$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Grand Canal Hotel

3 stars
Grand Canal Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
41 reviews
nice friendly hotel

Fab room. Friendly helpfully staff. Good location I would stay here again. See full review

  • eyelash
  • Aug 6, 2014
Wonderful Irish Hospitality

The hotel, situated in the Georgian section of Dublin is close enough to the center of town and far... See full review

  • Steve360
  • Oct 29, 2013
A hotel that stands out in the crowd near Dublin’s newest stadium
From the Grand Canal Hotel, Aviva Stadium--the new national showplace of rugby and soccer--looms overhead and the National Convention Centre is a quick stroll over the River Liffey. The Grand Canal's rooms are decorated in warm red tones with modern touches and traditional comforts. The lively Gasworks Bar is perfect for informal meetings or a night of entertainment featuring pull-your-own-pint tables.

 

Highlights
  • Situated next to the Grand Canal Theater with excellent views of Aviva Stadium
  • Lively bar with live music and pull-your-own-pint tables
  • Newly refurbished gym complimentary for guests
Rooms

The hotel's 142 rooms mix modern furnishings with traditional touches like damask wallpaper. All rooms have free wireless Internet access as well as Internet access through the TV. Rooms also feature clothes care amenities, work desk and tea and coffee station. Executive rooms have Egyptian cotton duvets, flat-screen TV, laptop safe and bathrobes. Some rooms have balconies with views of Dublin. Two large suites can be used as bedrooms or meeting rooms and the lansdowne suite offers striking views of Aviva Stadium.

Features
The Gasworks bar has a full menu, innovative drink specials, live music, karaoke and several tables equipped with taps to pull your own pint of Guinness the Irish way. A new gym is well-equipped with modern equipment. The hotel offers many packages for guests interested in going to the theater, attending sporting events and concerts or watching greyhound racing at nearby Shelbourne Park. Numerous nightlife opportunities can be found in the hotel and nearby Dublin city center, a short walk away.  The tree-lined Grand Canal towpath is perfect for a peaceful stroll.
Transportation
  • DART Grand Canal Dock station (.03 mi/.05km)
  • Dublin bus service nearby (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • National Print Museum (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Grand Canal Theater (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Shelbourne Park Greyhound Stadium (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Aviva Stadium (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • 6 meeting rooms
  • Dedicated conference floor
  • Latest audiovisual equipment
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Catering available
  • Close to Google's Irish headquarters (.2 mi/.3 km)

Hotel Map

53.3382 -6.2377
Area served
Within short walking distance:
- Merrion Square
- National Gallery
- Leinster House
- St. Stephens Green
- Trinity College
- Temple Bar
- Grafton Street
- U2 Tower
- U2 Wall
- Oscar Wilde Memorial
- National Museum
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport lies 12 km in the North of the hotel.

- Easy access from the airport (Aircoach Bus stop at the Schoolhouse, which is a 1 min. walk)
Area description
- All main sights in walking distance
- Southern city centre
- Ballsbridge
- Georgian Dublin
- Grand Canal
- Embassy Belt
- DART station "Grand Canal Dock" across the road
- Complimentary car parking
- Easy access from the airport (Aircoach Bus stop at the Schoolhouse, which is a 1 min. walk)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Canal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Grand Canal Hotel Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Double room with one queen size bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Twin room with two single beds. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Family room with one queen size bed and one single bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.6 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.6 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.7 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.7 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.7 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.7 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.7 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.7 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • The O2: 0.7 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Port: 0.8 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.8 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.8 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.9 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.9 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.9 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.9 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.9 mi

Dining

The Gasworks Bar & Restaurant
Boasting 10 wide screen plasma TVs, the Gasworks is now one of the finest venues in Dublin City to watch any of up to five live matches. Take a seat at the bar and soak up the atmosphere while our skilled bar staff serve up a pint of the "black stuff" or for the more adventurous at heart one of our signature cocktails. Alternatively pull your own pint on our new "Pour Your Own Pint" tables. Our renowned Carvery is served Monday to Friday from 12pm to 2.15pm and an extensive a la carte menu is available from 3pm to 10pm daily. Recently launched GAS FRIDAY LIVE has firmly established the Gasworks Bar as one of South Dublin City’s premier after work venues on a Friday evening.
Canal Express
Canal Express coffee bar is located in the relaxing surroundings of the hotel lobby. Offering a wide range of specialty coffees, smoothies, pastries and gourmet sandwiches Canal Express the ideal location for an informal business meeting or lunch meeting. Breakfast Express is exclusive to Canal Express – for those of you "on the run" pre-order a coffee and pastry and pick it up as you pass by.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Dedicated conference floor
- Own registration area
- 6 conference suits
- Catering for up to 140 people
- State of the art equipment
- Complimentary car parking
- Meeting excellence service

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Canal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brendon
Staines, UK
May 24, 2013

