$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Grand Canal Hotel

3 stars
Grand Canal Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
44 reviews
nice friendly hotel

Fab room. Friendly helpfully staff. Good location I would stay here again. See full review

  • eyelash
  • Aug 6, 2014
Wonderful Irish Hospitality

The hotel, situated in the Georgian section of Dublin is close enough to the center of town and far... See full review

  • Steve360
  • Oct 29, 2013
A hotel that stands out in the crowd near Dublin’s newest stadium
From the Grand Canal Hotel, Aviva Stadium--the new national showplace of rugby and soccer--looms overhead and the National Convention Centre is a quick stroll over the River Liffey. The Grand Canal's rooms are decorated in warm red tones with modern touches and traditional comforts. The lively Gasworks Bar is perfect for informal meetings or a night of entertainment featuring pull-your-own-pint tables.

 

Highlights
  • Situated next to the Grand Canal Theater with excellent views of Aviva Stadium
  • Lively bar with live music and pull-your-own-pint tables
  • Newly refurbished gym complimentary for guests
Rooms

The hotel's 142 rooms mix modern furnishings with traditional touches like damask wallpaper. All rooms have free wireless Internet access as well as Internet access through the TV. Rooms also feature clothes care amenities, work desk and tea and coffee station. Executive rooms have Egyptian cotton duvets, flat-screen TV, laptop safe and bathrobes. Some rooms have balconies with views of Dublin. Two large suites can be used as bedrooms or meeting rooms and the lansdowne suite offers striking views of Aviva Stadium.

Features
The Gasworks bar has a full menu, innovative drink specials, live music, karaoke and several tables equipped with taps to pull your own pint of Guinness the Irish way. A new gym is well-equipped with modern equipment. The hotel offers many packages for guests interested in going to the theater, attending sporting events and concerts or watching greyhound racing at nearby Shelbourne Park. Numerous nightlife opportunities can be found in the hotel and nearby Dublin city center, a short walk away.  The tree-lined Grand Canal towpath is perfect for a peaceful stroll.
Transportation
  • DART Grand Canal Dock station (.03 mi/.05km)
  • Dublin bus service nearby (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • National Print Museum (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Grand Canal Theater (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Shelbourne Park Greyhound Stadium (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Aviva Stadium (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • 6 meeting rooms
  • Dedicated conference floor
  • Latest audiovisual equipment
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Catering available
  • Close to Google's Irish headquarters (.2 mi/.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Canal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Grand Canal Hotel Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Double room with one queen size bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Twin room with two single beds. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Family room with one queen size bed and one single bed. The room features:
- Hairdryer
- TV
- Direct dial telephone
- Internet access
- Complimentary toiletries
- Iron board & steam iron
- Tea & coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.1 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.6 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.6 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.6 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 0.7 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.7 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.7 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.7 mi
  • River Liffey: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.7 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 0.7 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.7 mi
  • 3Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Port: 0.8 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.8 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.8 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.9 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.9 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 0.9 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.9 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.9 mi

Dining

The Gasworks Bar & Restaurant
Boasting 10 wide screen plasma TVs, the Gasworks is now one of the finest venues in Dublin City to watch any of up to five live matches. Take a seat at the bar and soak up the atmosphere while our skilled bar staff serve up a pint of the "black stuff" or for the more adventurous at heart one of our signature cocktails. Alternatively pull your own pint on our new "Pour Your Own Pint" tables. Our renowned Carvery is served Monday to Friday from 12pm to 2.15pm and an extensive a la carte menu is available from 3pm to 10pm daily. Recently launched GAS FRIDAY LIVE has firmly established the Gasworks Bar as one of South Dublin City’s premier after work venues on a Friday evening.
Canal Express
Canal Express coffee bar is located in the relaxing surroundings of the hotel lobby. Offering a wide range of specialty coffees, smoothies, pastries and gourmet sandwiches Canal Express the ideal location for an informal business meeting or lunch meeting. Breakfast Express is exclusive to Canal Express – for those of you "on the run" pre-order a coffee and pastry and pick it up as you pass by.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Dedicated conference floor
- Own registration area
- 6 conference suits
- Catering for up to 140 people
- State of the art equipment
- Complimentary car parking
- Meeting excellence service

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Canal Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ikey
Business
Ashford Middlesex
Sep 21, 2012

Convenient for Dublin Port

We booked this hotel primarily for it`s convenience for Dublin Port as we had to be there early in the morning following our stay. It took about 10 minutes to get there by car. As this was only an overnight stop the facilities were not a major issue. Parking was available - free for clients(useful for us) Staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent stop for Dublin Port

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ginja
Business
Boston MA
Aug 30, 2012

Stay at this Hotel!!!!!

