$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Grafton Capital Hotel

3 stars
Stephens Street Lower, Dublin 2, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
42 reviews
Comfortable

It is a nice hotel. the staff is very friendly. if you are not looking to spend much time in the... See full review

  • The Ireland Fans
  • Feb 25, 2014
great location

This hotel was lovely, great location, friendly and helpful staff and huge rooms. See full review

  • Bettylou
  • Aug 30, 2014
Shop all day, party all night steps from Grafton Street
Not many Dublin hotels have their own nightclub, but at the Grafton Capital Hotel in Dublin's city center, steps away from world-class shopping and entertainment and the area's biggest attractions, the building's beautiful facade gives way to one of the city's most popular nightspots. Break for the Border incorporates a bar, Mexican-style cantina and nightclub with Mediterranean decor and pull-your-own-pint tables. Rooms are comfortable and spacious with traditional Georgian colors creating a warm, inviting environment.

 

Highlights
  • Beautiful Georgian facade steps from Grafton Street in the city center
  • Break for the Border bar, restaurant and nightclub offers excellent entertainment
  • Comfortable guest rooms decorated in traditional Georgian colors
Rooms

Decorated in traditional Georgian colors, guest rooms at the Grafton Capital exude warmth and comfort. Each room features cozy bedding with extra throws, tea and coffee station, clothes-care facilities and bathroom with power shower, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. Mini-suites offer spacious rooms with king-size bed, CD player, mini-bar and an extra-large bathroom with double vanity.

Features

The Grafton Capital's excellent location in the city center near Grafton Street and Temple Bar means the hotel is steps from area shopping, attractions and entertainment. Guests hoping for an exciting night out need not look far--the hotel's Break for the Border features a Mexican-style cantina serving dinner, a busy bar with pull-your-own-pint tables and a popular nightclub with Mediterranean décor. The Grafton Capital offers free Internet access in public areas and discounted parking is available at a nearby garage (ask hotel for details).

Transportation
  • Dublin bus service (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Luas tram service (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Aircoach service (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • St Patrick's Cathedral (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Temple Bar (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Christchurch Cathedral (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • National Gallery and National Museum of Ireland (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Trinity College (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Mansion House (.7 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • One conference room can hold up to 25 delegates
  • Overhead projector and screen
  • Flipcharts
  • TV and video
  • Direct dial telephone, additional (DSL) ports
  • Special equipment hire

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grafton Capital Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Grafton Capital Hotel Rooms

Single, Double / Twin
Room with one double or one twin, offering Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Room service,Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Castle Market: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.1 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.2 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.1 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.2 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.2 mi
  • The Ark: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.3 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.3 mi
  • College Green: 0.3 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.3 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.3 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.3 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Grafton Capital Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CaliJen
Business
San Diego, CA
May 22, 2014

Horrible Schmorrible

I stayed at over 10 hotels while in Ireland and this in my only bad review. The good points: Good water pressure, big towels The bad: This place was horrible. DO NOT STAY HERE. OVER PRICED AND GROSS. There was a homeless guy camped out in front of the place when I arrived. The hotel's side doors were locked so I had to drag my roller bag-which was large-through the rotating door. The customer service when I arrived was terrible. The girl at the desk hardly looked at me. Didn't tell me where my room was and took off for what must have been a bathroom emergency or something. She didn't mention the wifi-which is only available on the first floor. So ridiculous. The hotel has a funky odor about it which was even worse in my room. I had asked for a non-smoking but clearly got a smoking room. If you have a converter-good luck using it-the pictures on the wall-which are screwed to the wall-are hung so low that you can't plug your converter in. There was mildew on the ceiling in the bathroom. The noise was so bad I wore earplugs. I could hear the people next door every time they went to the bathroom!!! The hairdryer looked like some weird vacuum cleaner thing. I had to take a picture of it. It was crazy old and took forever to dry my short hair. Overall: The chances of me ever staying here again: NIL. Especially at $125/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, New York
Jul 11, 2011

Horrible Hotel

The worst ever!! The hotel is lovely and the location excellent, BUT the noise once the adjoining nightclub starts at 10.00 pm is dibilitating. We were on the 3rd floor and the walls literally vibrated from the base. I heard every word of every song. I thought it couldn't get any worse until Sat. night rolled around and by some miracle of technology the decible level rose even further. There was vomiting in the hall, a girl screeming and doors slamming. I recommend this hotel to no one. The people at the desk could have cared less and were very, very unconcerned by our complaint. The morning receptionist told us it was our own fault as we should have checked trip adviser where there are apparently several complaints. I don't think it's my job to check with a third party about a hotel listed on [...], where the reviews, by the way, were quite good.On Sat. night my husband wanted to take a shower and the hot water was non-existent. Upon calling the desk we were told it was a "boiler" problem and MAY be fixed by morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, Mn.
Mar 10, 2010

Grafton Capital Hotel

Hotel was very hard to find. Staff very helpful and willing to accomadate any request. Woke up the 2nd night to a car alarm going off, party outside and then a fire alarm going off @ 3am. When I did get up, found eye swollen from a bite and several other bite marks. Couldn't wait to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay somewhere else

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lms248
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great location

This was my second time staying at this hotel, and it was as I remembered...nothing to complain about, and in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Old Bank on College Green...an old Victorian bank turned into a pub! It's a great place to eat or grab a drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Munkey
Business
Kent, UK
Mar 27, 2012

girls weekend

Hotel was ok. The staff weren't particulary friendly but for somewhere to lay our heads between pints of guinness it did the job. We were on a no smoking floor but either people before us sneakily smoked in the bathroom or smoke from smoking floor was filtering through the air vents which was not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Taste! opposite the hotel was great. Really good value for money and friendly staff and great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfing mom
Business
South Yorkshire
May 5, 2012

friends break

Hotel is in a perfect position for shopping, restaurants and bars. 10 minute walk to Temple Bar area. Hotel room in desperate need for refurbishment although the room was clean.The bar adjacent to the hotel (advertised as a plus for the hotel) was never open when we walked by it. Would recommend if anyone wants to use a hairdryer they should take their own as the one in the hotel was dated and took ages to dry our hair. Would use this hotel again if rooms were refurbished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gallagher's Boxty restaurant well worth a visit in Temple Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grash
Business
devon uk
Jul 19, 2012

have good time

very good value ,good location. noisy in the weekend.room was nice and clean,staff very helpful. thanks for all the help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is the short walk from the all the shops,restaurants,bars and pubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark Doner
Business
San Diego, California
Oct 22, 2012

Decent place to stay

The room was fine, reasonably nice, and clean. No serious problems. The staff were courteous and helpful. There is no wifi in the rooms. They do have wifi but only in the resident lounge on floor 1, even there the wireless reception is spotty depending on where you sit. We were there on a bank holiday weekend, and we could hear the drunken revelry of the downtown area until four in the morning. Bring earplugs if that sort of thing bothers you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judy UCD students mom
Business
Arizona
Oct 23, 2013

great location

We liked staying at the hotel. It was centrally located to all the places we like to go. However the one drawback was the band that played on Saturday night until after 3:00 a.m. was very loud and we could not get any sleep until they stopped. Also the wake up calls seemed to be a problem as they forgot to call 3 days in a row. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blayne
Business
Texas
Aug 15, 2011

Location is worth the so-so rooms.

Locations was terrific for dining, pubbing and sight-seeing. Value was good. The hotel was a bit "worn". staff was helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top