five minutes depending on how quickly you move, from the hotel. Makes it very convenient for accessing the city center without having to pay city center prices.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
circlegirl546
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Great trip

This was just what I needed. This hotel was close to town and was a good place to sleep. The room and food was decent but the price is great. The hotel staff are also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
izit
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Mar 4, 2012

Not to bad

It was alright. Good location easy walk/ride into the centre of Dublin, and very close to both guinness and jameson. Was missing a few things you'd expect them to have. It looked old even though it isn't that old. Smelt a little bit old as well. Have breakfast somewhere else staff didn't know what was going on and wasn't anything special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have an irish coffee at jameson

Back to menu Return to top