$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Grand Canal Hotel

3 stars
Grand Canal Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
42 reviews
nice friendly hotel

Fab room. Friendly helpfully staff. Good location I would stay here again. See full review

  • eyelash
  • Aug 6, 2014
Wonderful Irish Hospitality

The hotel, situated in the Georgian section of Dublin is close enough to the center of town and far... See full review

  • Steve360
  • Oct 29, 2013
A hotel that stands out in the crowd near Dublin’s newest stadium
From the Grand Canal Hotel, Aviva Stadium--the new national showplace of rugby and soccer--looms overhead and the National Convention Centre is a quick stroll over the River Liffey. The Grand Canal's rooms are decorated in warm red tones with modern touches and traditional comforts. The lively Gasworks Bar is perfect for informal meetings or a night of entertainment featuring pull-your-own-pint tables.

 

Highlights
  • Situated next to the Grand Canal Theater with excellent views of Aviva Stadium
  • Lively bar with live music and pull-your-own-pint tables
  • Newly refurbished gym complimentary for guests
Rooms

The hotel's 142 rooms mix modern furnishings with traditional touches like damask wallpaper. All rooms have free wireless Internet access as well as Internet access through the TV. Rooms also feature clothes care amenities, work desk and tea and coffee station. Executive rooms have Egyptian cotton duvets, flat-screen TV, laptop safe and bathrobes. Some rooms have balconies with views of Dublin. Two large suites can be used as bedrooms or meeting rooms and the lansdowne suite offers striking views of Aviva Stadium.

Features
The Gasworks bar has a full menu, innovative drink specials, live music, karaoke and several tables equipped with taps to pull your own pint of Guinness the Irish way. A new gym is well-equipped with modern equipment. The hotel offers many packages for guests interested in going to the theater, attending sporting events and concerts or watching greyhound racing at nearby Shelbourne Park. Numerous nightlife opportunities can be found in the hotel and nearby Dublin city center, a short walk away.  The tree-lined Grand Canal towpath is perfect for a peaceful stroll.
Transportation
  • DART Grand Canal Dock station (.03 mi/.05km)
  • Dublin bus service nearby (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • National Print Museum (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Grand Canal Theater (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Shelbourne Park Greyhound Stadium (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Aviva Stadium (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • 6 meeting rooms
  • Dedicated conference floor
  • Latest audiovisual equipment
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Catering available
  • Close to Google's Irish headquarters (.2 mi/.3 km)

Hotel Map

53.3382 -6.2377
Area served
Within short walking distance:
- Merrion Square
- National Gallery
- Leinster House
- St. Stephens Green
- Trinity College
- Temple Bar
- Grafton Street
- U2 Tower
- U2 Wall
- Oscar Wilde Memorial
- National Museum
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport lies 12 km in the North of the hotel.

- Easy access from the airport (Aircoach Bus stop at the Schoolhouse, which is a 1 min. walk)
Area description
- All main sights in walking distance
- Southern city centre
- Ballsbridge
- Georgian Dublin
- Grand Canal
- Embassy Belt
- DART station "Grand Canal Dock" across the road
- Complimentary car parking
- Easy access from the airport (Aircoach Bus stop at the Schoolhouse, which is a 1 min. walk)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Canal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Grand Canal Hotel Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Double room with one queen size bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Twin room with two single beds. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Family room with one queen size bed and one single bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.6 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.6 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.7 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.7 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.7 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.7 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.7 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.7 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • 3Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Port: 0.8 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.8 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.8 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.9 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.9 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.9 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.9 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Dedicated conference floor
- Own registration area
- 6 conference suits
- Catering for up to 140 people
- State of the art equipment
- Complimentary car parking
- Meeting excellence service

Dining

The Gasworks Bar & Restaurant
Boasting 10 wide screen plasma TVs, the Gasworks is now one of the finest venues in Dublin City to watch any of up to five live matches. Take a seat at the bar and soak up the atmosphere while our skilled bar staff serve up a pint of the "black stuff" or for the more adventurous at heart one of our signature cocktails. Alternatively pull your own pint on our new "Pour Your Own Pint" tables. Our renowned Carvery is served Monday to Friday from 12pm to 2.15pm and an extensive a la carte menu is available from 3pm to 10pm daily. Recently launched GAS FRIDAY LIVE has firmly established the Gasworks Bar as one of South Dublin City’s premier after work venues on a Friday evening.
Canal Express
Canal Express coffee bar is located in the relaxing surroundings of the hotel lobby. Offering a wide range of specialty coffees, smoothies, pastries and gourmet sandwiches Canal Express the ideal location for an informal business meeting or lunch meeting. Breakfast Express is exclusive to Canal Express – for those of you "on the run" pre-order a coffee and pastry and pick it up as you pass by.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Canal Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexHC
Business
Witham, Essex, UK
May 14, 2013

Great Hotel and stay.

