$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Grand Canal Hotel

3 stars
View map of Grand Canal Street, Dublin, 4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Canal Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
voslobanc
Single
Bacau , Romania
Apr 4, 2013

Good but can get better

Price / value it`s ok.what i didn`t like is the fact that over the night the heat is off ... an Ireland has quite qa cold weather. Stuff very friendly ... free wifi definetly a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexHC
Couples
Witham, Essex, UK
May 14, 2013

Great Hotel and stay.

My partner and I visited Dublin for the first time and stayed at the Grand Canal. We arrived a few hours earlier than our arranged check in time, yet were able to go straight to our room. The room was greatp very clean, comfortable and modern. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and made the stay very pleasant. The hotel itself was a bit further out from the centre than I had anticipated and would take roughly 20mins to walk to places such as Grafton Street and Temple Bar. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. In future I would most likely book somewhere nearer to centre, but aside from that I would happily stay at the Grand Canal Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Guiness Store-house was a great place to visit. The additional benefit of a free pint.

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lyall
Couples
Galway
Jun 23, 2013

Great location for events

Right beside Grand Canal theatre (BGE theatre) and Aviva stadium. Room + staff were great. Solid breakfast for a tenner extra. Limited parking if you get there late. Only problem was the adjacent bar where we had dinner... tables weren't kept clean, though food was grand. No complaints about the main hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Mar 23, 2010

Great hotel, great price, great location

We visited Dublin for St. Paddy's Day and stayed the whole week. This was a great trip and a great hotel. The staff were so accomadating and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definately stay at the Grand Canal Hotel again and I would highly recommend this facility. Very close to bus and train stops or just a quick walk to city center. Perfect Dublin holiday hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Little Rock, Arkansas
Aug 14, 2009

Comfortable and clean

We booked at this hotel because of the price. Pleasantly surprised at the comfort and cleanliness. It was a bit of a walk to the city center but after all the good food we ate we had to work it off somehow. Safe, quiet environment. We arrived early and the staff locked our luggage up until the room was ready. When we returned to the hotel (still before check-in time) they had our room ready and luggage in the room. The food was really tasty on the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Very close to the DART. Take full advantage of that.

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baby Sham
Couples
USA
May 13, 2010

Just Right

Our visit to Dublin was easy and our experience at Grand Canal Hotel helped make that possible. We left our rental car in the hotel lot and walked everywhere while there. If we go back to Dublin I would stay there again. Tip: at check in you can leave a credit card number on file for room charges, etc. Apparently you need to do that if you want to visit the hotel lounge late night after a certain cut off time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to Baggot street for restaurants. DART (train) station is across the street to Trinity College/Temple Bar/O'connell street areas. After check out you can ask to leave your car in hotel parking lot for an hourly fee.

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Twin Cities, MN
Nov 1, 2009

Grand Canal Hotel

I was in town for a holiday. The hotel was, overall, a great fit for me. The location and staff were great! The staff was very friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. I liked the restaurant, Gasworks, which is attached to the hotel. I have only 2 complaints about the hotel: no wifi access in the rooms and some unseen phone charges (ie, I was charged for just using the phone in the hotel room). Again, overall, it was a very nice place to stay. I will stay at the Grand Canal Hotel again when I'm back in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to City Centre and many, many pubs! This hotel is in perfect location!

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Europe Travels
Family
Deland, FL
Aug 11, 2009

Nice

Everything was clean and nice. The only problem was that our room was right over the road and with no airconditioning we had to leave the windows open which made it a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ireland Fans
Couples
Minnesota
Oct 26, 2009

Newer hotel in Ballsbridge - great rates

Hotel is relatively new (5 yrs old) and located on the edge of Ballsbridge closest to Trinity College. We have stayed at other hotels in this quiet neighborhood, and this compares well for services and price. Free car parking is a plus, somewhat offset by charge for breakfast (your option). Free wi-fi and helpful front desk staff are other pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wisconsin Travelers
Couples
Green Bay---Titletown USA
Aug 27, 2010

Excellent value for a very good hotel

Travel guide was spot on with the recommendation of being a great value with a very good location. Very clean, personable staff, great pub too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top