$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Grand Canal Hotel

3 stars
Grand Canal Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
83 reviews
nice friendly hotel

Fab room. Friendly helpfully staff. Good location I would stay here again. See full review

  • eyelash
  • Aug 6, 2014
Wonderful Irish Hospitality

The hotel, situated in the Georgian section of Dublin is close enough to the center of town and far... See full review

  • Steve360
  • Oct 29, 2013
A hotel that stands out in the crowd near Dublin’s newest stadium
From the Grand Canal Hotel, Aviva Stadium--the new national showplace of rugby and soccer--looms overhead and the National Convention Centre is a quick stroll over the River Liffey. The Grand Canal's rooms are decorated in warm red tones with modern touches and traditional comforts. The lively Gasworks Bar is perfect for informal meetings or a night of entertainment featuring pull-your-own-pint tables.

 

Highlights
  • Situated next to the Grand Canal Theater with excellent views of Aviva Stadium
  • Lively bar with live music and pull-your-own-pint tables
  • Newly refurbished gym complimentary for guests
Rooms

The hotel's 142 rooms mix modern furnishings with traditional touches like damask wallpaper. All rooms have free wireless Internet access as well as Internet access through the TV. Rooms also feature clothes care amenities, work desk and tea and coffee station. Executive rooms have Egyptian cotton duvets, flat-screen TV, laptop safe and bathrobes. Some rooms have balconies with views of Dublin. Two large suites can be used as bedrooms or meeting rooms and the lansdowne suite offers striking views of Aviva Stadium.

Features
The Gasworks bar has a full menu, innovative drink specials, live music, karaoke and several tables equipped with taps to pull your own pint of Guinness the Irish way. A new gym is well-equipped with modern equipment. The hotel offers many packages for guests interested in going to the theater, attending sporting events and concerts or watching greyhound racing at nearby Shelbourne Park. Numerous nightlife opportunities can be found in the hotel and nearby Dublin city center, a short walk away.  The tree-lined Grand Canal towpath is perfect for a peaceful stroll.
Transportation
  • DART Grand Canal Dock station (.03 mi/.05km)
  • Dublin bus service nearby (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • National Print Museum (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Grand Canal Theater (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Shelbourne Park Greyhound Stadium (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Aviva Stadium (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • 6 meeting rooms
  • Dedicated conference floor
  • Latest audiovisual equipment
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Catering available
  • Close to Google's Irish headquarters (.2 mi/.3 km)

Hotel Map

53.3382 -6.2377
Area served
Within short walking distance:
- Merrion Square
- National Gallery
- Leinster House
- St. Stephens Green
- Trinity College
- Temple Bar
- Grafton Street
- U2 Tower
- U2 Wall
- Oscar Wilde Memorial
- National Museum
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport lies 12 km in the North of the hotel.

- Easy access from the airport (Aircoach Bus stop at the Schoolhouse, which is a 1 min. walk)
Area description
- All main sights in walking distance
- Southern city centre
- Ballsbridge
- Georgian Dublin
- Grand Canal
- Embassy Belt
- DART station "Grand Canal Dock" across the road
- Complimentary car parking
- Easy access from the airport (Aircoach Bus stop at the Schoolhouse, which is a 1 min. walk)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Canal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Grand Canal Hotel Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Double room with one queen size bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Twin room with two single beds. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Family room with one queen size bed and one single bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.6 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.6 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.7 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.7 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.7 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.7 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.7 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.7 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • The O2: 0.7 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Port: 0.8 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.8 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.8 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.9 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.9 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.9 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.9 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Dedicated conference floor
- Own registration area
- 6 conference suits
- Catering for up to 140 people
- State of the art equipment
- Complimentary car parking
- Meeting excellence service