If I could give the Grand Canal Hotel 6 stars I would. Hands down, the best deal on a hotel I got on my trek across the UK and southern Ireland. We booked our room at around 1am the morning of our stay (we were on an over night train/ferry from London) and got to the hotel at 7am with no Euros (didn't know the exchange office didn't open till 9). The morning manager got us to an ATM so that we could pay the cab, offered to hold our bags for us (no charge), let us recover and use the internet in the very comfortable lobby, answered all of our questions with patients (we were irritatingly ignorant of how to get around Dublin) and managed to get us into our room 4 hours early so that we could take a nap (hadn't slept in 36 hours) before getting out to see the city. When we got to the room, we found that we had a beautiful view of the oldest football stadium in existence, the bathroom was very large and well equipped, the bed was comfortable, there were all of the little extras we could want, and the whole place was spotless. Plus there was free wifi that was very fast. We wanted to try the restaurant and bar because they looked excellent, but we didn't make it back to the hotel until late, so I don't know if they are any good. But they certainly looked it. The hotel has a perfect location. It was 10 minutes from the port (if you are coming in by ferry) 10 minutes walking distance to downtown, and is in a very nice neighborhood. Close enough to everything be convenient but far enough away to be quite at night. The only complaint that I had about the hotel was that the room was a bit stuffy and hot. However, I will point out that we were there on the two hottest days of the entire year. So... While I'm sure there are other hotels in Dublin that are nicer and more extravagant, there is no way you could get a better deal. This is a 4 star hotel at a 2 star price. That makes it a 5 star booking for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are an American, go to the Guinness brewery before you go to any of the bars. My first taste of true Irish Guinness (not the Canadian stuff that we get here in the states) brought tears to my eyes it was so good. But then some of the local bars clearly hadn't cleaned their taps in a long time. Do yourself a favor and have your first taste be a perfect one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smash 13
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 22, 2012

Nice place

Nice place, but the location wasn't as close to the tourist attractions as I would have liked (although still walking distance). I would stay there again if that part of town was where I was travelling, but would look for something closer if I was there for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Stephens Green area is great, especially if the weather is nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Macandochtuir
Business
Wexford Ireland
Aug 18, 2012

Business trip

Good location, friendly staff. Bed had a hole in the middle, not comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cali candance30
Business
los angeles
Jul 12, 2012

Great Hotel

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Very comfortable rooms and nice, clean area. About 20 minutes from city center, but close to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlackbirdXX
Business
Newbridge
Jul 3, 2012

Weekend Break

All perfect with the exception of the uncomfortable bed :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

37 Dawson St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cantu
Business
North Carolina
Jun 26, 2012

Great Location! Very Clean

Room was very clean and comfortable. Very close to downtown and the blue bus direct line to the airport! Will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey W
Business
Minnesota
May 4, 2012

Great Place!!

Location was nice, just 1.5 blocks from Grand Canal Dock DART station. Excellant staff, quiet hotel, large room, clean, & modern. Safe location too! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Dublin. I was travelling alone as a female and felt safe all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a transport pass that is good for both Dublin City Bus and DART. You won't have to worry about having change on you at all times, saves you a bit of money too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bluejello
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Quiet and convenient

Stayed four night in this hotel and slept well for all of them. It is quiet, very clean, free wi-fi, a bar on the premise that serves food but is not wild, and helpful staff. Plus its close to the Schoolhouse stop on the airport bus. It's about a 20 minute walk to Trinity College and also the convention center, so not super close. The neighborhood seemed very safe--I walked back to the hotel at night (10:30) with no trouble, a woman by myself. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cornucopia is an excellent inexpensive vegetarian restaurant on Wicklow Street, just of Grafton. It's about a 20-25 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clark3
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Exceeded Highest Expectations

I travel more than I woul like for work and occassionally find a hotel or B&B that makes the list of places that I would bring my Wife and children for holiday. The Grand Canal Hotel made the short list. The lobby and room were bright and airy, the Irish breakfast was devine; however, the staff separates this hotel from their comptitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top