Good value

We stayed here for the rugby weekend. Very friendly and conveniently located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dublin fan
Atlanta Ga
Apr 7, 2010

Excellent Accomendations

was excellent hotel. just not the ten minute walk to Dublin as suggested more like twenty to twenty five.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandys
saint louis, mo
Sep 2, 2009

great hotel

Great hotel in quiet area, yet easily accessible to all the Dublin attractions. It was a short walk to Marion Square. Better yet, the Dart station was just around the corner! Our room was large by European standards, and spotless. The staff was helpful and knowledgable and friendly. Could not have had a better hotel for the price. Definitely would suggest taking the Dart to the Dublin seaside suburbs (Malahide, Howthe, Dalkey, etc.) The climb up to the summit at Howthe was especially breathtaking and a relatively easy walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Many of the restuarants offer "early bird" specials if you dine for instance, before 7pm. It saves a lot of money because eating out is not cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
billy ho
Business
nj
Oct 3, 2013

disaster averted

I was delayed several hours into Dublin seriously affecting my trip. if not for the front desk arranging to get my bag which arrived even later, scheduling cab rides, mapping out where to go and what to see, getting me a European phone charger and even a free drink at the bar my trip would have been ruined. I highly suggest the location its right outside city centre with close proximity to the metro rail. still able to walk there if u want. the rooms are nice, they have a shuttle to and from the airport and overall when I return to Dublin I would not stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lindon, UT
Oct 31, 2010

Very nice, clean, and comfortable

We were there for the Dublin Marathon and the finish line was about 1/2 mile from the hotel. We stayed in room 529 and really enjoyed it. It was quiet and room was a nice size and with a queen bed. The location was great...we were probably a little over a mile walk to the center of Dublin. We didn't rent a car and just walked everywhere. (Start doing some walking a few weeks before your trip if you plan get around this way.) The restaurant in the hotel had good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eyelash
ireland
Aug 6, 2014

nice friendly hotel

Fab room. Friendly helpfully staff. Good location I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John Beard
Business
Ballinamore, County Leitrim, Ireland
Mar 6, 2013

excellent value, comfort and professional care.

The stay was pleasant and enjoyable. It was a business trip but the attention to detail and the hotel;'s location make it an excellent choice for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal Location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Heidelberg, Germany
Mar 21, 2011

Excellent location, great hotel.

an excellent central location to the local nightlife areas. A 10 Euro cab ride to either Temple Bar or Steven's Green and high traffic so never waited more than a minute or two. Also walking distance to the stadium. Free wifi was nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

a 20 minute walk or a 10 euro cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clark3
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Exceeded Highest Expectations

I travel more than I woul like for work and occassionally find a hotel or B&B that makes the list of places that I would bring my Wife and children for holiday. The Grand Canal Hotel made the short list. The lobby and room were bright and airy, the Irish breakfast was devine; however, the staff separates this hotel from their comptitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ginja
Boston MA
Aug 30, 2012

Stay at this Hotel!!!!!

If I could give the Grand Canal Hotel 6 stars I would. Hands down, the best deal on a hotel I got on my trek across the UK and southern Ireland. We booked our room at around 1am the morning of our stay (we were on an over night train/ferry from London) and got to the hotel at 7am with no Euros (didn't know the exchange office didn't open till 9). The morning manager got us to an ATM so that we could pay the cab, offered to hold our bags for us (no charge), let us recover and use the internet in the very comfortable lobby, answered all of our questions with patients (we were irritatingly ignorant of how to get around Dublin) and managed to get us into our room 4 hours early so that we could take a nap (hadn't slept in 36 hours) before getting out to see the city. When we got to the room, we found that we had a beautiful view of the oldest football stadium in existence, the bathroom was very large and well equipped, the bed was comfortable, there were all of the little extras we could want, and the whole place was spotless. Plus there was free wifi that was very fast. We wanted to try the restaurant and bar because they looked excellent, but we didn't make it back to the hotel until late, so I don't know if they are any good. But they certainly looked it. The hotel has a perfect location. It was 10 minutes from the port (if you are coming in by ferry) 10 minutes walking distance to downtown, and is in a very nice neighborhood. Close enough to everything be convenient but far enough away to be quite at night. The only complaint that I had about the hotel was that the room was a bit stuffy and hot. However, I will point out that we were there on the two hottest days of the entire year. So... While I'm sure there are other hotels in Dublin that are nicer and more extravagant, there is no way you could get a better deal. This is a 4 star hotel at a 2 star price. That makes it a 5 star booking for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are an American, go to the Guinness brewery before you go to any of the bars. My first taste of true Irish Guinness (not the Canadian stuff that we get here in the states) brought tears to my eyes it was so good. But then some of the local bars clearly hadn't cleaned their taps in a long time. Do yourself a favor and have your first taste be a perfect one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top