My partner and I visited Dublin for the first time and stayed at the Grand Canal. We arrived a few hours earlier than our arranged check in time, yet were able to go straight to our room. The room was greatp very clean, comfortable and modern. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and made the stay very pleasant. The hotel itself was a bit further out from the centre than I had anticipated and would take roughly 20mins to walk to places such as Grafton Street and Temple Bar. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. In future I would most likely book somewhere nearer to centre, but aside from that I would happily stay at the Grand Canal Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Guiness Store-house was a great place to visit. The additional benefit of a free pint.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lyall
Business
Galway
Jun 23, 2013

Great location for events

Right beside Grand Canal theatre (BGE theatre) and Aviva stadium. Room + staff were great. Solid breakfast for a tenner extra. Limited parking if you get there late. Only problem was the adjacent bar where we had dinner... tables weren't kept clean, though food was grand. No complaints about the main hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Mar 23, 2010

Great hotel, great price, great location

We visited Dublin for St. Paddy's Day and stayed the whole week. This was a great trip and a great hotel. The staff were so accomadating and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definately stay at the Grand Canal Hotel again and I would highly recommend this facility. Very close to bus and train stops or just a quick walk to city center. Perfect Dublin holiday hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Aug 14, 2009

Comfortable and clean

We booked at this hotel because of the price. Pleasantly surprised at the comfort and cleanliness. It was a bit of a walk to the city center but after all the good food we ate we had to work it off somehow. Safe, quiet environment. We arrived early and the staff locked our luggage up until the room was ready. When we returned to the hotel (still before check-in time) they had our room ready and luggage in the room. The food was really tasty on the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Very close to the DART. Take full advantage of that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baby Sham
Business
USA
May 13, 2010

Just Right

Our visit to Dublin was easy and our experience at Grand Canal Hotel helped make that possible. We left our rental car in the hotel lot and walked everywhere while there. If we go back to Dublin I would stay there again. Tip: at check in you can leave a credit card number on file for room charges, etc. Apparently you need to do that if you want to visit the hotel lounge late night after a certain cut off time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to Baggot street for restaurants. DART (train) station is across the street to Trinity College/Temple Bar/O'connell street areas. After check out you can ask to leave your car in hotel parking lot for an hourly fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Nov 1, 2009

Grand Canal Hotel

I was in town for a holiday. The hotel was, overall, a great fit for me. The location and staff were great! The staff was very friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. I liked the restaurant, Gasworks, which is attached to the hotel. I have only 2 complaints about the hotel: no wifi access in the rooms and some unseen phone charges (ie, I was charged for just using the phone in the hotel room). Again, overall, it was a very nice place to stay. I will stay at the Grand Canal Hotel again when I'm back in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to City Centre and many, many pubs! This hotel is in perfect location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Europe Travels
Business
Deland, FL
Aug 11, 2009

Nice

Everything was clean and nice. The only problem was that our room was right over the road and with no airconditioning we had to leave the windows open which made it a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ireland Fans
Business
Minnesota
Oct 26, 2009

Newer hotel in Ballsbridge - great rates

Hotel is relatively new (5 yrs old) and located on the edge of Ballsbridge closest to Trinity College. We have stayed at other hotels in this quiet neighborhood, and this compares well for services and price. Free car parking is a plus, somewhat offset by charge for breakfast (your option). Free wi-fi and helpful front desk staff are other pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wisconsin Travelers
Business
Green Bay---Titletown USA
Aug 27, 2010

Excellent value for a very good hotel

Travel guide was spot on with the recommendation of being a great value with a very good location. Very clean, personable staff, great pub too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Jun 3, 2009

Very nice hotel for the price

The hotel was in a residential area and wasn't that close to downtown but cabs were plentiful and there was bus transportation to downtown a couple of blocks away. There were a couple of pubs and stores within easy walking distance. The room rate did not include breakfast which we didn't find out until we finished our breakfast the first morning there. It would have been nice to have been told that in advance. There is a nice bar and restaurant attached to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top