Dining

The Gasworks Bar & Restaurant
Boasting 10 wide screen plasma TVs, the Gasworks is now one of the finest venues in Dublin City to watch any of up to five live matches. Take a seat at the bar and soak up the atmosphere while our skilled bar staff serve up a pint of the "black stuff" or for the more adventurous at heart one of our signature cocktails. Alternatively pull your own pint on our new "Pour Your Own Pint" tables. Our renowned Carvery is served Monday to Friday from 12pm to 2.15pm and an extensive a la carte menu is available from 3pm to 10pm daily. Recently launched GAS FRIDAY LIVE has firmly established the Gasworks Bar as one of South Dublin City’s premier after work venues on a Friday evening.
Canal Express
Canal Express coffee bar is located in the relaxing surroundings of the hotel lobby. Offering a wide range of specialty coffees, smoothies, pastries and gourmet sandwiches Canal Express the ideal location for an informal business meeting or lunch meeting. Breakfast Express is exclusive to Canal Express – for those of you "on the run" pre-order a coffee and pastry and pick it up as you pass by.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Canal Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Macandochtuir
Business
Wexford Ireland
Aug 18, 2012

Business trip

Good location, friendly staff. Bed had a hole in the middle, not comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smash 13
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 22, 2012

Nice place

Nice place, but the location wasn't as close to the tourist attractions as I would have liked (although still walking distance). I would stay there again if that part of town was where I was travelling, but would look for something closer if I was there for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Stephens Green area is great, especially if the weather is nice

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bessie
Business
Co Phort Láirge
Apr 29, 2013

It does what it says on the tin

Took the opportunity to stay in this hotel as it was close to the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre. Walking it is 10 mins away and I wouldn't like to be walking those streets after a show on my own. Hotel is okay - exterior and public areas need a bit more tlc to entice visitors. The room however was clean and modern and well supplied with towels and toiletries. I was surprised to be offered the option of a smoking room - so much for the smoking ban ! Don't fancy the idea of someone on another floor being a fire hazard. Ideal for anyone going to the Aviva Stadium which you can see from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotel Trotter
Donegal
May 7, 2013

Great location, good value, free parking

Firstly, to clarify. . I like this hotel!! The location is great if you are doing anything in town including going out. The food is quite good and the bar staff are very friendly and efficient. The one thing that gets me when I stay here however is the front desk. . the staff always seem distracted here and all too often the position is left unmanned. ( they are, nonetheless, pleasant staff). On this stay I was given a twin room and when I got to the room, the door was open!! (problem with the lock if the door isn't pulled shut) There was one bedside light which was ok in itself but I didn't want it to be suggested that the missing one had something to do with me. . afterall the door was left open. . so I dialled the front desk on 3 occasions but there was no answer and when I came down to the lobby later there was no one there either. No one asked on checkout either how I found my stay. It's a small detail really and I had no hassle besides. And I would recommend this hotel for it's purppose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotel Trotter
Business
Donegal
May 28, 2013

Modern, clean hotel in excellent location with complimentary parking for guests

Clean and comfortable. I like that a hotel provides parking for it's guests without an extra charge. The Grand Canal and Herbert Park very close for an evening stroll after a hard day's work!! The only negative. . having to get room card updated almost every evening because can't use lift or get into room. Would recommend this hotel especially if you want to do anything in town (city centre)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk along the Grand Canal and enjoy the locks from the bridges esp. the Grand Canal Bridge just up from the hotel. Herbert Park gorgeous this time of year also.

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
South west ireland
Nov 17, 2011

Theatre Stay

Room basic and needs attention to detail. Bar a disaster - no drinks i looked for - wine and vodka - ran out of vodka. Bar was grubby with young staff that didn't put customer first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
altamira
Business
San Jose, California
Jul 13, 2014

Functional hotel close to Energy Theater

Hotel is functional and close to the Energy Theater. Nothing really fancy, in fact, it really needs to update its bathrooms and exercise area. Don't expect a "luxury" hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dinner at the nearby Shoolhouse hotel. They have great pub food.

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cate01
Business
Kilkenny
Jan 27, 2014

Very convenient for business in Dublin city centre

The hotel is very comfortable and clean and the staff are very friendly. I got a very fair price for mid-week room. It is 20 minutes walk from the city centre and is close to bus and rail links.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DianeT
Cumbria, UK
Mar 11, 2014

Excellent short break

We really enjoyed our stay during our 1st visit to Dublin. Staff were very helpful, dinner was delicious and room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valiant Steed
East longmeadow, ma
Mar 23, 2014

Good hotel, great staff

My girlfriend and I went for the St. Patrick's Day celebration, it is a bit of a walk to the city center but nice hotel overall. The price was good and even taking a cab fare into consideration it was still a good value in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get the Dublin pass and the hop on hop off bus pass and use the two together to get all of the sites.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search