$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Grand Canal Hotel

3 stars
Grand Canal Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
44 reviews
nice friendly hotel

Fab room. Friendly helpfully staff. Good location I would stay here again. See full review

  • eyelash
  • Aug 6, 2014
Wonderful Irish Hospitality

The hotel, situated in the Georgian section of Dublin is close enough to the center of town and far... See full review

  • Steve360
  • Oct 29, 2013
A hotel that stands out in the crowd near Dublin’s newest stadium
From the Grand Canal Hotel, Aviva Stadium--the new national showplace of rugby and soccer--looms overhead and the National Convention Centre is a quick stroll over the River Liffey. The Grand Canal's rooms are decorated in warm red tones with modern touches and traditional comforts. The lively Gasworks Bar is perfect for informal meetings or a night of entertainment featuring pull-your-own-pint tables.

 

Highlights
  • Situated next to the Grand Canal Theater with excellent views of Aviva Stadium
  • Lively bar with live music and pull-your-own-pint tables
  • Newly refurbished gym complimentary for guests
Rooms

The hotel's 142 rooms mix modern furnishings with traditional touches like damask wallpaper. All rooms have free wireless Internet access as well as Internet access through the TV. Rooms also feature clothes care amenities, work desk and tea and coffee station. Executive rooms have Egyptian cotton duvets, flat-screen TV, laptop safe and bathrobes. Some rooms have balconies with views of Dublin. Two large suites can be used as bedrooms or meeting rooms and the lansdowne suite offers striking views of Aviva Stadium.

Features
The Gasworks bar has a full menu, innovative drink specials, live music, karaoke and several tables equipped with taps to pull your own pint of Guinness the Irish way. A new gym is well-equipped with modern equipment. The hotel offers many packages for guests interested in going to the theater, attending sporting events and concerts or watching greyhound racing at nearby Shelbourne Park. Numerous nightlife opportunities can be found in the hotel and nearby Dublin city center, a short walk away.  The tree-lined Grand Canal towpath is perfect for a peaceful stroll.
Transportation
  • DART Grand Canal Dock station (.03 mi/.05km)
  • Dublin bus service nearby (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • National Print Museum (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Grand Canal Theater (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Shelbourne Park Greyhound Stadium (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Aviva Stadium (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • 6 meeting rooms
  • Dedicated conference floor
  • Latest audiovisual equipment
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Catering available
  • Close to Google's Irish headquarters (.2 mi/.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Canal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Grand Canal Hotel Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Double room with one queen size bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Twin room with two single beds. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Family room with one queen size bed and one single bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.6 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.6 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.7 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.7 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.7 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.7 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.7 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.7 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • 3Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Port: 0.8 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.8 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.8 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.9 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.9 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.9 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.9 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Dedicated conference floor
- Own registration area
- 6 conference suits
- Catering for up to 140 people
- State of the art equipment
- Complimentary car parking
- Meeting excellence service

Dining

The Gasworks Bar & Restaurant
Boasting 10 wide screen plasma TVs, the Gasworks is now one of the finest venues in Dublin City to watch any of up to five live matches. Take a seat at the bar and soak up the atmosphere while our skilled bar staff serve up a pint of the "black stuff" or for the more adventurous at heart one of our signature cocktails. Alternatively pull your own pint on our new "Pour Your Own Pint" tables. Our renowned Carvery is served Monday to Friday from 12pm to 2.15pm and an extensive a la carte menu is available from 3pm to 10pm daily. Recently launched GAS FRIDAY LIVE has firmly established the Gasworks Bar as one of South Dublin City’s premier after work venues on a Friday evening.
Canal Express
Canal Express coffee bar is located in the relaxing surroundings of the hotel lobby. Offering a wide range of specialty coffees, smoothies, pastries and gourmet sandwiches Canal Express the ideal location for an informal business meeting or lunch meeting. Breakfast Express is exclusive to Canal Express – for those of you "on the run" pre-order a coffee and pastry and pick it up as you pass by.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Canal Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cali candance30
Business
los angeles
Jul 12, 2012

Great Hotel

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Very comfortable rooms and nice, clean area. About 20 minutes from city center, but close to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ikey
Business
Ashford Middlesex
Sep 21, 2012

Convenient for Dublin Port

We booked this hotel primarily for it`s convenience for Dublin Port as we had to be there early in the morning following our stay. It took about 10 minutes to get there by car. As this was only an overnight stop the facilities were not a major issue. Parking was available - free for clients(useful for us) Staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent stop for Dublin Port

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IrishRover
Business
France
Mar 8, 2013

good value but avoid the weekends

This is a good value hotel with clean modern rooms, a decent breakfast, (terrible restaurant/bar cleanliness and food though) and very friendly staff. Weekends should be avoided though as it seems to attract drunken parties that the hotel dont seem to mind...no sleep guaranteed so be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid the restaurant/bar food at all costs. Its the worst in Irish carvery tradition and the place is filthy (lots of little flies to go with your meal!). Leave the hotel and go down the road to Paulies pizza...quality if you can get in!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCTraveler418
Business
New York City
Mar 31, 2013

Great stay at the Grand Canal Hotel

I stayed at this hotel for three nights and was very happy with my stay. The hotel is in a great neighborhood and a fairly convenient walk to anywhere I needed to go- maybe 20 minutes or so to the city centre. I took the bus from the airport and only had to walk a few minutes to the nearest stop which was convenient. The rooms were alright but comfortable, but for the great deal I found on this hotel I felt it was a great value and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
voslobanc
Business
Bacau , Romania
Apr 4, 2013

Good but can get better

Price / value it`s ok.what i didn`t like is the fact that over the night the heat is off ... an Ireland has quite qa cold weather. Stuff very friendly ... free wifi definetly a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexHC
Business
Witham, Essex, UK
May 14, 2013

Great Hotel and stay.

My partner and I visited Dublin for the first time and stayed at the Grand Canal. We arrived a few hours earlier than our arranged check in time, yet were able to go straight to our room. The room was greatp very clean, comfortable and modern. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and made the stay very pleasant. The hotel itself was a bit further out from the centre than I had anticipated and would take roughly 20mins to walk to places such as Grafton Street and Temple Bar. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. In future I would most likely book somewhere nearer to centre, but aside from that I would happily stay at the Grand Canal Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Guiness Store-house was a great place to visit. The additional benefit of a free pint.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lyall
Business
Galway
Jun 23, 2013

Great location for events

Right beside Grand Canal theatre (BGE theatre) and Aviva stadium. Room + staff were great. Solid breakfast for a tenner extra. Limited parking if you get there late. Only problem was the adjacent bar where we had dinner... tables weren't kept clean, though food was grand. No complaints about the main hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cate01
Business
Kilkenny
Jan 27, 2014

Very convenient for business in Dublin city centre

The hotel is very comfortable and clean and the staff are very friendly. I got a very fair price for mid-week room. It is 20 minutes walk from the city centre and is close to bus and rail links.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DianeT
Business
Cumbria, UK
Mar 11, 2014

Excellent short break

We really enjoyed our stay during our 1st visit to Dublin. Staff were very helpful, dinner was delicious and room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valiant Steed
Business
East longmeadow, ma
Mar 23, 2014

Good hotel, great staff

My girlfriend and I went for the St. Patrick's Day celebration, it is a bit of a walk to the city center but nice hotel overall. The price was good and even taking a cab fare into consideration it was still a good value in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get the Dublin pass and the hop on hop off bus pass and use the two together to get all of the sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top