$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Maldron Hotel Smithfield

3 stars
View map of Smithfield, Dublin, D7

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Internationaljetsetter
Business
London
May 19, 2014

Generally poor

I stayed here 2 years ago and it was ok then...not too bad. But it's not been updated in anyway based on the room I stayed in. Which is a pity given the price. As before, a lot is very much self service - room service you go down to get it rather than getting it delivered to your room! At breakfast which is reasonable at 8 euros (paid the day before), you have to get your own coffee. The front desk staff member was very professional. I forget her name, begins with a 'G'. Area isn't very good...noisy and loud shouting in the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess Schofield
Business
Wiesbaden, Germany
Apr 15, 2014

Really good getaway!

No complaints here! The staff were absolutely amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Farrah
Business
UK
Mar 11, 2014

Great location

Great hotel for short stop off in Dublin. Just a couple I minutes walk to the Luas stop and a few short stops to city centre. Room was very clean. Staff were relatively un-welcoming on arrival, poor lobby atmosphere. Good value and free wifi was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Oscars bar a few doors down for a nice breakfast and atmosphere!

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meath cabra guy
Business
dublin
Feb 11, 2014

good location

Nice modern clean hotel. Rooms are decent. Very clean. Grocery store right next door. Ten minute walk to Capel street. Beside luas Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try L Milligan Grocer on Manor Street Fantastic food, beer and ambiance Restaurant prices but worth it for a treat

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GlobeTrekkerNYC
Business
NYC
Dec 3, 2013

Nice Place to Stay in Dublin

We chose this for location (out of the craziness of Temple Bar or more expensive places to the south) and price. It was a nice place to stay in a more local area--you get a feel of what it would be like to live in Dublin. You can't miss with the Luas nearby to get you closer to the action, but Dublin is small and walkable, too. The one odd thing is a booming noise from the square in the morning (Jameson barrels being loaded, maybe?). Recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The amenities nearby are great--Fresh food store and cafe, Third Space for a terrific breakfast, Cobblestones bar for a pint and music every night, even the Lighthouse cinema which is nearby and has a late night cafe and bar. Staff is nice, rooms are fine and cleaned well.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olpro41
Business
Valley Springs
Sep 17, 2013

Perfect location

If you are looking to visit Guinness, Jamison and St. Patrick's Cathedral you can't go wrong by staying at this very nice hotel. Staff are helpful and professional, Rooms were very clean. The have a nice Irish breakfast in the morning. In addition there are markets and cafe's very close to the hotel. Temple Bar District is only a bus or cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brazen' Head Pub. Ireland's oldest is just a walk away. Good food, beer and local entertainment.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Attempting Explorer
Business
Kent, England
Jul 28, 2013

Good chain but ok hotel

My first impression of the hotel was how strange a setting it had. There's a big sparse area out the front with nothing there. The reception staff were nice and sent us up to a lovely clean room- very important! We stayed 3 nights and on the first night the shop next to the hotel were doing big renovations- this is during the night! Wasn't impressed as you'd think the hotel would say something to them considering they've arguably hundreds of people staying in their hotel. It does get noisy out the front. The other nights sleep were lovely. And you're in a 10 minute walking distance from the Guinness Storehouse and 40 minute walk to Dublin Zoo (or 10 euro taxi ride!!). There's a shopping area not too far away and a Cinema. It's also a good location in terms of being 5 minutes from the Dublin Airlink drop off at Ushers Quay. The breakfast was lovely, but we didn't pay in advance, so was told it was 10 euros for full and 6 euros for continental. However, when we went the second day we asked for just continental and was told it was 10 euros. When we said we'd been told the day before that it was 6 the manager said 'we can't keep tabs over what you're eating.' Professional aye! All in all, I'd say I'd go to another Maldron Hotel on a visit to Ireland but it wouldn't be this one. I'd got closer to Temple Bar. Oh, and there's no air conditioning, so the room gets hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Guinness Storehouse!

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scottd1040
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 25, 2013

Ok - nothing outtanding

No air conditioning, no clock, old style tv, view of somewhat rundown apartments, often noisy, sometimes a crowd of drunks yelling. On the positive side there was a nice diner inside,helpful staff, nearby market and cafes, area looks renovated (Smithfield). I think €140 was too high for quality of the room. Walking distance to most sights and train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gallagher's Boxty House

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tricia
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Apr 5, 2013

Great location, Clean and Comfortable

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. The restaurant was ok (to be fair we had been up for 26hrs and our taste buds weren't up to normal). There is a great grocery store, literally, next door. They have sandwiches and breakfast items and a little seating area. The location is great. The tour busses stop at the end of the street ( go with the green one, the red one takes forever to get to this stop...we saw 4 green busses before we saw 1 red one) The light rail is at the same end of the streeet so if you want to use the local system it's really close. Same area is a rental bike station. So lots of transportation options. Jameson distillery is about a block and a half away, The Cobblestone pub is across the street. Bottom line, great location, clean, comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The grocery store has a deli that makes great sandwiches, good coffee and smoothies in the morning too.

Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tbd4
Business
Germany
Apr 1, 2013

good value

Good hotel with friendly staff; well situated with short walking distance to centre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top